Odyssey House Employee Reviews

Found 39 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Feels like home
CMHC Intern (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTJanuary 19, 2016
This is a wonderful place to work. The client's are amazing people who allow you into their lives in the hopes that you can help them regain control and live a happy healthy life free of suffering and addiction. Your colleagues are supportive and always willing to help in any way they are able.
Pros
Clients and colleagues
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great food market with many food deportment to chose from
Kitchen coordinator (Former Employee) –  Manhasset, NYDecember 28, 2015
A great food market with many food deportment to chose from fast paced food market with wonderful employees with a great knowledge of what there doing
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic ever changing work environment
Counselor Aide (Current Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 26, 2015
Odyssey house is interesting especially their residential facility with adolescents this is a very diverse and challenging population to work with but it is all about getting acclimatized to your work environment and career.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay is not comprehensible with employee experience and dedication.
Behavioral Health Technician/ Line Staff (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 10, 2015
No comment. There is nothing to say. Very little care for the employees and no consideration for those who ae making an effort to be reliable and dependent team players.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Substance abuse Counselor (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYDecember 7, 2015
Great place to work! Love the environment. Great staff great clients, Good place to work, Too far from my home and other job.
Pros
good people
Cons
far from my house
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
room for growth
Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 20, 2015
easy going, but very productive and efficient work place. Staff was very helpful and considerate to work relate and personal needs.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
emergencey situations
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy fast paced non profit organization
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYOctober 2, 2015
Maintained a professional relationship with staff and clients. Odyssey house is a multi task organization where to as you do more than what your job entails. It is a place where you can succeed and move up in position with hard work and dedication.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and convenient
assistant supervisor (Former Employee) –  Bronx, New yorkSeptember 19, 2015
The managers was great, treated their employees with well respect. Each resident love each employee. Good pay and benefits. Weekends off was the best as well as holidays (paid)
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Program, Horrible Place to Work
Support Staff (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake CitySeptember 3, 2015
I loved working at Odyssey House. Helping the clients was rewarding and the friendships you make are great. However, expect to work double shifts - most often because someone doesn't show up to work. Turnover is HIGH. Pay is not adequate. Management doesn't seem to care.
Pros
Rewarding atmosphere
Cons
long hours, low pay, need better management
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
clients showed lots of motivation
House Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 25, 2015
Great working environment, management were very supportive to staff. Agency provided incentives to staff and clients.
Pros
Great location
Cons
Long working hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Junior Counselor (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYAugust 24, 2015
Work for Odyssey House was great experience and learning a great deal from individuals staff members help with the whole view of the field substance abuse.
Pros
Learning from experience clinical team.
Cons
Not meeting the standards
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Staff Cook (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 5, 2015
Great company to work for. Great staff, good benefits, and the hours fit my schedule. I will refer this company to all potential employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Residential Aide( MICA) (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 26, 2015
My employment at Odyssey house was great and there is room to advance in the company. My co-workers were team players and willing to go the extra mile for the clients.
Pros
We were allowed to get free meals from the facility.
Cons
Sometimes you went through the whole day without a break do to emergencies.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place with wonderful group of people.
Intern (Former Employee) –  Salt LakeMay 12, 2015
Kind wonderful group of people trying to make a difference in a difficult world. They provide a great service for underprivileged people. It's a pleasant working environment with great management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive not a fun place to work at.
Internship I and II (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYApril 17, 2015
I have learned lots of things at this agency. The hardest thing was learning to navigate the system in order to generate reports correctly.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly Structured, Family Oriented
Strengthing Families employee (Former Employee) –  Odyssey Flint, MiMarch 13, 2015
Getting involved with family functions, accommodating appointments, and running the house. the most enjoyable experience i got was talking one on one with people that have real issues and helping them through them by listening and giving concept. I was saving lives and it was truly rewarding . It was hard to take on all of that responsibility and get involved fully. It was truly rewarding.
Pros
support, peers, free meals
Cons
on call all day everyday
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team Work
Entitlement/Admission/Discharge Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Harbor, NYNovember 4, 2014
I have worked with many great people at Odyssey House Harbor and we all have worked great together as a team. I have moved from Case Manager to Entitlement/Admission and Discharge Coordinator. One thing I can say is that Odyssey House does believe in advancement from within.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and productive place to get clean and sober
House Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTOctober 6, 2014
inpatient place where i learned a lot about myself and how to handle things in life in the most appropriate ways.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy interacting with clients.
Intake/discharge Coordinator (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 17, 2014
I have learned to become more empathetic and compassionate to many different populations.
Pros
family like environment
Cons
lock down environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved workng with the girls and their kids, relationships built
Support Staff (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake CitySeptember 5, 2014
Manager is very Unorganized, could not keep coverage on shifts. Did not know how to do a schedule.

I over saw moms in a drus and alcohol rehab. I helped them with their kids if needed. I administered medication. would go on Recs with them.
Pros
building relationships with clients, going on fun outings
Cons
pay and benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 42 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture