Office Depot OfficeMax Employee Reviews

Found 6,133 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Personally i didnt. Care for this job
Copy and Print Associate (Former Employee) –  Huntsville, ALAugust 18, 2017
The overall way in which this business is run is not conducive to having a pleasant working experience. Especially if one works in the copy and print department.... Our customers come in second to in store customers which means our production suffers greatly... Horrible set up
Pros
Friends..?
Cons
Harsh work enviroment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Print Services Retail Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Murfreesboro, TNAugust 18, 2017
Horrible turnover
Low Pay
Not great training
Learned new machines
Easy to move up if full time and theres no supervisor
Boring people......................
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome work place
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Billings, MTAugust 18, 2017
Easy daily objectives. Cashiering was actually fun. Continual learning process on the floor. My management team was great and was very committed to my overall advancement. i would have to say the hardest part for me was wanting to constantly wanting to learn and my enjoyable was working around people who made the job fun.
Pros
the discounts and the enviroment
Cons
not always able to take a break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid this place.
Logistics Specialist (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDAugust 18, 2017
Was expected to do every job but my own. Your management team can be good people but policies are what people operate under. All the metrics are developed by headquarters and not realistic.
Pros
Discount on printing services
Cons
Pay, Breaks and unrealistic expectations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office Depot a Great Place to Work
Technology Solution Development Manager (Former Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLAugust 18, 2017
I found Office Depot being a great place to work. I enjoyed my time there, the culture was family oriented and well run and appreciation was key to the environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can Move up
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIAugust 17, 2017
Able to move up quickly, but tasks are endless. Always redoing company standards. No actually training for leaders or team. Cutting payroll during busy times to look better to stock holders. Poor company business plan for the future.
Pros
write own schedule
Cons
no job security at all
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVAugust 17, 2017
Supervisors and the store manager are attentive to what their employees need and make sure that their interests are taken care of. Also are very aware of what to do to make sure the employees are not overworked and are in the best spirits to make sure customers are effectively taken care of.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad
Sales Consultant (Current Employee) –  Peoria, ILAugust 17, 2017
The managers were incredibly nice, though stressed from the added workload from corporate. Store manager was willing to schedule around classes.Customers were ok, mostly friendly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely busy and culturally diverse clientele
Customer Service Specialist I (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 17, 2017
This was a very busy location in probably the most culturally diverse areas in the U.S. (I started with Office Depot in a rural Texas town called Marble Falls before transferring to Houston in 2013). There was good teamwork and camaraderie among the employees that helped us get through many difficult situations.
Pros
Good teamwork and camaraderie
Cons
Low pay, few benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay, work-life, organized, agile, values work
Angular JS Developer (Current Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLAugust 17, 2017
I was working with a very professional team. Great work environment. Management is relaxed as long as you are performing well.Diverse culture and Great salary.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entry Level Job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Strongsville, OHAugust 17, 2017
For being an entry level job as a cashier it was what it is, basic and straight forward. No room for advancement that I had seen followed by false promises.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sometimes it was exciting
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXAugust 17, 2017
I grew in my office knowledge while I was employed. I enjoyed my customers, I enjoyed helping my customers. I was also excited to practice my very little sign language.

The store was always clean.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work at
Print Shop Clerk and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXAugust 17, 2017
Great place to work at. Enjoyed interacting with the customers. Sometimes I wish I could work there again. Good job for high school kids or if you are in college.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair
AM Shipping / Bulk Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Buford, GAAugust 16, 2017
Walking in blind to work, you never know how much work is their, start hours constantly change, management doesnt know the operation', volume changes day to day.
Pros
Pay
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and enjoyable work enviorment
Copy and Print Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAAugust 16, 2017
Fast pace work environment, have to be able to multi task between multiple customers and being able to answer all phone lines within 4 rings. Love being able to get to know my customers. Enjoy being able to help others and being able to design Job Forms for different company's. Everyone I work with is always a team player and willing to help out each other.
Pros
Being able to move up in the company and working close to others
Cons
Short staffed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great atmosphere
Inside Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXAugust 16, 2017
The Corp Office Depot Inside Sales Center in Austin is a great place to work. Enjoy my direct management and colleagues. Atmosphere is excellent. Work/Life Balance is exceptional.
Pros
Work/Life Balance
Cons
compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Copy and Print Associate (Former Employee) –  Evanston, ILAugust 16, 2017
Managers expect workers to drop their lives for work, yet receive no gratitude for it. There are 2 types of workers, those that do NOTHING and those who do EVERYTHING, there was no in between. Sort of unfair how you go above and beyond yet get paid the same
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Summerfield, FLAugust 16, 2017
it was very nice place to work. I enjoyed working there. The pay needs to be much better then it was! It needs to offer more benefits.
I learned a lot about office products.
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service
CUSTOMER SERVICE / CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXAugust 16, 2017
Really enjoyed management and staff. Great work environment and enjoyed seeing friendly faces. Centrally located and busy place. Good learning opportunity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No longer in business
Finance Internship, Full-time, Summer and Fall (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHAugust 16, 2017
OfficeMax, now gone, was a great place to work as an intern. The growth was so fast that there it was very exciting and there were opportunities to do just about anything I wanted in various departments.
Pros
Exciting
Cons
Gone
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Office Depot OfficeMax. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 6,738 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.4
Culture
3.5

CEO Approval

Gerry P. Smith
67%
1,754 ratings
Add your rating

Office Depot OfficeMax Reviews by Location