OERLIKON Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Production Lead (Current Employee) –  Dayton, OHOctober 31, 2017
Oerlikon metco dayton ohio is one of the best places I've worked. The company values great employees. There are plenty of opportunities if you apply your talents. In less than 2 years I've been promoted twice. I like that they are always looking for ways to improve processes in order to make sure that the job can be done in an effective way. I highly recommend anyone in the manufacturing field to apply for work at Oerlikon.
Pros
Advancement opportunity, excellent benefits, awesome appreciation gathering.
Cons
Lack of communication between shifts at times. Employees that always find things to complain about.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work place
Operator (Former Employee) –  Mequon, WIOctober 9, 2017
I loved oerlikon i would definitely work there again everyone was so nice the work was easy and as long as you were doing what you needed to do it went by smoothly
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The fellow employees are wonderful people
Press Operator (Current Employee) –  Dayton, OHJune 7, 2017
This job is actually a good place to work, but the managers do not act if they care for they employees. We don't get a lot of time off from this place. Not upfront with about things when you are getting hire in and I feel that is not fair to people.
Pros
The work is not difficult
Cons
Lack of communication through the managment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stress, Nepotism, and no backbone
Coating Technician (Current Employee) –  Agawam, MAMay 16, 2017
No support from manger, no way to advance in company, those who work have to do twice as much because the manager allows the slackers to sit back and sham all day. Very stressful most of the time, Company preaches TEAMWORK but does not support it. More of a "Do as I say not as I do" company.
Pros
Pay, Benefits
Cons
Lack of Management, to many employees allowed to collect paycheck with out putting in a full days work
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lowest moral around. layoffs all the time and poor management
Machine Repairman (Current Employee) –  Lafayette, INApril 8, 2017
No one cares or listens to or about anything. Every day is like a zoo. Low pay and moral. Up and down buisness caused uncertainty about it's future. Every day is the same old song and dance. Boring
Pros
can do whatever you want
Cons
no one cares about the job
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Purchasing
procurement/production (Former Employee) –  Dayton, OHMarch 20, 2017
The new manager that came in was not what was expected. Had made many comments that the men needed to be put in place. That she would be running the show. She enjoyed belittling people.
Pros
good 401K plan medical benefits good
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Geneva, ILFebruary 20, 2017
Very Productive and fun workplace.Management is fair and the job is fulfilling and great Benefits.The people that work there are very nice and helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
None
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Dayton, OHMay 17, 2016
Not very many white people work there on third treated you like they were better than you not aloud to use the elevator if you were white every supervisor was black
Pros
Clean
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 24Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Two words, complete chaos!
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Wixom, MIApril 26, 2016
Every area has exactly the compliment of employees needed for minimum function. No more, no less. Which means you better not get sick nor be late, lest your coworkers despise you for making their already chaotic day, a complete misery.
This makes for an impossible scenario of completing everything in an error free, timely manner.

Clearly management has no understanding how to fully tap its onboard work resource potential. While some folks are working 6 hours and out, your struggling to make everything fit neatly into an extremely company budgeted 8 hours. This working model makes for a high stress, overworked mentality that's doomed to battle an unnecessary turnover rate.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
No real advancement, Very little overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Potential to be the best or worst Job
Coating Technician (Former Employee) –  Elgin, ILOctober 5, 2015
great team. best shifts are 2nd and 3rd when management is off building. during my time there they went through 2 plant managers and 1 service manager, 2 technicians and too many temps
Pros
good pay, small company on site, good benefits
Cons
bad management, fired for petty things, write up happy...
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 2Report

