Find companies:
OfficeMax
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,327 reviews

OfficeMax Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Store Manager (Current Employee), Onalaska, WIOctober 19, 2014
Pros: good place to work
Very good Company to work for. I have enjoyed my time @ OfficeMax very much.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to work for had good products
Store Manager (Former Employee), tucsonOctober 18, 2014
some of the upper management in district and above offices had very poor leadership skills. The company lost a lot of good people because of turnover
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Fun place to work
Sales Consultant (Current Employee), Sacramento, CAOctober 15, 2014
Pros: employee appreciation, flexible schedule
Cons: doesn't pay enough as a starting wage
This is a good job. You get to learn a lot about new technology, interact with customers all day and have the chance to learn a lot of new skills. The pay is good and it is a great place to learn skills that can help you reach your goals and move forward in your life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
Corporate Account Manager (Former Employee), Fresno, CAOctober 15, 2014
Although it can be stressful..overall loved it. The best part is the flexible schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun team-based work environment
Print Department Supervisor (Former Employee), Des Moines, IowaOctober 14, 2014
Pros: (2) 10 minute breaks in an 8 hour shift, friendly/fun management staff
Cons: overworked and understaffed, pulling each staff member in too many directions
The hardest part of the job at OfficeMax was learning to delegate duties while training my staff to perform well under tight deadlines.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive atmosphere
Sales Associate (Former Employee), New Britain, CTOctober 14, 2014
Typical day of work involved customer interactions, product demonstrations, financial transactions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
E-Commerce Support (Former Employee), Norman, OKOctober 13, 2014
Pros: fun work environment
Cons: n/a
Best career experience I will probably ever have. Awsome group of people. All the training and guidance you could ever ask for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Local Truck Driver (Former Employee), suwanee,ga.October 13, 2014
Pros: independent
typical day fun, delivering learned the city,very nice,get along very well ,hardest part of the job was taking some office desk up stairs enjoyable was riding around the city all day
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working For Retail
Sales Associate/Sales Consultant (Former Employee), Houston, TXOctober 12, 2014
I learned quite a few things that would hopefully help me in any fields that I chose to be in. Typical day at work was doing inventory checks, making sure everything was nice and neat, nothing that was out of place, making sure the register were ready to check out, making sure the front end were clean, making sure the copiers were full of paper, making – more... sure the orders were done. The hardest part of the job were that dealing with rude customer who treated you like you were below them, having people in corporate office thinking whatever they do or come up with can really work, having to push sales onto people that really cant afford it. Doing manager duties but not getting paid for it or the title. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Business Development Manager (Former Employee), Norman, OKOctober 10, 2014
Pros: relaxed environment, monday thru friday schedule, off all holidays
Cons: healthcare program could have been improved
Very rewarding. Business/casual environment. Continued product and systems training offered. Enjoyed the team atmosphere. Challenging due to competitive market.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great learning experience
Sales Consultant (Current Employee), Bakersfield, CAOctober 6, 2014
A great place to interact with customers. If you wish need help in a certain area, management takes the time to assist you. It might get busy and it has it stressful moments but, as a team, we always pull through.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NOT A GOOD PLACE TO WORK
PRINTING SPECIALIST (Former Employee), Honolulu, HIOctober 5, 2014
COMPANY HAVE TO MANY RULES THAT DON'T MAKE SINCE. MANAGEMENT S BY-FUNCTIAL.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office Max Review
Sales Consultant (Current Employee), Pittsburgh PaOctober 5, 2014
Pros: working, meeting new people
Cons: healthcare, hours, poor music choices
A typical day includes helping customers find what they need in the store, stocking and or restocking aisles in the store. Management is very good. I have learned the procedures of the store, and policies I must abide by. I believe the hardest part of the job is listening to the music played in the store. The most enjoyable part of the store is working – more... with other co-workers in the store who are down to earth as I am. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Senior Sales Consultant (Current Employee), Jacksonville, NCOctober 3, 2014
Days consist of greeting customers and identifying their shopping needs. The goal is to meet the needs of the customer and sell them the correct product or service to meet their individual needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's ok. Not the best but certainly not the worst
Sales Associate (Current Employee), TuscaloosaOctober 2, 2014
its and good place to work while you're in school which is what I did. Co-workers are easy to get along with, the work is not hard but you don't get paid much. I started off at min. wage ( which is understandable) but I have been there for 3 years and only moved up 60 cents.....
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work/Life balance and Culture
Associate Category Manager (Former Employee), Naperville, ILOctober 1, 2014
Officemax had a great culture and there were always team building activities, etc. I am not sure how it will go now that they are merging with Depot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sixteen years of growth with the company.
Logistics clerk (Current Employee), Newnan, GAOctober 1, 2014
Pros: meeting all differnet sorts of people
Cons: dealing with all sorts of temperments
While at Office Max I have had several positions there. After the store opened and I changed to part time as a cashier and quickly moved on to Admin assistant. I was responsible for all workings in the cash office as well as all human resources. Ordering of cash and balance of safe. I later was promoted to Operations Supervisor. I continued my admin – more... duties as well as maintaining a smoothly run front end. After restructuring within the company I moved to my position today as a Logistic clerk. Daily I do all sign changes, process all damage and destroy merchandise. Send out all return to vendor items, I continue with some cash office responsibilities, and run a register as needed. My career with Office Max as been long and joyful. I've been part time even with all the requirements of my job. Its been an exciting time working my crew and am sorry to see our store close. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slightly Better Than Average Retail Job
Pre-Press Specialist / Senior Sales Consultant (Former Employee), Stafford, TXSeptember 30, 2014
Pros: good benefits, 401k, good health package
I took this job because it paid better than most and it has excellent benefits. However the job is a very high stress job with very tight deadlines. It is a good place to work if you are young but not so good of a place for the elderly. The staff is a 50/50 some are good and friendly others you sometimes ask why are they working here. In the end of – more... the day it’s a better than average retail job but its retail none the less. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly enviroment to work with
Sales Consultant (Current Employee), Lansdale, PASeptember 30, 2014
They have very flexible schedule which works with school or college. Everyone is friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work, interact with customers
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Great Falls, MTSeptember 28, 2014
Pros: great work environment
Cons: limited hours at times and pay increases
I really enjoyed officemax. I got to interact with a variety of customers and sell some pretty high end merchandise including computers and tablets. I learned more about things i already knew about like laptop computers and printers. The management were very professional/supportive as were the co-workers. The hardest part of the job was actually the – more... best part; sales add-ons.
Real team environment. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About OfficeMax

This company is taking the office supply business to the max. OfficeMax is the #3 office products retailer in North America (far – Read more