Oceania Cruises Employee Reviews

Found 25 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very organised and fun place
Sommelier (Current Employee) –  At sea, sailing in Europe and Usa.June 8, 2017
Its a fun place and also same time you get a chance to improve your knowledge all the time.
I get to meet lots of nationlity guests here and also get to visit lots of places aro7nd the world.
What makes it even soecial is our company allows us and even arranges winery educational tours and it helps me a lot, even for my career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice place to work
Jr. Sous Chef (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLJune 2, 2017
Oceania cruises is a luxury Cruise liner which caters the elite class segment of travelers. It is a fun place to work and lots of opportunities to learn.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly enviroment and plenty of oppurtinity to make lots of money.
Cruise Specialist (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NEApril 3, 2017
Reserving and service cruise bookings. Work with many different people every day. Internal systems need to be updated to get emails out on time to guests. Co-workers are friendly and easy to get along with.
Pros
Great pay
Cons
Overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to work with good people
Asst. ETO (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLFebruary 15, 2017
Execellent management, very helpful & understanding staff. Learned alot from my co-workers. Workplace was at times difficult to work in my field of line, but had to complete the task & always help was there when needed. Hardest part of my job was finding out the fault. Enjoyed all port of calls & specially crew bar parties
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and dynamic work environment
Sales Event Manager (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLDecember 28, 2016
Very busy position requiring many hours of work, extensive travel and occasional weekends.
Great people, good management.
Interesting and diverse work - never dull.
Enjoyed traveling and working with internal and external customers
High pressure position. Hardest part of the job was keeping up with constant changes and last minute decisions by management.
I enjoyed working at Oceania Cruises
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work,
Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLDecember 20, 2016
Able to work remotely
Leadership/Strategic account development
Great Management Team
Everyone is a Team Player
Working with agencies to develop strong partnerships
Pros
Always encouraged growth and innovation
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production Cast
Entertainer (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLNovember 21, 2016
I was a singer onboard one of Oceania's ships. I have nothing but positive things to say about the employees and my experience there. I only completed one contract.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning
Cook (Current Employee) –  United states of AmericaOctober 10, 2016
Basically I can't give tips to such a big company but still I want to tell something like in joining process ,it took such a long time that some time I feel like they don't want me so this time period should be reduced.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambiente de trabajo comodo y dinamico
Sommelier (Former Employee) –  FloridaSeptember 22, 2016
En Oceania Cruises me desempeñe como Sommelier de los diferentes restaurantes dentro del Crucero pero en especial de uno llamado Tuscan Steak el cual era una fusion italo - steakhouse.
Me encargaba del servicio de vinos y bebidas en general.
Conduccia catas e inducciones para los huespedes del Crucero.
Mis colegas eran muy proactivos y generosos.
No creo que halla habido algo negativo en mi experiecia.
La Gerencia era muy flexible y justa.
Desperto mis ganas de aprender mas y mas.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Treassured time and Happy Memories for me
ROOM SERVICE SERVER (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLSeptember 6, 2016
>At Sea.
>I learn more about service and what is the different sea based and land based job.
>Every Management have a different level and style.
>Good And Very Friendly
>At Sea and Cruise End
>If you see you guest are satisfy and happy to my service.
Pros
Mid night Snack after a duty.
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dinning room
Senior Head Waiter (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJuly 27, 2016
Maître D’ for cruise specialty restaurant.
Supervised the junior wait staff.
Prepared meal requests for guests with special dietary concerns.
Ensured that guests always had an overall positive diningexperience.•Opened and closed dining area daily.
Performed periodic computerized job performance evaluations for wait staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience,highly professional
Butler / Restaurant supervisor (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJuly 24, 2016
24/7 focus on the guest needs.
Great company to work for,great team to work with.
Unique chance to learn from the bests in this business.
Flexible working hours,but followed standard.
Everything done by USPH standards.
Working and traveling the world at the same time was great.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and with fitness gym
Cook/Chef (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJuly 6, 2016
6 months on board and without dayoff. I learned how to cook some secret recipe of international cuisine. Management was quite good, depends on the executive chef who is on board. hardest part of the job is when your body was so tired and you want to take a rest but you cant because you dont have a day off. and of course the most enjoyable part of the job was you see the world for free.
Pros
Free meals and accomodation
Cons
long hours and without an off duty
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good organized company, great management and support in workplace needs
waiter (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJuly 27, 2015
great job to do in the same time enjoying the world. low salary but extra money has place. good environmental condition. safe and clean.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment, helpful and fun loving colleagues
SENIOR CHEF DE PARTIE (Former Employee) –  Miami- Florida,USAMarch 17, 2014
Good working enviroment, helpful colleagues. free sight seeing tours, employee discount card, crew parties. i used to enjoy working as we used to all work as a team, helping each other. Good friendly management. i learned about time management, got more knowledge on food preparation, Co-workers are helpful and freindly nature.

The hardest part is sometimes had to work more hours which used to be tiring as well as enjoyable also.

I enjoyed working with my colleagues as they used to co-operate with me in times of pressure and we used to work as a team.
Pros
Free food, employee discounts, free tours, insurance
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes29No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company that give a lot of experience
Sommelier (Former Employee) –  Maiami, FloridaJuly 13, 2013
Good management and work system. It teaches you be really flexible when you working.
Pros
free food
Was this review helpful?Yes17No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Cabin Stewardess (Former Employee) –  USAFebruary 26, 2013
It was a good job. We had to work every day there but i didnt feel because the time went so fast. I met with a lots of nationalities i visited plenty places where i cant travel if a stay at home. And from that salary what i could get at home its even not enought to live.
I learned there how to live with people who has different culture and also how to solve any kind of problems or guests complaints.
Pros
free food and accomodation
Cons
few free hours only per day
Was this review helpful?Yes14No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great company spirit and workplace
ETO Dry dock contractor (Former Employee) –  EuropeFebruary 23, 2013
Work starts at 8:00 AM and lasts till 7:00 PM. During that time we have morning meeting and after lunch meeting where we review all the jobs needed to be done, match experience with expectations and schedule upcoming jobs, maintenance and/or operational readiness.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Revenue Manager
Manager, Revenue Management Analysis (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLJanuary 2, 2013
Review all available sailings, check for competitors pricing strategies and new policies. Create promotions for travel partners. Coordinate with IT developers and project managers of system enhancements. Meet with sales and marketing new pricing and promotions strategies to sell out sailings.
Pros
independent work, able to work from home, hours are not set.
Cons
long hours and little time off for vacations.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours of work but still can have time to see and walk around different places/countries everyday.
Ship Nurse (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLDecember 6, 2012
I start to work in Medical Center at 08:00 until 10:30H then go back at 17:00 - 19:30. In between those hours Medical Team is on call 24/7.We deal with the Guest and Crew members. We have to be flexible,calm,polite,and be knowledgeable in our field as we are dealing with different nationalities and cultures.

Medical Team deals with daily consultations,emergency cases and accidents for both guest and crew members of the vessel. As we are multi nationality crew we have to get along with one another to have a smooth operation.

I can say that the most hardest part of our job here on board is when we have to deal with an emergency case and we are in the middle of no where.Keep the patient alive as much as we can until helicopter / coast guard arrives to help us evacuate the patient to the nearest land hospital or until we reach the next port of call.

The most enjoyable part of my job is that I can see and visit places / countries and meet people, learn their culture with my husband.
Pros
free food and accomodation
Cons
long hours of work
Was this review helpful?Yes14No7Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Oceania Cruises. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 35 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
4.0
Management
3.9
Culture
4.1

Oceania Cruises Reviews by Location