Find companies:
Office Depot
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,743 reviews

Office Depot Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The experience was my 1st job but it came with many positives.
Customer Consulant (Former Employee), DeSoto, TXNovember 18, 2014
Pros: customer service, learning about protection plans and about technology
Cons: stress and trying to relate to each customer
A typical day at Office Depot was stressful no lie. Some customers would come in and they knew exactly they needed or wanted. Others came in very curious asking billion of questions. I learned that with every customer it is a different need and there is always a solution to there problems. The customers never wanted anything that would break there pockets – more... they either wanted to know what was on sale or where the clearance area were. The management at Office Depot wasn't bad people at all they had very strong and encouraging saling routes. They was smiled and moved as fast as they could. My co-workers at OD are very different I must all of them had different stories we never talked liked that but when we did it was either a joke or some type of humor to make you or the customer laugh. The hardest part of the job was upselling no matter what was on sale it could be a 13 cent folder some customers didn't want to spend that extra to increase the sales per person or the average ticket item. The most enjoyable part of the job was either a tech depot service or helping someone with furniture and ordering items for people to help them save money when the order was over fifty dollars. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Services
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), Houston, TXNovember 17, 2014
Typical work day is taking care of customer and offering excellent customer service
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Executive
Sales Executive (Former Employee), Atlanta, GANovember 17, 2014
Cons: fast pace, short breaks, healthcare
•Typical day-to-day as a Sales Executive includes will service, sell and manage for the company for all stores in the district related technologies, and facilities.
•Provide sales tactics for representatives and training courses for new hires.
•New business development and account management.
•On site troubleshooting computers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent customer service environment with a strong sales culture
Store Operations Manager (Current Employee), Guaynabo, PRNovember 16, 2014
In charge of the In Store Customer Experience program in which we treat every customer personal and purchasing needs.

Able to handle the opening and closing of the store including the daily deposits and balance of the cash registers and safe deposit.

Implementing the planograms changes, receiving merchandise thru warehouse delivery and maintaining – more... delivery records for our corporate customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail
Customer Service (Former Employee), Wichita Falls, TXNovember 15, 2014
The work day went by fast and was over all not too bad. The lunch breaks were only thirty minutes and usually had to be taken an hour after arrival. The hardest part of my job was dealing with rude customers but that is any job and when handled the right way can be resolved. I worked well with my coworkers and enjoyed working there most days.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Office Supply Company
Store Manager (Former Employee), San Jose, CANovember 14, 2014
Overall a company that is all about the customers. I really enjoyed the program that was in place to bring customer service to the next level. Office Depot has great learning programs to help advance each associate to their full potential.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A treat for the Geek.
Technical Specialist (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCNovember 14, 2014
Pros: plenty of things to learn in the technical world, and a lot of self managment.
Cons: short breaks.
A lot of interesting people work here. Very nice and neat. Everything is structured very well, and the management is awesome.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exelet company
Customer service (Former Employee), Houston, TXNovember 13, 2014
office depot, is a very calm and very good company, we could help customers with them inquiries,, about all products offers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical day
Department Manager (Former Employee), Columbia, SCNovember 12, 2014
Pros: customers and employees
Cons: late nights and early mornings
I would come in balance money, ensure registers are put out. Manage all employees, maintain daily tasks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bonus for being employee of the month
CSR (Former Employee), Bakersfield, CANovember 12, 2014
I learned what ink went with what computer, different types of printer paper how to operate a computer etc. My coworkers are always amazing at any job. The hardest part was figuring out in the begining all the little details that seemed overwhelming at the time and at the end were extremely easy. The most enjoyable part of the job was that not only – more... did i do cashering i was also allowed on the floor to stock my day went by so much faster – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Customer Service Manager for Sales Support (Former Employee), Boca Raton, FLNovember 12, 2014
Overall this is a fine company to work for. I found my managers and VP's open and honest.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fast pased work place
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee), Newville, PANovember 12, 2014
Pros: futhered my knowledge of warehousing
Cons: lack of communication
Productive fast pased work place, picked, packed, and shipped orders,perform inventory counts,Q/A work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You don't know what you've got 'til it's gone...
Marketing Supervisor (Former Employee), Delray Beach, FLNovember 12, 2014
Pros: great brand, great benefits, solid advancement potential
Cons: you never know when your group might be the one downsized that year
I began working for Office Depot in 1996, right when it was rumored to be merging with Staples. That fell thru, but the company went on to grow, and my career became a part of that growth. I was welcome to transition from the call center to the advertising department as a copywriter, then advanced to senior, team lead and ultimately a supervisor of – more... copy, graphics and coordination. I only left because I was offered a more lucrative opportunity, but I think I would have continued to have advanced had I stayed. There's no telling. They've had several RIFs since, and nothing lasts forever. But it was a tremendous foundation from which to develop my marketing career, and some of the people I worked with will remain my friends for life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting
TECH DEPARTMENT ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Nicholasville KYNovember 11, 2014
There was never a typical day at work and that's what i loved about it you never knew what was going to happen from one day to the next
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work environment
Software QA Tester (Former Employee), Boca Raton, FLNovember 11, 2014
A big part of my day is dealing with bug reports - making sure they have enough detail for developers to understand, going back to users with workarounds or questions about browsers, setup etc. Finally making sure bugs reports have the right priority and adding them in to the work backlog (yep, we're talking agile here).

