Oakmont Country Club Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Country club
Housekeeper (Current Employee) –  Glendale, CASeptember 28, 2017
Great people, great members management is poor. Sometimes stressful due to management unable to schedule employees appropriately. Other than that I loved it there
Pros
Lunch provided
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive
Sous Chef (Former Employee) –  Corinth, TXSeptember 22, 2017
I enjoyed my time at Oakmont Country Club. The club was organized, well run, and everyone was friendly. The job was low stress and the kitchen was well run.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great coworkers, poor management
ASSISTANT SUPERINTENDENT (Former Employee) –  Oakmont, PASeptember 4, 2017
fast paced, cut-throat work environment. Unless you are willing to tell management exactly what they want to hear, there is zero room for advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but stressful place to work
Outdoor manager (Current Employee) –  Corinth, TXAugust 9, 2017
Job is in a fun environment, but members there are not nice people and tend to make your job a lot more complicated. They are very entitled and tend to try to tell you how they want you to work
Pros
Discount on food
Cons
No breaks and not nice people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great management
Grounds Crew (Former Employee) –  Oakmont, PAAugust 3, 2017
Hard work, but rewarding. The staff are very easy to work with aside from one or two. Start time in the summer is 5:30 am. Sat and Sun are short days and Sun is usually optional.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Golf Caddie (Current Employee) –  Oakmont, PAApril 7, 2017
OCC has provided me with numerous opportunities. Caddying has allowed me to connect with a diverse group of people, allowing me to build a unique network that may be valuable one day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The difference between playing golf and golfing
Caddie (Former Employee) –  Oakmont, PAJanuary 22, 2017
My experience as a caddie started at Oakmont Country Club shortly after getting out of the Military where I quickly learned the difference between playing golf and golfing. I have to say my biggest thrill was carrying Jason Day’s bag at Oakmont when he was just starting his career at the ripe age of 18 years old. I’ll never forget the moment; the caddie master called me to the desk and said, “We got you a real hot shot for you today, a kid from Australia.” At first I thought to myself, great another know it all rich kid. He was fearless and asked about the putting greens before we even got to the first tee box. Shortly after his first tee shot as we walked down the first fairway I asked him” So what’s the deal you don’t like to surf or can’t swim or something?” He quickly replied,” Nah, I just like to golf.” By the end of the round I thought to myself I think I just might have caddied for the next number one golfer in the world and said,” sign him up!”
Pros
It's a National Land Mark.
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Caddie (Current Employee) –  Oakmont, PADecember 27, 2016
overall work culture is nice, members are nice for the most part, management is nice. no real room for advancement but tips are nice and location is awesome.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Environment
Private Event Director (Former Employee) –  Corinth, TXDecember 9, 2016
Learning Potential
Two Clubs is Twice as Much fun =)
Ability to negotiate without concerns
No micro management
coworkers / friends for life
connections
referrals
Leadership
Fantastic Mentorship
Cons
management has changed
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a very fun and exiting place to work
Busser (Current Employee) –  Glendale, CAAugust 27, 2016
Oakmont is like an extended family, everyone there is caring hard working and easy to get along with. Its a place i look forward to going to and enjoy the company of coworkers and friends
Pros
Caring atmosphere, and amazing work ethic of everyone
Cons
not a lot of opportunity to take time off
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional
Caddie (Current Employee) –  Oakmont, PAMay 28, 2016
Great place to caddie. Premium pay per bag but generally only carry a single with four caddies in each group. The caddie master is very friendly and very helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Labor intensive
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Corinth, TXApril 24, 2016
Very long hours not getting any breaks and employees make you feel just like a dishwasher. The co-workers are somewhat lazy and the chefs take too many smoke breaks. The hardest part is not getting any time off working 12 hour shifts.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Little to no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful Golf Course
Accounts Receivable Representative (Former Employee) –  Glendale, CAFebruary 28, 2016
Nice place to work, but it was only temporary since I was due to have my baby. The people here were all members of the country club and it was a very easy going job.
Pros
Friendly People, beautiful place
Cons
Temporary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Summer Job
Caddy and Pro Shop Employee (Current Employee) –  Oakmont, PAJanuary 26, 2016
Very fun to meet new people and learn about what they do while being on the golf course! Many personalities to deal with, but it helps you with your career.
Pros
Great Money
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a fair place to work
Server / Wait staff (Current Employee) –  Corinth, TXJanuary 5, 2016
be warned there is no real room for advancement. the management is terrible. tip share is a joke and gives it's employees a very small percentage of actual wage.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant woking environment.
Housekeeping (Current Employee) –  Oakmont, PAJanuary 5, 2016
I did whatever needed done from light maintenance to cleaning. I got along well with management and co-workers. For me this job is not hard. I simply have to try to better my income and benefits.
Pros
Management is good to employees, Free lunch, could borrow company vehicle if needed.
Cons
Off season hours are no enough, Insurance benefits could be better.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Something different everyday.
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Corinth, TXOctober 26, 2015
I was not only a line-cook but had the opportunity to cook and prep for banquets and buffets. I also was required to work action stations for Sunday Brunch and special events.
Pros
We ate very well.
Cons
Having to work holidays and weekends.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get to be outside and get to know members
Service staff (Former Employee) –  Denton, TXSeptember 8, 2015
If you are working Banquets you are working long hours and depending on what tip share is at, you may feel you were not properly compensated.The employees are fun and you work closely together and form friendships.
The members are great and i enjoyed getting to know them.
Pros
Being able to be oustide. Tips if you are working on cart don't hurt.
Cons
Banquets long hours and alot of work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Customer Service
Food & Beverage Training Server (Current Employee) –  Oakmont, PAAugust 14, 2015
Day to day tasks of making sure the club house is clean and set up for excellent service everyday! Reset and moves table daily to accommodate for the next days functions. Work as a team to be known as one of the top 10 country clubs in the world.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mostly fun co-workers, but management (including Chefs) were not productive.
Dishwasher/ Pantry Chef (Former Employee) –  Oakmont, PAOctober 28, 2014
Co-workers helped out when it was convenient for them instead of helping just to help.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Oakmont Country Club. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 35 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.5
Culture
4.2

Oakmont Country Club Reviews by Location