Find companies:
Office Depot
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,792 reviews

Office Depot Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Sales associate (Current Employee), Woodland Hills, CADecember 23, 2014
they are very nice and helpful. it was a blast every day at work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service Representative
Customer Specialist (Former Employee), Lake Worth, FlDecember 22, 2014
Great and friendly environment, great people. Very fast paced and flexible area.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting place to work
Customer Service, Computer Tech (Current Employee), Panama City, FLDecember 18, 2014
Pros: good working conditions
Cons: communication gaps
Learning new technology, solutions to customer problems, chance for advancement to learn about new products and train new employees. Management is willing to help you and give you the chance for awards such as employee of the month. the most enjoyable part of the job is meeting new people and networking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part-time Retail
Sales Consultant (Current Employee), Lombard, ILDecember 17, 2014
A typical day is 4-8 hours, but schedules are highly sporadic.
Pay is not great.
Management is currently working through some bumps and wrinkles.
Co-workers range from highly competent to struggling newcomers. The more new employees, the more issues and headaches with customers.
The hardest part of the job is keeping cool with limited staff and resources, – more... especially around holidays and back to school.
The assets of the job are flexibility in hours and cross-training with different tasks and skills. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Relaxed Atmosphere
Technology and Sales Associate (Former Employee), Fort Smith, ARDecember 17, 2014
Pros: relaxed and easy
Cons: minimum wage retail, requires flexible schedule
Good job; Pay was minimum wage, but the job was easy to do and very relaxed..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very great place to work
Customer Service specialist (Former Employee), Newport News, VADecember 17, 2014
I've worked their every summer. They are a very great group to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced - Lots to learn!
Sr. Manager (Current Employee), Boca Raton, FLDecember 16, 2014
I've learned a lot during my time at Office Depot to include Process Improvement, Project Management and various Marketing Strategies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and High Pressure Environment
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee), Dallas, TXDecember 16, 2014
Pros: free lunches every once an while. work closely with your employers, (so you'll get to know thwm pretty well very fast).
Cons: short breaks, varying schedules, very little room for advancement, very difficult to gain full-time employment.
I was a customer service specialist that represented the company while communicating with its customers, whether face-to-face, over the telephone, over the Internet or through another method. Also referred to as a customer service representative, I performed a broad range of tasks to meet the need of the company's clients. For example, I provided support – more... for the company's products and services, take order requests, answer questions, resolve complaints and even made sales. Customers often viewed me as the eyes, ears, face and voice of the company. My primary job duties were to often handle complaints, explain the company's policies, and provide information about products and services. I also handled cashier responsibilities, (incoming money, area cleanliness, met with each customer, first and last to represent the company when talking to the customer). All in all it's a high pressure environment in which you need to always be thinking of a way to assist the customer, employer, and co-workers in any way imaginable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Department Manager (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLDecember 15, 2014
I worked for Office Depot for over 23 years. I started out as a cashier and moved up to management. I worked with a lot of great people. Over the years, I learned all kinds of things as Office Depot is about office supplies, technology and copy and print. Customers and customer service are the most important part of Office Depot. Training is on-going – more... and an everyday process. In my years, I worked with all types of personalities. Some great and some not so great. I enjoyed my job to the fullest even when I had deadlines to meet. My hours varied from short days to some 12 hour days. I enjoyed working with the public. Building a rapport with your customers is crucial as they become returning customers. Office Depot is about team work. I had some great co-workers and met some amazing people. The long days and responsibilities were hard, but the customers and my co-workers made my days great. I enjoyed the work that I did. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast pace.
Department Manager (Former Employee), Manhattan Beach, CADecember 14, 2014
Pros: continuous changes and challenges.
Making sure store was stocked and providing excellent customer service was anjoyable. The atmosphere was very professional and providing great customer service was upmost important.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company is a mess
Supervisor (Current Employee), San Francisco, CADecember 13, 2014
Do not work here.
Working in retail will lower your IQ and vocabulary. Need I say more?
