Find companies:
OfficeMax
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,205 reviews

OfficeMax Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow paced environment but fun
Technology Supervisor (Former Employee), Tupelo, MSJuly 22, 2014
it was a fun steady job, slow paced and the repeat customers are always fun. The advancement is there but it just takes time. Management is good, and the environment was very clean and neat.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good family feel
Sales Supervisor (Former Employee), Columbus, INJuly 22, 2014
go in work on a few assigned task. learned a lot about customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, outgoing place
Cashier/customer service (Former Employee), massachusettsJuly 22, 2014
co-workers were very polite and greeted the customers. very great environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Front-end sales associate (Former Employee), Stroudsburg, PA/Wilkes Barre PAJuly 22, 2014
Pros: flexable scheduling, great managers
Cons: distance to drive
Typical work day is to wait on customers, provide service and smile.
I learned a great deal about electronics and other business supplies.
Training given by managers is effective and easy to learn. Co-workers were usually friendly and would help when assistance was needed.
Hardest part of the job was doing planograms for product display.
The most enjoyable – more... part was assisting customers and assuring they had their needs met. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment with continuously growing customer base and excellent customer service.
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), Brooklyn, NYJuly 21, 2014
A typical day consists of analyzing previous days sales and setting daily sales goals for my team. Coaching team to meet daily goals and provide excellent service. Oversaw operational side of the store. Ensured the store was logistically perfect in all aspects. Recruited prospective employers through different avenues such as; online job postings, recruitment – more... in store and working with third party agencies. Responsible for creating weekly schedules and managing payroll budgets. The most enjoyable part of my job is seeing my team and store succeed while seeing continuous development of associates. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best part was having the ability to work with the blind on the job and learn somethings from them.
Staff Member (Former Employee), Austin, TexasJuly 21, 2014
A typical day consisted of stocking restocking making sales and promoting our go green efforts by re-using ink cartridges. My co workers made the day a breeze management was tough but to teach us and push us to our best!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job. Alot of politics
Sales Specialist/ Key Carrying Supervisor (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, COJuly 19, 2014
It's been a while since I worked there but when I was there it was a decent place to work. The management knew what they were doing, they hired people that knew what they were doing, there was room for advancement and you could always grow yourself. There was just always way too much politics
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gain excellent communication skills
Cashier (Former Employee), Queens, NYJuly 18, 2014
I have learned to socialize with people of diverse background each day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Impress Associate (Former Employee), Victor, NYJuly 16, 2014
Pros: always learning something new
Cons: super fast paced work environment
My job was to help the customers and refill and replace ink and paper in the printers, also to make sure they were up and working properly. At the end of the night I counted the registers, vacuumed and made sure everything was clean before leaving for the night. I learned how to troubleshoot different pieces of equipment and how to work quickly and – more... productively to get the most possible done in a days work. The hardest part was learning how to do everything because there was so much to learn. The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing the reaction of people when you were done producing their products. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy work
Operations Supervisor (Current Employee), Papillion, NEJuly 16, 2014
A lot of what you do is busy work, it keeps you busy. You clean, help customers, run carts, work in the printing department, and so much more.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i great place to work with a shift that works well together
Lead Distribution Specialist (Current Employee), Elkridge, MDJuly 16, 2014
A typical day is going in, seeing what needs to be done, loading trucks and unloading trailers. I learned a lot in the 15 years I have been with the company. I started on third shift, worked it for 7 years then transferred to first shift where I stocked shelves and unloaded trailers. Then I applied for the lead role on third shift where I have been – more... so far. I enjoy working with my co-workers they are like family to me. Nothing really hard about my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Atmosphere
Store Associate / Cashier (Former Employee), lebanon, tnJuly 15, 2014
I enjoyed working at Office Max. Although working in the high time of getting things ready for school it was always a great atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the hardest part of the job
QA Tester - IS (Former Employee), Naperville, ILJuly 15, 2014
As my first job, working in Agile was tough. However I appreciate the experience. I have gained lot of knowledge.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never talk to HR about what is going on with management and employees
Impress Associate (Former Employee), Idaho Falls, IDJuly 15, 2014
Pros: creating things for people and seeing them happy
Cons: disrespect and doing everyone elses work
Typical day was printing things for customers, creating documents or business cards. Basic customer service, cleaning my area, stocking shelves and paper choices and training the other employees how to run the machines.

I learned a lot about Photo Shop and the creative side of marketing or advertising

Management had problem with downing their employees – more... and placing blame on everyone other than themselves. They also will fire you for telling HR the disrespectful way they are treating you, they will also have you sign a paper about you leaving the company then they will put the reason as termination instead of quit and if you try to fight them on changing it they will send you a 24 page document to sign stating that you will not ever apply to their company or any of their other companies for the rest of your life and that you are not allowed to talk to anyone about things that went on while employed with them.

Co-Workers were lazy with one or two exceptions, pushy, and more worried about text messages then helping their customers.

Hardest part was having to push warranties and insurances to customers that had no interest in them what so ever

Enjoyable part was being able to create things for my customers and seeing their delight and surprise at the work that was done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun enviroment
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTJuly 15, 2014
I was able to learn about cashiering customer service there. I learned that I love sales. It just couldn't pay enough for me, while I was going to college.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and electronic based job
Customer service representative (Former Employee), Jonesboro, ARJuly 11, 2014
Pros: great benefits and great workplace
Cons: pay
Returns
Cashiering
Customer service
Co workers are great
Slow paced work place a lot of things get done
Busiest time is around when school starts back
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meh.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Marshfield, WIJuly 10, 2014
It was a job. Slow most of the day. Basic experience. Management was ok. Hardest part was finding something to do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy but fun
Import Specialist I (Current Employee), Naperville, ILJuly 10, 2014
Pros: free lunch, employee appreciation day
Cons: dental and vision
Processing Import orders weekly.Collaborating with planners, merchants, International and domestic vendors, 3PL, freight carriers , DCs to resolve any PO/shipment delay. Learned a lot from all cross functional depts. The people at work are very supportive and very helpful and makes the job fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i loved working at office max
Supervisor (Former Employee), Gresham, ORJuly 10, 2014
Pros: good working environment
good i loved working there only reason i quit my store close down i stayed to the end helping pack up cleaning i would have tried to go to another store but i had a brokrn foot still worked rolling on an office chayr to make sure my job was done
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Workplace with like-minded co-workers
Store Associate/ Customer Service Rep (Current Employee), Matteson, ILJuly 9, 2014
Love working with like minded co-workers.
Managers were supportive of their team.

1 2 3 4 5

About OfficeMax

This company is taking the office supply business to the max. OfficeMax is the #3 office products retailer in North America (far – Read more