Oakley Trucking, Inc. Employee Reviews

See reviews about:
Found 10 reviews matching the search See all 11 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family owned and stable company. Steady year round work.
Owner Operator Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  North Little Rock, ARSeptember 25, 2017
Oakley Trucking is a great company. There are always challenges and tasked that need to be done. There is a large support staff of highly trained personnel, many of them with over 20+ years of experience. Oakley has a true open door policy and are willing to help with any issues.
Pros
Great atmosphere, great pay, lots of hard working people
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible experience
Owner and Operator (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, ARAugust 16, 2017
They weren't honest. Nickeled and dimed owner operator. Cheap loads promised me good pay hauling sand which I only hauled 3 loads and then back to hauling roof granules and corn. Couldn't make money
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Negative Place
Sand Hauler (Former Employee) –  P A Canyon, NMJuly 19, 2016
A very bad place to work they have Toooo much Favoritism. Everyone should be Workin as a Team but this isn't so. Really says a Lot for Management and the Dispatchers. If any company is to acknowledge where their strength comes from it won't be this one.
Pros
None
Cons
Stay away, waist of time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very supportive and deliver for you when you need it . something done.
o/o (Current Employee) –  N. Little RockApril 25, 2015
Dry bulk is totally different than anything I've done before. Picking loads up at farms, river ports, and many other places. Products I hauled such as,"corn,soybeans,chicken by-product ,roofing granules".The people you meet are much more down to earth then at the store warehouses. Its very relaxing going to the farms and co-ops. I haul a hopper and you will get dirty sweeping it out but nothing like a little dirt. My dispatcher is results oriented and wants you to get all the miles you can legally run because he has a vested interest in what you do. So its a team effort. I believe once you prove yourself to him and show hin that you'll deliver or at least communicate any problems and mist importantly, be honest, you'll earn his respect . Everything I've asked for,if it was (home time, a special event,needing paperwork to go through,) and many others. If I communicated it they did their best to get it done. Yes , they are a safety oriented company and will not make you run illegal. They like you clean shaven and your truck well maintained. I run hard but legal . I easily run 3000 miles average a week when working all week.I have had 3600,3800 before , even with e-logs. I've met a lot of experienced Oakley drivers while here and meeting them has been helpful.. Once dispatchers get to know you and see you can communicate and have a can do attitude. Why even when you start they are glad to have you. Now I saw a review above about trainers and bed bug motels. First Oakley is an o/o company and the motel I stayed at during orientation was clean and spacious. Didn't have to share  more... a room either. If For any reason I had to leave it would have to be a very good reason and I surely would miss that southern hospitality ,plus the people I've gotten to know. As an o/o they see you as a professional but they are always there to answer any questions. Great company ,decent money. Nice atmosphere. They have delivered for me and genuiely seem interested in my life also . They surprise me all the time They know were having a baby and now that its down to the last few weeks. Witout me even asking, were getting you by the house because they understand the importance of family. Thanks Oakley  less
Pros
Fuel discounts, honest, yearly 5 cent mile loaded bonus on anniversary date .Safety conscious, pay on time, country charm, outdoors, good people, busy, decent pay
Cons
loads are always heavy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 106No 26Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dont do it
driver (Former Employee) –  floridaFebruary 26, 2015
These guys are going to hang you out to dry,first they will set you up at there bed bug hotel,then there will be 12 hours a day in training which is a joke then send you out with a clown trainer,again 12 hours a day,3 weaks in you wont have a day off.they pay you short miles and charge you out on your transportation there.dont do it,scam,scam
Pros
none
Cons
florida egg suck scamers
Was this review helpful?Yes 66No 31Report
Official response from Oakley Trucking, Inc.
September 27, 2017

Oakley Trucking doesn't have drivers. We lease independent contractors. We are not out of Florida, you are referring to a different Oakley that is in Lake Wales, FL. This is Oakley Trucking "America's Dry Bulk Hauler" out of Arkansas. Thank You

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady work and average or below average pay
Owner Operator Sand Division. (Former Employee) –  N. Little Rock ARApril 23, 2014
Sand division has it's share of problems. Only recently did they give a pay increase to O/O working in PA but only after they had many trucks quit and couldn't keep up with sand deliveries to the well. Dispatch and management doesn't listen to drivers concerns and are only concerned with one thing and that's getting sand to the well. Favoritism to drivers that live in the AR area was a problem also. You'll freeze your tail off working in PA area all winter just to have them send the AR boys up come summer and put them on the money making wells. Dispatch likes to use threats and coercion to get you to do what they want. Don't ever give notice your leaving they will fire you on the spot and shut off the fuel card. Your only treated decent when they desperately need trucks. Otherwise your treated poorly. You can make decent money at times but can do as well or better somewhere else if your willing to stay in PA,WV, and OH a few months at a time. Sand division runs electronic logs and yes you will pay for your tag the first year also.
Pros
Good maintenance on their trailers.
Cons
Management is horrible.
Was this review helpful?Yes 248No 31Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Oakley is a family owned bussiness and laid back
Payroll & Billing Clerk (Former Employee) –  N Little Rock, ARDecember 2, 2013
I enjoyed working for Oakley and learning different aspects of accounting. It was a family atmosphere and good benefits.
Pros
I enoyed my job
Cons
It was an hour from my home
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 52Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for with good people
Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  North Little Rock, ARJuly 31, 2013
long hours running heavy equipment unloading trucks and barges.
Learned how to operate all types and heavy equipment
Management was very hands on and there to answer questions and help with problems.
Good hard working people.
Long hours, Outside temperatures .
Enjoying getting to meet new people and pride from a job well done.
Pros
Being outside and a variety of work situsations
Cons
Rain, cold and Hot temperatures
Was this review helpful?Yes 44No 24Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intense fast paced enviroment
Fleet Manager (Former Employee) –  N Little Rock, ARSeptember 11, 2012
Very long hours with very good pay structure. Fleet managers are on call 24/7 365 days a year. The job taught many things on how to run a business with in a business.
Was this review helpful?Yes 45No 40Report

Want to know more about Oakley Trucking, Inc.?

Ask a question

See more Oakley Trucking, Inc. reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Oakley Trucking, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 11 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.6
Compensation/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
2.6
Culture
2.8

Oakley Trucking, Inc. Reviews by Location