Find companies:
Octapharma Plasma
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
58 reviews

Octapharma Plasma Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Location 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful work environment!!
Medical Screener (Current Employee), North Little Rock, ARJuly 3, 2014
-Pay is ridiculous!!! Employees are not paid for their experience.
-Management plays favorites. Employees are talked down to and humiliated in front of donors.
-People who are made Seniors abuse their "authority". They are just as bad as some management. Be more picky about who you make a Senior. Just because they kiss up to mgmt. doesn't mean they – more... will be a good Senior!!
-Scheduling is a joke! Some people work 10-12 days in a row without a day off when others get two days off in a row. Not enough people are scheduled on days that are normally busy and too many people scheduled on days that are slower.
-Management doesn't care that employees have lives outside of Octapharma.
-One person in mgmt. tells you one thing when another tells you something different.
-New employees are trained the minimum then thrown to the wolves. Training is not complete and is not correct.
-I don't think the center has ever had a complete cleaning. The floors are filthy with blood stains. The employee bathrooms look like gas station bathrooms. Towels on the floor, dead bugs, dirty toilet (feces on the seat), floors haven't been mopped. The company must be too cheap to hire people who do more than empty the trash.
-There are no incentives for employees. We only get 3 holidays off a year. Really?? Cut your employee some slack.
-The company seems to care more about getting plasma in there than who donates it. You won't let people who live in a shelter donate but people who smell of marijuana are welcome.
-There are a lot of unhappy employees and they are looking for other jobs. They are constantly complaining about the work environment or the schedule. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Another day at work.
Medical Screener, Lab Technician, Phlebotomist (Current Employee), Petersburg, VAJune 29, 2014
It's another day of work.You don't get paid for the amount of job your doing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hosti.e work enviornment
PHLEBOTOMIST TRAINER F/T (Former Employee), Des Moines, IAJune 20, 2014
Screened donors, performed phlebotomy procedures, and. prTrained new and existing employees in phlebotomy.Used a centrifuge to separate blood, test blood type, test protein and fat content of blood.Provided quality assurance of process in donor rooms, and responded to donor reactions Stocked and inventoried supplies
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, i loved my patients
PCT/ Phlebotomist (Former Employee), North Little Rock, ARJune 20, 2014
I loved working with my patients they helped brighten my day when it wasn't going too good
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
plasma processor
plasma prosseor (Former Employee), Spokane waJune 18, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: evrything
i processed plasma all day. i leaned about all different types of std's management was terrible, co-workers were all great. hardest part was they way management treated us. best part was all the employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It can be a fun place to work but they don't pay for experience or your degree and also they are cutting hours really bad
medical screener (Current Employee), Midfield, ALJune 17, 2014
i love some of the people I work with and i love the place i work what I dont like about you can't really grow at Octapharma they are not fair when come to moving to other positions ect;
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent employee focused environment that promotes advancement
Medical Screener (Current Employee), Florence, ALJune 3, 2014
Overall great place to work. The work was fairly easy. It is a laid-back place to work. I enjoy having interactions with multiple people. There are very few males that work in this facility.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding Job
Phlebotomist (Current Employee), Richmond, VAMay 13, 2014
Pros: incentives
Cons: only one 30 minute break for a 8 hour shift.
The management could use some guidance but overall, the company is rewarding to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Phlebotomist (Current Employee), Garland, TXMay 8, 2014
Busy days. The hardest part of the job is to stay clam in a panic situation you can't show that you are overwhelmed
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and New Learning Experience
Phlebotomist (Former Employee), Monroe, LAMay 4, 2014
Pros: free lunches benefits paid holidays hour lunch break
Cons: negativity
A typical day at work for me includes communicating with my customers/patients, talking enjoying the time we spend that day.
I've learned that we all need help from one another no matter what kind it may involve. We all need assistance.
I've never had any management experience but I would love to experience that in my life.
Co-workers plays a major – more... part when it comes to learning to deal with daily attitudes and different personalities.
The hardest part of a job is customers with negative attitudes. Throughout my work history I've learned how to deal with negativity. ALWAYS STAY POSITIVE NO MATTER WHAT THE SITUATION MAY BE.
The most enjoyable part of the day is knowing when my customers are satisfied & happy with my service that I've provided for them for that day! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work.
Screener (Current Employee), Virginia Beach, VAMay 4, 2014
Pros: excellent benefits package.
