Office Depot OfficeMax Employee Reviews

Found 4,087 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OfficeMax
General Manager (Former Employee) –  MarylandFebruary 5, 2016
I worked for Omax until Staples recruited me. I enjoyed the company until the buy-out years ago. I felt a bit uneasy with my future at Omax and decided to build a career at Staples
Pros
Salary
Cons
Job Security
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable work place.
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Midland, TXFebruary 5, 2016
assisted coworkers in running the store. assisted customers. coworkers very good to work with. employees were very nice in checking out customers and keeping store clean.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent working environment
Pallet jack Operator (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSFebruary 4, 2016
I got to meet a lot of different people and it also helped me with communicated more with people on a daily which meant my people skills had improved more.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized!!!!!!!!!!!
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  TXFebruary 3, 2016
This place is terrible. I worked at the warehouse on 360 for 3 years and every day was horrible. First they switch managers every 6 months. I had 8 in 3 years. Also managment is clueless about how to be managers. They are the most unorganized place i have ever seen. Ive seen managers just walk out and quit. Hours are horrible people are horible pay is horrible. They find any reason they can to fire you.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Downhill after merger
INDIGO ORDER ENTRY SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  Bristol, VAFebruary 3, 2016
Before the merger OfficeMax was an enjoyable workplace. after the merger it became obvious that it was not a merger but a buyout.
Pros
Free Holiday meals, Donuts every third thursday
Cons
work moved overseas
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive
Sales Consultant & Tech Specialist (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXFebruary 2, 2016
Working retail is a good first job experience. I learned a lot from cashier, sales, computer tech and more. Had many different managers while working there. Some are hard and some are chill. Co-workers are cool and fun. Just depends which retail location you work at.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
logistics
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Culver City, CAFebruary 2, 2016
great company nice work flow. i worked in logistics and only left due to another job opportunity otherwise i would probably still be there. flexible schedule helped a lot to considering i am still in school.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Concrete retail structure
Retail Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Oneonta, NYFebruary 2, 2016
Very fast paced environment where customer service is most important. Being in management took strong communication skills and prioritizing different tasks at hand. Overall the customers and employees were very happy leaving the store everyday.
Pros
Great opportunity for advancement, competitive wages, great benifits
Cons
Lack of ownership with coworkers
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked my way through college here
DPS (Former Employee) –  Parkersburg, WVFebruary 2, 2016
Typical retail job. The pay was decent but not great. The management always worked about my college schedule ever semester.
Pros
Nice coworkers
Cons
Retail
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy to adjust to the job
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Longview, TXFebruary 1, 2016
Office Depot was my favorite place to work. The coworkers were friendly and managers were always working hard. The majority of costumers are usually the elderly and they are some times tough to deal with.
Pros
Great work place
Cons
The store manager is never there
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Order Picker (Current Employee) –  Newville, PAJanuary 31, 2016
A typical day is about 10 hours. But I work from 4 pm to 230 am. I have a lot of fun at work. If you do your job you can be awarded.
Pros
Everything
Cons
Short Breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Mechanicsburg, PAJanuary 30, 2016
I learned all about customer service as well as handling cash. I am able to deal and resolve all customer issues. I also learned phone etiquette.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tech
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Chillicothe, OHJanuary 29, 2016
I enjoyed selling tech. Teaching people about tech. Customer service. Enjoyed working with my co-workers. A good starting out in the workplace job.
Pros
Selling tech. Customers.
Cons
Lack of leadership. Lack of hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and fast pace job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Asheville, NCJanuary 28, 2016
Office depot was a good job for a high school student. There was always something that needed to be done and taught me how to deal with a variety of people in the real world.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work
CDL B Driver (Former Employee) –  Waipahu, HIJanuary 27, 2016
deliver office supplies
management ok
no growth
teamwork
delivering the paper
enjoyed driving
m-f
pay rate is ok
order already pulled by warehouse staff
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid Company and Culture
Director of Store Operations (Former Employee) –  Naperville, ILJanuary 27, 2016
Solid management and culture. Promoted six times in 11 years. Toughest part was the continued buyouts. Great opportunities for those that didn't lose their jobs with the buyouts.
Pros
Solid vision
Cons
Buyouts
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Financial struggles showing up
Mgr. (Current Employee) –  Lafayette, LAJanuary 27, 2016
The job is slow paced, and now seems to be struggling with finances
Started out as salaried position then went to hourly with overtime then no overtime, and now working 31-35 hours weekly
Pros
great staff
Cons
Hrs being cut
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning something new every day
Copy and Print Specialist (Former Employee) –  Northport, ALJanuary 26, 2016
You always get something new everyday, the orders that come in are somewhat surprising. you learn a lot with the computer programs. and its great to see that you can make someone's day by completing their order
Pros
staff is friendly
Cons
customers can be rude
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 25, 2016
Company is very unstable. With the consistent realigning of Districts and positions it makes it very hard to advance. You could have worked with a DM for the past 3 years be on a great career path and all of a sudden that guy is out of a job and you have to start over. DM's micro manage the stores being a store manager or assistant isn't really that. I would not suggest what so ever. The only plus side is the work life balance working here was awesome hourly assistant manager made it east to have a life.
Pros
work life balance and wages
Cons
everything else--RUN!
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Folsom, CAJanuary 25, 2016
I enjoyed doing my job there and all of the people working take their jobs seriously. I would highly recommend applying here.
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 4,468 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture