OBERLIN COLLEGE Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 19 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace with excellent people
Budget Assistant (Former Employee) –  Oberlin, OHJuly 13, 2016
Great workplace with excellent people. I learned much about how to evaluate a budget and to work with others in an economic environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My first customer service opportunity
Student Fundraising Assistant (Former Employee) –  Oberlin, OhioMay 20, 2015
Here I was a student fundraising assistant responsible for soliciting donations for the school I was attending at the time, Oberlin College. I was a fast learner in a rather quiet environment. Once we were put on the spot when the school's administrative leaders monitored our performance. This was a great experience for me.
Pros
The jobs training team made it very easy for me to transition to a customer service representative.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse Enviroment with tons of opportunity to grow
Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Oberlin, OHMarch 6, 2015
Each day was different. I worked with many diverse clients on and off campus. I worked with almost every department on campus and was able to build strong, long lasting relationships.

The hardest thing about the job was basically working two jobs for the price and in the hours of one. I was the first person in the newly created job and there was a lot of growing pains.

I really enjoyed the flexibility of the schedule and the ability to revamp two departments. I learned a lot on the job.
Pros
flexible schedule and benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job ever, but looking for more
First Cook (Current Employee) –  Oberlin, OHFebruary 20, 2015
I have reached the pinnacle of my growth at Oberlin College. Because I work in a union shop (UAW) my growth is limited and I would prefer to parlay my experience into a job which would challenge me and allow me to move forward in my career.
My benefits are outstanding, but my wife is an aspiring teacher who currently works in a charter school in a struggling district. Because of the state of Oregon's commitment to funding all day kindergarten, there will be many jobs in the near future for early childhood education teachers.
I feel I am highly qualified to move into management and use my on the job experience to contribute to a food service operation.
Pros
benefits, steady work schedule
Cons
lack of growth potential
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Office of the Student Treasurer (Former Employee) –  Oberlin, OHOctober 22, 2014
I ran the OST and hired my own staff. Reviewed student expenditures and helped to authorize chartered budgets.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Departmental Secretary Biology (Current Employee) –  Wellington, OHSeptember 23, 2014
Benefits and work associates are fabulous. Have worked here 21 years. Am in a union and have job security
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Operations Assistant (Former Employee) –  Oberlin, OHAugust 12, 2014
Boss made it easy to learn so that I could get things done while he was on vacation.
Pros
housing provided
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable environment with little room for professional growth
Major Gifts Officer (Former Employee) –  Oberlin, OHJune 11, 2014
The people, culture and processes are all fine. The opportunity to grow from within can be difficult unless someone retires or leaves for another institution.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting people to work with
Administrative Secretary I (Current Employee) –  Oberlin, OHMarch 19, 2014
The College has been a unique place to work in that I have met such a large diversity of people from all walks of life and many different countries.

It has been an education in and of itself.
Pros
5 free meals/week, meet interesting people
Cons
oppressive work atmosphere, difficult boss
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seems like a good site just waiting for a chance to prove myself to these employers
Awake N' Bake Custom Candy Cookie Concierge (Current Employee) –  Oberlin, OHOctober 30, 2013
Bake and deliver cookies around Oberlin city and Oberlin college
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report

Want to know more about OBERLIN COLLEGE?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with the college students
Cafeteria Worker (Former Employee) –  Oberlin, OHJune 27, 2013
I worked serving the college students meals. I worked either on the sandwiches or salads or sometimes I worked the smoothie stand. I enjoyed making smoothies and learning all kinds of different sandwiches.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to grow and learn - long hours but workplace flexibility
Project Researcher/Public Programs Assistant (Current Employee) –  Oberlin, OHApril 30, 2013
Oberlin requires a living to work perspective.

Oberlin also provides lots and lots of free resources and benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Assistant baseball coach (Former Employee) –  Oberlin, OHApril 10, 2013
Great environment, people, and team which enables one to display there potential.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy medical office with excellent staff
Medical Office Assistant, Student Health Services (Former Employee) –  Oberlin, OHDecember 4, 2012
Working at the Office of Student Health was perfect for me, as a pre-medical student. I helped triage patients, prepped medical charts and screened the medical histories of all incoming freshmen for enrollment. The medical staff was excellent - we were like a family and enjoyed working together.
Pros
great staff, flexible schedule, excellent experience
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great College, athletics low on the priority scale
Assistant Football Coach (Former Employee) –  Oberlin CollegeNovember 27, 2012
I learned a lot of valuable lessons working for Oberlin College. In the end, I felt the entire sports department is vastly under compensated.
Pros
learning experience
Cons
poor compensation, no meals provided, no support from admissions
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working wit students.
Dishwasher (Current Employee) –  Oberlin, OHOctober 7, 2012
A typical day at work for me is going to be very productive.Listen to all my instructions and make sure u all my duties of the day are finish.Make sure respect all co-workers and keep good commucation skill.The most hardest part of day is at the end of the day.My favorite part of the day is when I can go home and relax...
Pros
free lunches
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job!
Director of Public Programs (Former Employee) –  Oberlin, OHJuly 13, 2012
This was my dream job! I worked with great people and learned a lot about Development.
Pros
meeting new people
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
all went well
faculty in residence, cultural center (Current Employee) –  ohioMarch 8, 2012
all is well. I enjoy my position but I need to make more money.
Pros
so far so good
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 19 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.7
Culture
3.7

OBERLIN COLLEGE Reviews by Location