Find companies:
OfficeMax
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,333 reviews

OfficeMax Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail
Operations Supervisor (Current Employee), Gainesville, GAOctober 23, 2014
Pros: learn new skills
Cons: angry customers
Great place to get out of comfort zone and grow. Learned a lot about people and business and myself.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Operations Manager (Former Employee), Oxford, ALOctober 23, 2014
I was well underpaid for my position and my experience!!There were some positives but more negatives
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Memorable Customer Service
Sales Specialist Mgr (Former Employee), Burbank, ILOctober 22, 2014
Pros: flexible
Cons: not much pay
A typical workday would encompass managing the sales associates by offering coaching and guidance. I would also be responsible settling customer satisfaction issues as well as maintaining the daily read--company sales goals. The most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with the customers. In terms of the most difficult or challenging part of the – more... job, I would have to say that with every potential negative experience, I learned valuable lessons for the future. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
retail
Print Document Services Supervisor (Former Employee), Elizabeth City, NCOctober 21, 2014
Pros: beneifit
Cons: lunch 30mins
the print services, graphics and orders, helping customers find what suites them best on paper
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not many job advancements
Tech Specialist (Former Employee), Davis, CAOctober 20, 2014
work was more than actual pay,met great customers from all businesses of life
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Store Manager (Current Employee), Onalaska, WIOctober 19, 2014
Pros: good place to work
Very good Company to work for. I have enjoyed my time @ OfficeMax very much.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to work for had good products
Store Manager (Former Employee), tucsonOctober 18, 2014
some of the upper management in district and above offices had very poor leadership skills. The company lost a lot of good people because of turnover
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Fun place to work
Sales Consultant (Current Employee), Sacramento, CAOctober 15, 2014
Pros: employee appreciation, flexible schedule
Cons: doesn't pay enough as a starting wage
This is a good job. You get to learn a lot about new technology, interact with customers all day and have the chance to learn a lot of new skills. The pay is good and it is a great place to learn skills that can help you reach your goals and move forward in your life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
Corporate Account Manager (Former Employee), Fresno, CAOctober 15, 2014
Although it can be stressful..overall loved it. The best part is the flexible schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun team-based work environment
Print Department Supervisor (Former Employee), Des Moines, IowaOctober 14, 2014
Pros: (2) 10 minute breaks in an 8 hour shift, friendly/fun management staff
Cons: overworked and understaffed, pulling each staff member in too many directions
The hardest part of the job at OfficeMax was learning to delegate duties while training my staff to perform well under tight deadlines.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive atmosphere
Sales Associate (Former Employee), New Britain, CTOctober 14, 2014
Typical day of work involved customer interactions, product demonstrations, financial transactions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
E-Commerce Support (Former Employee), Norman, OKOctober 13, 2014
Pros: fun work environment
Cons: n/a
Best career experience I will probably ever have. Awsome group of people. All the training and guidance you could ever ask for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Local Truck Driver (Former Employee), suwanee,ga.October 13, 2014
Pros: independent
typical day fun, delivering learned the city,very nice,get along very well ,hardest part of the job was taking some office desk up stairs enjoyable was riding around the city all day
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working For Retail
Sales Associate/Sales Consultant (Former Employee), Houston, TXOctober 12, 2014
I learned quite a few things that would hopefully help me in any fields that I chose to be in. Typical day at work was doing inventory checks, making sure everything was nice and neat, nothing that was out of place, making sure the register were ready to check out, making sure the front end were clean, making sure the copiers were full of paper, making – more... sure the orders were done. The hardest part of the job were that dealing with rude customer who treated you like you were below them, having people in corporate office thinking whatever they do or come up with can really work, having to push sales onto people that really cant afford it. Doing manager duties but not getting paid for it or the title. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Business Development Manager (Former Employee), Norman, OKOctober 10, 2014
Pros: relaxed environment, monday thru friday schedule, off all holidays
Cons: healthcare program could have been improved
Very rewarding. Business/casual environment. Continued product and systems training offered. Enjoyed the team atmosphere. Challenging due to competitive market.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great learning experience
Sales Consultant (Current Employee), Bakersfield, CAOctober 6, 2014
A great place to interact with customers. If you wish need help in a certain area, management takes the time to assist you. It might get busy and it has it stressful moments but, as a team, we always pull through.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NOT A GOOD PLACE TO WORK
PRINTING SPECIALIST (Former Employee), Honolulu, HIOctober 5, 2014
COMPANY HAVE TO MANY RULES THAT DON'T MAKE SINCE. MANAGEMENT S BY-FUNCTIAL.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office Max Review
Sales Consultant (Current Employee), Pittsburgh PaOctober 5, 2014
Pros: working, meeting new people
Cons: healthcare, hours, poor music choices
A typical day includes helping customers find what they need in the store, stocking and or restocking aisles in the store. Management is very good. I have learned the procedures of the store, and policies I must abide by. I believe the hardest part of the job is listening to the music played in the store. The most enjoyable part of the store is working – more... with other co-workers in the store who are down to earth as I am. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Senior Sales Consultant (Current Employee), Jacksonville, NCOctober 3, 2014
Days consist of greeting customers and identifying their shopping needs. The goal is to meet the needs of the customer and sell them the correct product or service to meet their individual needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's ok. Not the best but certainly not the worst
Sales Associate (Current Employee), TuscaloosaOctober 2, 2014
its and good place to work while you're in school which is what I did. Co-workers are easy to get along with, the work is not hard but you don't get paid much. I started off at min. wage ( which is understandable) but I have been there for 3 years and only moved up 60 cents.....

1 2 3 4 5

About OfficeMax

This company is taking the office supply business to the max. OfficeMax is the #3 office products retailer in North America (far – Read more