Office Depot OfficeMax Employee Reviews

Found 5,168 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back and very relaxing
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Newville, PAFebruary 21, 2017
I loved working there . The people were great and the work was simple and it was just a very easy going work place . Newville is not a far drive from where I live so it was convient .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work place for someone starting out
Sales Associate/ Print Center Specialist (Former Employee) –  Ontario, CAFebruary 21, 2017
Good workplace for students or someone who needs some work around their schedules. sometimes the work hours are not given due to the slow business, but overall it was okay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like a revolving door
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 21, 2017
Store Managers don't seem to stay very long at my store (7 in two years).
Pay is not on scale with other companies.
Enjoyable workplace and the hourly employees are like a family with each other.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
trains in wide ranges of jobs
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Round Rock, TXFebruary 21, 2017
a typical day at work consists of printing out all kinds of projects, reports for school work for both students and teachers. some other things would be things like laminating papers and projects, binding papers together in different ways, making up invitations ,blue prints, and posters.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office supplies
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Rossford, OHFebruary 21, 2017
Kind to employees, gives many breaks when needed. Managed well but unfortunately due to working in a new location it did not exceed and I had to find other work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun place to work
Copy and Print Specialist (Current Employee) –  Nampa, IDFebruary 21, 2017
Productive and a good place to work at. Managers are good and will work around your schedule if needed. only provides full time to managers and supervisors
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad
Print Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Thornton, COFebruary 20, 2017
I was hired by the GM, knowing i was going to school, as the print manager. Then he left and I was then demoted due to my school schedule by the new GM.
Pros
People are nice
Cons
some bs "policies"
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Enviroment
Freight Logistics Associate (Current Employee) –  Cranberry, PAFebruary 20, 2017
A typical day is shoot to see if inventory is out of stock as well as filling items that need stocked, and also helping customers who need assistance. I am gaining skills in operational management there as well from my operations manager.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work busy enviornment
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee) –  Wheaton, ILFebruary 20, 2017
Was a chishier , kept counters clean . Ilearned anout timing there as well, its full of happy people that are willing to work, which was the most enjoyable part as well having a team of people that help you whe you need it and can work ln their own s well (if they had to.)
Pros
learned about the latest technology
Cons
on your feet all day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is a good company to work
Payroll and Finance Specialist VI (Current Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLFebruary 20, 2017
it is a good company to work but only disadvantage is people stay there for life long so there are not many changes on career path
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXFebruary 19, 2017
worried to much about results and how to get them. Pushed good managers out of the company because they were not in the "Good old boys club".
Pros
none
Cons
worklife sucks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but no movement
Logistics Specialist (Current Employee) –  San Clemente, CAFebruary 19, 2017
I have enjoyed my time working for Office Depot the management is great and I have a great work life balance. The problem is there is very limited movement though the company and the pay isn't good.
Pros
Work life balance and management
Cons
No movement and pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great for a short term part-time job
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNFebruary 19, 2017
I've been with Office Depot for about 9 months. I like it, however the work load does not match the pay. I'm practically working in every department and only getting paid a dollar or so over minimum wage. Need a raise or a supervisor position to accommodate the work I do here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place For Development
Manager (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, MO areaFebruary 19, 2017
Office Depot is a great place to develop your skills. There seems to be a lot of opportunity for advancement if you are flexible and willing to relocate.
Pros
Work/life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, little to no career advancement
Senior Sales Consultant (Technology) (Former Employee) –  Shoreline, WAFebruary 19, 2017
office max is a fun place to work and very flexible with hours, interview process is nice and management is very cool! learned alot about selling tactics, i loved selling the most, nothing was very challenging about the job. i enjoyed selling and making spiffs!
Pros
Flexible hours, Nice manager, great workplace environment, fun place to work
Cons
Sr. Mgmt
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Print Center Supervisor-Keyholder (Former Employee) –  Port Saint Lucie, FLFebruary 18, 2017
I worked for OfficeMax/Office Depot for 21 years. A typical day at work was a day of learning software systems, meeting deadlines for projects and working with our guests to make sure they had a terrific visit with us. It was a great experience.
Pros
Reward system
Cons
Not enough people
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great First Job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZFebruary 18, 2017
Good company, good people

They train students - work with them on customer service skills.
The workplace culture was enjoyable.
The schedule was flexible around my coursework.
Pros
work for college students - flexible scheduling
Cons
no room for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was OK, I guess
Distribution Technician (Former Employee) –  Menlo Park, CAFebruary 18, 2017
When work was flowing, everything was fast paced. Management wasn't always available to answer questions. It was a temp job, but I did find myself making some good friends to this day.
Pros
Clean environment
Cons
Was let go over the phone, on my day off.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy, easy to advance if motivated
Copy & Print Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Waxahachie, TXFebruary 17, 2017
Management is friendly. Always something different to produce in CPD. Great team to work with.
Hardest part is Copy & Print Department when you are understaffed, but we had a great team that would help when the line of customers got long.
New procedures are being introduced and it is really a waste of time.

They really push for you to sign people up for their rewards program. If you don't get them then your hours are cut and could be terminated in your first 3 months.
Pros
Easy advancement
Cons
Understaffed.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment with advancement opportunity
OPERATIONS MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Lafayette, INFebruary 17, 2017
Office Depot has been a place that I can learn and grow as a manager. The leadership has been attentive and encourages personal and professional growth.
Pros
advancement opportunity
Cons
Pay isn't great
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Office Depot OfficeMax. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 5,687 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.4
Culture
3.5

Office Depot OfficeMax Reviews by Location