Next priority is making sure – more... I know what's coming up, talking to the product managers, tech leads (lead developers), designers and being part of acceptance criteria (requirements) creation. Using this info to write tests plans before development is complete.

Next up its releases, I make sure all releases are passing our release acceptance criteria (currently a set of tests). Sometimes I test them but other times I've worked with the developers so they know what to test. New features are tested (and earlier I would have written a test plan).

Strategy gets squeezed in when there is time - reviewing how tools are working for us, reading books, blogs, STC etc. Coming up with new ideas to make things faster and less buggy – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
welcome to Purgatory
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), oklahoma city, edmondNovember 10, 2014
Pros: none... no 1 single thing to say that's good.. the regular employees are great though
Cons: lucifer himself gives better benefits and treats you better
the worst job you could ever imagine.. now multiply that by 1000 and that's Office Depot. I was the assistant manager for almost a year and then they restructured the company and did away with "assistant managers" and they cancelled overtime ($7,000 they took instantly away from me! and the district manager said "I understand if you need to get another – more... part time job to supplement the lost income!) then made me an associate manager.. then 3 months ago they brought back the assistant manager position and didn't give the old assistant managers their title back or overtime. The only good thing about the job was after you worked you 40 hrs, that was it. I worked every single holiday and almost every single weekend.. not family friendly.. no advancement opportunity.. and they have to work 8am-9pm on thanksgiving... your soul will be sucked into a deep dark hole that will never see the light unless you quit and get another job... needless to say- I quit.. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT FAST PACED ENVIRONMENT TO WORK IN
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Inglewood, CANovember 10, 2014
GOOD MUSIC AND NICE CLOTHES VERY ENTERGETIC EMPLOYEES, I LEARNED ALOT ABOUT PEOPLES FASHION ,MY CO WORKERS WERE VERY NICE.THE HARDEST PART WAS PICKING UP BEHIND PEOPLE BUT IT WAS WORTH IT AND WORKED OUT WONDERFUL, THE MOST ENJOYABLE PART IS ENTERACTING WITH CUSTOMERS
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had potential to be a great work environment.
Lead Computer Sales and Technician (Former Employee), Santa Maria, CANovember 10, 2014
Pros: employee discount
Cons: the payscale
Was a good place to learn and get some real hands on training when dealing with customers and meeting their needs face to face.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I wouldn't recommend it.
Senior Sales Consultant- Print Services (Current Employee), Colorado Springs, CONovember 10, 2014
Pros: none.
Cons: low pay, terrible hours (also very low for part timers), unreasonable management, lack of structure
I am the only person in my store that has lasted this long. I have been there through three store managers, 13 department managers and have watched the staff turn over completely at least 4 times. It is not uncommon to have 2 or more people walk out in a week. People calling in sick or simply not showing up at all is almost a daily occurrence.
At the – more... front end (where I work), you almost never get help. You are expected to do all of the cashiering, answer all phones, greet customers (and announce their whereabouts over the radio ... this is called Sales Leading), take in and do all of the copy and print jobs. When there are more than 3 people in line, or when a single customer is going to require more than 3 minutes of your time, you are supposed to call for a "Flex up". You can CALL for a flex up as often as you'd like, but chances of actually getting one depends on who is working that day. The managers sit in the office a majority of the time and, quite often, they remove their radios, so when you announce that they have a phone call or that a customer needs manager assistance, there is a good chance that no one will hear you. When they DO hear you, they almost never acknowledge that they heard you. Although I always answer the phone on the first or second ring, customers are often left on hold until they hang up because whoever was supposed to take the call never bothers to pick it up. This is most common in the management staff.
The complete lack of customer service in the store is appalling. There are no hard and fast rules to be followed. For instance: a customer wants to pay for an order over the phone using a credit card. The WRITTEN company policy is that we don't do that. Ever. That works until the first time a customer calls in a complaint. Then suddenly company policy goes out the window. Or print orders that have been emailed in. Company policy states that we aren't to print them until the customer comes in and approves a proof and pays for the job. Our District Manager decided that we should print them as soon as the email shows up. (At one point, we were told that we should call the customer and ask them if they actually intended to show up to pick up the order). Two of the managers in my store say we have to do it that way. One of the managers in my store says that he doesn't care WHAT our DM says, we should follow company policy. The customers get treated differently depending on who is managing (which makes me look like a jerk to the customer, because the job I could do for them on Monday I suddenly can't do for them on Tuesday).
Over all this is the worst run retail store I have ever had the displeasure of working for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay is the Only Good Thing
Store Manager (Current Employee), GeorgiaNovember 10, 2014
Pros: good pay if you're already in
Cons: do not care about worklife balance, not open to feedback
Luckily became a store manager when pay was still good. Now the minimum for a store manager is significantly less and would not be worth the amount of stress they put on you. Cut hours -but let's make simple things more difficult to do, have this set by xx/xx but product and displayers two weeks late, train train train but while you're the only sales – more... person on the floor as the manager.. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Office Depot

Office Depot, Inc. is a global supplier of office products and services. The Company is organized into three business segments: – Read more