Oceaneering Employee Reviews

Found 179 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Morgan City, LAAugust 6, 2017
Oceaneering is a great company to work for. With this economy there has been so many layoffs there. I was in layoff this year after 30 years of service.
Pros
Great Benefits
Cons
Office politics
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would love to go back
ROV Tec (Former Employee) –  Morgan City, LAAugust 4, 2017
I loved working offshore for this company. I usually worked 3 weeks on and had 3 weeks off working in ROV. I truly miss the rotation more than the money. I loved flying the sub and maintaining it. It was a great job.
Pros
Rotation, pay and people
Cons
Some supervisors didn't want to train their techs offshore
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Senior Designer (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 25, 2017
Management changes were difficult buy company culture is great and employees got along well, good team work but the downturn in the oil and gas industry dissolved many positions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very nice work environment
Structural Analyst (Former Employee) –  Hanover, MDJune 26, 2017
At Oceaneering, I started doing analysis work on Navy and Coast guard projects. I spent the last several months working in the entertainment division doing structural substantiation of an amusement park ride vehicle.
Pros
I worked on a team of very knowledgeable engineers.
Cons
I worked this job as a contractor which was not my preference.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More About the Money Than the Employees
ROV SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  GOMJune 15, 2017
Employees were never really treated as though they were important. With exception of a select few.

It is a good ole boy environment, still in this day and age.
Pros
Live where you want
Cons
Low Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good group of guys to work with
Lead Technician (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 5, 2017
The technicians are excellent to work with. If you need help they are willing to help you at anytime. Management is in dire need of improvement. They tell you everything is going to pick up in the next couple of months (which it never does) just to keep you around.
Pros
Shop hands are great group of guys
Cons
No moving up. No raises in past 4 yrs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 29, 2017
The company was good company and going through software and/or accounting procedure changes. There was a employee turnover while is was there on a contract job. I was moved to another industrial style location. The group seems nice and facility.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
CHIEF ENGINEER (Current Employee) –  Morgan City, LAMay 27, 2017
Great place to work!! Very safety originated. Very professional. Great health insurance. This company is one of the best companies I have worked with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great place to work before the downturn.
Quality Control Inspector (Former Employee) –  Morgan City, LAMay 24, 2017
This is a great place to work and learn. There are some very good technicians working here. It is a great place to learn. That is especially true, if you're from
the area.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really nice place to work
Purchasing Agent (Former Employee) –  Chesapeake, VA 23324May 23, 2017
I enjoyed the job and the people I worked with. Had a really good time working for Oceaneering. They took you on tours so you could see how your jobs has an effect on the company and the Navy that we had contracts with. I would still be with them today if they didn't have to downsize. Great job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for i loved it
Field Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Patterson, LAMay 10, 2017
All I can Say They Took Care Of Me And My Family When I worked There, So I Can`t Be Critical Of Oceaneering If You`re Applying To Work For Them Best Wishes
Pros
Pay
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Technical Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 7, 2017
Interesting work place and environment enjoyed my time there, very interesting, challenging and rewarding technical work and good colleagues aided in the experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommend
Diver (Current Employee) –  Morgan City, LAApril 18, 2017
Its a hard culture to conform to and the lifestyle doesnt really pay off unless you enjoy being out at sea away from life. Meet some interesting people and get to do some interesting stuff but ultimately I dont recommend
Pros
Money can be nice when the oil industry is up
Cons
Money can be bad when oil industry is down
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Active dynamic company
Inspector (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 13, 2017
Oceaneering treats their own as family, taking care of you as long as you get the job done. Colleagues are also helpful and friendly, where team-building is strongly encouraged
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working atmosphere
Structural Engineer (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 6, 2017
It is a nice place to work at. Great benefits. Not enough training and poor management. The work atmosphere is very friendly. New hiring employees need more technical trainings.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was challenging and exciting working with ROVs.
ROV Supervisor/Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Gulf of MexicoApril 3, 2017
Oceaneering International is an excellent company. I have learned many things and gained valuable experience. Sometimes, I worked in United States' waters, and sometimes, it was international waters.
There was good communication between employer and employees.
Pros
OI paid my transportation to and from work.
Cons
I had to be away from my family, but i am used to it because of the military.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is an interesting place to work
Offshore Tooling Technician (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 14, 2017
Oceaneering is a good place to work. I have built upon my military experience. I was able to put that experience to good practice. The safety culture is second to none.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very relaxed environment, people oriented, open door policy
Buyer (Former Employee) –  Houston CampusMarch 8, 2017
Oceaneering is a great company and I am very pleased, honored to have been employed there for over 13 years. The environment is very friendly and accommodating to workers at all levels. Extremely team oriented dynamic in place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work slows down
Level l Mechanical Integrity Technician (Current Employee) –  Lafayette, LAMarch 6, 2017
No set schedule and work slows down and you never know when you'll go back to workoverall a good job enjoy some of the bloodwork will just not in the consistency in the work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Unique product.
ROV - Quality Manager, North America (Former Employee) –  Morgan City, LAMarch 1, 2017
Management always supported me in career development.
Often celebrated milestones with the entire company.
Outstanding work/life balance.
Pros
Great work environment.
Cons
Sometimes hard to get a few words in with leadership team because they were so busy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Oceaneering. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 264 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.7

CEO Approval

80%
93 ratings
Add your rating