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, Friendly and Good Managers
IT Specialist / Sales (Current Employee), Lansdowne, MDDecember 11, 2014
Pros: friendly environment
Cons: no healthcare
Start your day out with freight and then restock outs. Sell some PC's with protection plans and then close the day with some computer service sales. I learned to deal with retail customers, not always the nicest but worth the experience to keep your head in a less than optimal situation, Co-workers aren't always the most reliable but at the end of the – more... day the job got done. Management was good most days but you always have one bad apple that can ruin your day. Hardest part of my job was keeping my head when a customer was being rude or lieing. The best part of my job was the people I worked with, friendly and helpful and we worked as a team to get the job done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice and friendly environment
Design & Print Associate present-2008 (Current Employee), Monroe, LADecember 10, 2014
overall office depot is a great place to work
there are good and bad days
my managers are awesome, my coworkers are ok
the hardest part of my job is when others dont complete their duties
the most enjoyable part of my job would be seeing my customers satisfied with the work I've done for them
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Nut to Crack
Manager (Former Employee), Denver, CODecember 10, 2014
Cons: not sustainable
Stores closing down and constant layoffs. Not an ideal place for employment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sometimes a fun place to work in.
Retail Sales Associate (Current Employee), Aurora, CODecember 9, 2014
Have had a lot of problems with office depot lately, a lot of hours have been cut.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn
Strategic Routing Analyst (Former Employee), Norcross, GADecember 9, 2014
Office Depot was a great place to build many skills needed to be successful in any work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with a high paced environment
Copy and Print Specialist (Former Employee), Texarkana, TXDecember 9, 2014
Pros: computer experience, learning experience, customer experiences
On a typical work day I encountered at least 20 customers that had jobs ranging from simplistic to difficult. I learned that there are many kinds of people in the world and a lot of them wait until last minute to do things that are very important, It was my job to help them succeed to get this task accomplished in a short amount of time. My co-workers – more... were great, everyone got along and helped out in each department when necessary. The hardest part of my job had to be the fact that I did not receive training in the department in which I worked, it was a learn as you go environment, which in the long run made me be able to memorize and do my job my own way. The most enjoyable part of my job would have had to have been the interpersonal relationship/bond that I earned with my customers, as well as the computer experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful place to work
Warehouse Laborer (Former Employee), Fremont, CADecember 8, 2014
Pros: wonderful co workers
Cons: there is none
i love working at this place to bad it was threw a temp agency the people i work with were nice , fun an out going would have love to have been a full time job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good job. Fun people to work with. Good customer relations
Department Manager (Former Employee), Tucson, AZDecember 8, 2014
Pros: company functions (potlucks, free lunches, employee celebrations).
Cons: angry and unreasonable customers, non-standard working hours.
Office Depot was a good company to work for. Merged with Office Max which caused Office Depot policy out the window. Store closures abundant across the country caused a lot of stress in the way we were used to doing business. Even with these closures, employees continued to be very professional even though we were selected to close. Typical day included – more... going in processing inventory (receiving trucks, sorting inventory, getting inventory to sales floor; a process that took place every other day). Everyone I worked with was pleasant to work for/with. Hardest part as a manager was dealing with employee personal issues (babysitting coverage to spousal restraining orders). Released after I became how much fellow employees depend on you as manager. Dealing with customer issues was the hardest part of the job. Especially issues concerning difficult customers. Challenging yes, but part of the job I liked. If you can make a person happy with an issue you can control, all the better. Drawback to Retail job was the irradic hours and lack of schedule normalcy. Ones schedule changed from week to week (employee or manager). a person had to be very precise when schedule plans outside of work. I am single so no problem, very flexible schedule. If you were a parent (80% of our workforce) it was a nightmare. Luckily, when I became the Operations Manager my schedule normalized. My day would start around 6am or 5am. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Eary Morning Stocking (Current Employee), Greenwood, INDecember 8, 2014
Pros: free lunch if you made your goals for a month
Daily job was unpacking pallets and putting items on U-boats to go to the floor and restocking shelf.
Staff members where high school and college students, that had a hard time taking order or suggestions.
Management was the best I ever hard, they were friendly and they understood your needs and working 4 hour a day they allow me flexibility in my work – more... schedule in the summer time.
Hardest part of the job was putting stock up on a pallet rack 8 feet in the air using a ladder. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Office Depot

Office Depot, Inc. is a global supplier of office products and services. The Company is organized into three business segments: – Read more