OCLC Employee Reviews

Found 11 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Benefits are good
Database Specialist with Bibliographic Records (Former Employee) –  Dublin, OHOctober 30, 2015
Independent work with Dell computers. Co-workers are well educated within the Library field. Free donuts on Friday. Relaxed environment, casual dress.
Pros
Flexible schedules
Cons
Lots of Acronyms
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great mission but not very agile for a small organization
Director (Former Employee) –  Dublin, OHJune 17, 2015
OCLC is a great place to work if you are passionate about libraries. It can be challenging to get things done as the pace of decisions is slow and there are a lot of hoops to jump through to get project approval. New leadership is trying to change the culture but has brought in less transparency to business planning processes.
Pros
Mission and co-workers
Cons
New leadership is trying to get more work out of fewer people
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
quiet place
English Teacher (Current Employee) –  Fort Leonard Wood, MOMay 17, 2015
lots of filing
How to use the OCLC
Management is understanding and fair
nice and friendly
working with foreign nationals and trying to understand their accent.
the hours were good
Pros
paid leave
Cons
sometimes the patrons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult to Influence Needed Culture Changes
Information Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Dublin, OHMarch 6, 2014
I will only say OCLC had some really talented people. However, they were at least 15 years behind in their Information Security posture.
Cons
culture too embedded to allow for necessary changes.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely place to work and I highly recommend it
Data Services Intern (Former Employee) –  Dublin, OHDecember 8, 2013
I loved working here. The coworkers were friendly and fun to be around, they give you time to learn your responsibilities, and it truly is one of the best companies to work for in Ohio. I highly recommend applying. It reminds me of Google, though not as cool.
Pros
likelihood of advancement, free doughnuts on fridays, free gym, compensation, health insurance, retirement benefits, culture of happiness, friendly coworkers & higher ups, accommodations if necessary
Cons
at least one black out per month, parking can be a pain though it's usually fine, not enough entry level positions
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere of teamwork/friendliness
Independent Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJuly 14, 2013
I felt like part of the team. I was only contracted for a short amount of time but felt like I was embraced as part of the team/culture immediately. Everyone is polite and treats everyone as a whole individual (having a personality and life outside of work).
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment (relax), but lack of management skills
Supervisor, Business Improvement (Former Employee) –  Dublin, OhioJuly 4, 2013
a typical day at work: 8 hours/day
what you learned: dealing with people (especially above management)
management: lack of people managing skills
your co-workers: very kind and cooperative
the hardest part of the job: collecting data
the most enjoyable part of the job: analyzing data
Pros
working enviroment (relax)
Cons
frequent reduction
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top employer ratings
Benefits & HRIS Analyst (Current Employee) –  Dublin, OHApril 22, 2013
Continues to earn top employer ratings each year, provides competitive pay and benefits package. Very active wellness program with onsite facilities open to employees and their spouses/domestic partners.
Pros
onsite fitness facility, flexibility
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, converting library cards into a data based system.
Data entry (Former Employee) –  washington courthouse, OhioAugust 30, 2012
I loved this job. I came to work and sat at my cubicle and converted library cards into a database system. I enjoyed working with my coworkers because we all had our own little work area, and stayed busy.
There was not a hard part about this job. It taught me to type fast and lots of computer skills. I enjoyed this job the most.
Pros
flexable work schedule.
Cons
healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to start your career
Library Clerk and Library Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dublin, OHMay 12, 2012
This was my first job and the environment was fabulous to learn. The people were very helpful,
Pros
great learning experience
Cons
job eliminated
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report

See more OCLC reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 12 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
2.6
Management
3.2
Culture
3.5