Cons: short breaks, management favoritism, over assertiveness of position
During the interview process and the first 3 moths of working there it went from "we're delighted to have you join our team.." to "we'll see how long she stays.." muttered behind your back. The only real benefit of working at a place like that is the decent insurance package. The management plays favorites and has little to no care for their employees. – more... They are unapproachable and the open door policy is a joke. Working there for almost a year I thought things would change, but they only got worse. There's no such thing as an excused absence, so if your mother's in the hospital or your sick AND bring in a doctors note, it doesn't matter. You'll still get in trouble and get points/warnings/written up for an UNEXCUSED absence. I have witnessed the upper management talking about me personally when they thought no one was listening. Co-worker wise no one is your friend until they think you're worthy of being so. The job itself is a bore so if you don't like repetition then this is the wrong place for you. As far as being promoted goes, there isn't far to go and the pay raises aren't worth the extra time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced environment
phlebotomist (Current Employee), Petersburg, VAApril 17, 2014
Pros: move and trained in different positions
Reviewing donor records for accuracy and completeness, Labeling and ensuring that each unit and all samples are labeled accurately ,Setting up and preparing all equipment and disposable supplies for venipuncture and plasmapheresis procedure, Operating the automated plasmapheresis machines, including response and evaluation of all alarms and machine – more... errors, documentation of exceptions. Monitoring donors for reactions as well as monitoring equipment operations to ensure donor safety and quality of product Ensuring donor confidentiality, meeting customer service expectations, greeting and acknowledging donors as they are assigned to the donation area and after completing donation process Overseeing and ensuring proper sanitation and cleaning of equipment and your work area between donors – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & fun.....until management shows up
Donor Floor Technician (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NvMarch 29, 2014
Pros: benefits, pto, & sick time
Cons: low pay, no appreciation unless your a brown nose, coworkers sleeping with donors
Most of the Co workers are awesome. Willing to help each other and donors. It's a training facility so all are welcome. The donors are a challenge because most of them are down on their luck and expect to donate even when it's not safe to do so. For example when their hygiene or vitals are no within range. Management is hard to please, if your not kissing – more... their behinds you will not be promoted. If your not trying to help get their quarterly bonus' (checks management receive when they meet company goals placed by corporate) by doing more than your job requires to make then look good..... Beware. You only see management if they're not huddled up in the directors office gossiping, or the TC's office eating and gossiping. Benefits are okay so that's an award outside the fact that we are helping save lives. If there was more help and praise from management instead backlash, them contributing to gossip, and finding "designees" to complete their production task I would be wiling to say it's worth retiring from. Currently my vote is to run from this center at least. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced work environment
Phlebotomy (Former Employee), Moline, ILMarch 13, 2014
Pros: full time donors
Cons: co workers very short breaks
clock in perform phlebotomy stock supplies needed for the job hardest part co workers/management best part the donors assist in closing the center.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day
Medical Screener (Current Employee), Richmond, VAMarch 1, 2014
Pros: we get rewarded for perfect attendance, and on a timely basis.
Cons: better career opportunity.
Clock in on time, listen, observe, and interact.
Learn new things every day.
Coworkers are friendly and easy to get along with.
The hardest part of my job is when a donor fails their apperance.
The most enjoyable part of my job is helping others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed this job
Medical Screener (Former Employee), Moline, ILJanuary 17, 2014
My managers made me feel appreciated. friendly and energetic enviroment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
MEDICAL SUPERVISOR /PHYSICIAN SUBSTITUTE (Former Employee), Spokane, WADecember 10, 2013
people generally unhappy working there but management is ok and job is not horribly demanding
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace enviorment, team leader
Phlebotomist/Designated Trainer (Former Employee), Portsmouth,VaNovember 19, 2013
Pros: good customer service
Cons: lots of responsiblity and no compinsation
A typical day a OctaPharma is always busy. As a phlebotomist and trainer I have more responsiblities on the donor floor. I have learned so much as an employee having no experience as a phlebotmist. As a team leader I have gain lots of good relationships with my co-workers and donors. The hardest part of this job is working with non-motivated employees. – more... This most enjoyable part are the donors, being able to interact with the public for a good cause. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Screener (Former Employee), Sioux City, IANovember 4, 2013
Pros: nice breaks.
Cons: no cons. it was a great place to work.
Helped people through the process of being blood donors. I was a screener. We filed and greeted repeat donors. I have done the finger stick and record and filed. I helped others keep a clean and happy work place. I can stand for long hours and was willing to help management answer the phone and make appointments. I have learned to become a passionate – more... and enthusiastic person. The best part of the job was being able to help customers be comfortable and make their stay be as pleasant as possible. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company depending on who your supervisor is
Processing Technician (Current Employee), Orange Park, FLOctober 14, 2013
OK company to work for. You get paid holidays time you start. Plus personal time off and just needed time off. Based off of how many hours you work in a month.

1 2 3