Want to know more about OERLIKON?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be a great place with better management and stronger team work.
coating technician (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma CityApril 13, 2015
i enjoyed the work I did. Hated the lack of team work and poor management. The manager lacks people skills cannot or will not make fair decisions concerning employees.The harder you work the more you learn and know the more you are disrespected and taken advantage of. 3 rd shift is the hardest shift the bulk of the work load is on this shift. Good luck being able to take vacation on this shift. I lost over 30 hours of vacation due to use or lose policy.
Pros
Pay is decent
Cons
no breaks not team oriented
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You can be replaced
operator (Former Employee) –  dayton ohioApril 9, 2015
Expects you to work your butt off for them. Only care about there numbers and could care less about you or your family life. You can and will be replaced if not liked
Pros
good pay. plenty of overtime
Cons
6 to 7 day work weeks all the time. takes away from family life
Was this review helpful?Yes 30No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learned alot about people
Production Supervisor Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dayton, OHJanuary 6, 2015
working with production, machine operators to make sure that all ship dates were going to be met. filing all production paper work. printing all production consignment sheets. Making sure all inventory from my department was correct in SAP inventory. also keeping track of all material consumption.
Pros
learning something new everyday
Cons
long long long hours the place was a mess
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very monotanous work, but easy quotas and skill requirements
Production Line Associate (Former Employee) –  Dayton, OHNovember 10, 2014
Plenty of overtime available for those who show up on time and stay busy. Gossip mill.
Pros
none
Cons
very long time as temp before any chance of direct employment
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good hours, good job, needs review on training
CNC Machinist (Current Employee) –  Lafayette, INSeptember 2, 2014
You are expected to learn how to run a CNC with limits on dimensions less than a third of your hair or you'll get let go. You will probably also get laid off once if not twice till you get high enough in the union to avoid it.........Other than that, fun place to work, pretty easy going.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful & extremely stressful experience
Coating Tech (Former Employee) –  Pell City, ALMarch 26, 2014
While the pay and benefits were decent and the basic job duties were tolerable, the Center Manager in-waiting created an enormous amount of unwarranted stress. He probably should not have been promoted because he lacks two critical characteristics of a good manager. First, his ability to communicate effectively is hindered by the speed in which he talks. Secondly, and maybe most important, he never learned that a successful Supervisors/Managers' chief duty is to serve their employees. One last thing that attributed to my bad experience (and eventually led to me walking out mid shift) was by their own admission my supervisor and a fellow tech were brother in laws. Can you say conflict of interest!
Pros
pay
Cons
local management
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very toxic, chaotic and unorganized
Quality Manager (Contract) (Former Employee) –  Rock Hill, SCJune 17, 2013
Where do I begin...this was the worst place I ever worked. Upper management was clueless about quality and production. There is no advancement. Morale is horrible. It's like being in prison or slavery in 2013. Common sense is not common. They prefer to be crazy, toxic, pigheaded and unorganized. They rather hire people with no experience than someone with years of automotive experience. Let this be the last place you go to work! You'll thank me later!!
Pros
Income
Cons
Too many to name
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and easy environment
CNC and Broach Operator (Current Employee) –  Lafayette, INMarch 20, 2013
as an operator here you are required to complete machine setups as well as run them- you change more then just inserts and programs
Good pay scales however healthcare options will lower what you receive in pocket
Union shop so seniority counts leaving newer employees feeling on edge during slowdowns
Pros
easy going environment with decent pay-benifts
Cons
slowdowns eliminate possible overtime and if continued will force a layoff
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
At least they pay decently well
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  SoCalOctober 9, 2012
Had "Four" Regional Sales Managers in a single year. It was all too much, each day was a new Modus Operendi and there was no support at all for a remote employee.

If you are great schmoozer you may last, if you are an average Joe that just does his/her job watch out. I was number 5 in five years in my position, I should have been leery with that track record. I stupidly jumped in......
Pros
pay was decent, company car, great insurance program.
Cons
keep your head down or get it chopped off.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
National Intel Account Manager - Regional Account Manager
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Home office in Vancouver, WAJune 5, 2012
Company sales force was miss-managed. Most that I worked with have left.
Pros
salary and benefits
Cons
poorly managed, with no direction for target industries or customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 4Report

See more OERLIKON reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at OERLIKON. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.7
Based on 29 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
2.3
Management
2.2
Culture
2.6