Find companies:
OfficeMax
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,363 reviews

OfficeMax Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, and expanding experience for my skills.
Store Sales Consultant (Former Employee), Mckinney, TXNovember 20, 2014
Pros: good pay, fun, but professional environment
Cons: tough hours to work while at school
On a typical I would assist customers throughout the entire store find their items, or find better suited items to their needs. I would maintain and gain customer relations to find their needs while maintaining productive, and efficient customer service. I also would fix, and clean up computers in the Tech Department of the store. This job included – more... the wiping of all Malware on a computer as well as Trojans, and Viruses.
To me their was no aspect of this job I would dignify as difficult, or troubling. Every aspect of my job was enjoyable, and my most enjoyable part would have to be making a frustrated customer happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great place too work
Operations Supervisor (Former Employee), Juneau, AKNovember 19, 2014
Pros: customers
Cons: management
My duties stared with counting safe a loading registers then I would do my Out Of Stock scan brief employees on their goals and review the Sales Ad. Management wasn't as reliable as I would have liked and not as supportive as needed I was usually working in the stockroom n lifting over 2-3 thousand pounds alone. I was also in control of Negative On – more... Hands, Corporate Recalls and Damaged and Destroy. My experience was Great but wish management was more supportive. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent stepping stone for anyone seeking customer service experience.
LEAD SALES CONSULTANT (Current Employee), IllinoisNovember 19, 2014
Pros: benefits, teamwork, location, technical knowledge, management
Cons: salary, internal disputes, leadership changes
Most days at OfficeMax consisted of the same routine: complete planograms, assist customers with a variety of needs, and solve technical issues with damaged or infected PCs. As one of the management team, my duties and responsibilities eclipsed that of an associate. Not only did I perform all of the tasks listed above, my daily tasks included managing – more... others, solving complex problems with customer or PC issues, and ensuring the overall operations of the store remained intact. Though beneficial in the sense that this job teaches calm and collected management skills in a fast paced environment, it ultimately offered very little in the realm of personal advancement. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company to work for.
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), St. Louis, MONovember 16, 2014
Pros: training the asscoiates
Cons: base pay
A good company to work for, no issues. A lot different from previous management roles where I am the solely responsible for sales and services.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun place to work at
Financial Services Representative - Collections (Current Employee), Ottawa ILNovember 16, 2014
Pros: convenient
I was a contractor after Office Depot bought OfficeMax. Everyone was easy to work with and quite knowledgeable. Their systems were a bit antiquated but they got the job done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a pretty good part-time job
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Mechanicsville VaNovember 15, 2014
Good part-time job
Worked along with my busy schedual while in school
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big change in careers
Receiving Manager (Former Employee), Titusville, FLNovember 15, 2014
Ordering, superviseing, and recieving merchandise, heavy lifting and lift operations
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun work environment that specializes in costumer service.
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), Cicero, ILNovember 14, 2014
Pros: excellent team members
Cons: majority of stores are in liquidation
During my shift at Officemax, I not only delegate tasks amongst associates, but I make sure that everything is being done efficiently with the smallest cost affected methods. Everyday is a challenge. Whether its a financial problem that is in need of an analyzation, or a internal problem involving guests, everyday is an experience to build knowledge – more... and expertise. However, as much as I love my job, unfortunately, there is cons. Officemax and Office depot have merged. Therefore, many stores have closed and many workers have become unemployed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Customer Service Advocate (Former Employee), Ottawa, ILNovember 14, 2014
Pros: great hours, vacation time
Cons: merger took jobs to india
OfficeMax was a great place to work. The most enjoyable part of the job was going that extra mile for the customer and making them happy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OfficeMax
Sales Consultant- Print Center (Current Employee), Katy, TexasNovember 13, 2014
Pros: laid back management
Cons: pay
Making copies, lamination, cutting and mounting, making spiral notebooks, printing labels, printing invitation cards, birthday parties, and more.

OfficeMax print center is a cool and fun trade to learn. I enjoy printing.

The hardest part of the job is helping everyone at the same time since we only have one computer and one color printer; time management.

The – more... most enjoyable part of the job is meeting designers and having the opportunity to see their work as well as their prints. As a designer this is fun for me! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
average
FURNITURE SUPERVISOR (Former Employee), Amherst, NYNovember 12, 2014
average workplace experience. Has good and bad things as with all companies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent
Manager, Customer Service (Current Employee), Emeryville, CANovember 11, 2014
Decent Company. Company has merged with Office Depot. A lot of changes are occurring.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was the worst job I ever had
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Las Cruces, NMNovember 11, 2014
Cons: terrible management, unhappy employees, unhappy customer base
No respect amongst employees, disappointing managerial methods and no opportunity for a substantial pay advancement. No leadership. The customer base were unhappy as well, in one week two different customers made me cry and another man walked in the store screaming at the top of his lungs demanding a service that we did not provide. No recognition or – more... appreciation from the company.I am sad to say that there was nothing enjoyable about this job, however, I made the most of it, but I would never recommend that anyone seek employment there or make any purchases there. I did learn a lot about dealing with extremely unhappy customers and how to please them as best as possible. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun and energetic work environment
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), Burnsville, MNNovember 11, 2014
Pros: very flexible hours
-Great first time sales experience
-Very fun and interactive staff
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Store Manager (Current Employee), Alameda, CANovember 11, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: commute
This company has given me so many opportunities to grow as a professional. My experience over the last 15 years has been amazing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), Bee Cave, TXNovember 9, 2014
Good place to work, currently going through the merger process with OfficeDepot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
summary
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Sheboygan, WINovember 9, 2014
Decent environment. Several down times throughout the day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome place to work
Operations manager (Former Employee), Des Moines, IANovember 7, 2014
Pros: meeting new people
I loved the fact that every day was never the same. I enjoyed helping customers find what they needed to make their lives easier.
A typical day at work was helping customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No longer around
DELIVERY SPECIALIST (Former Employee), Warren, MINovember 6, 2014
No longer around. Was a great company when it was Boise Cascade. Down hill ever since.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but always obsessed with metrics.
Sales/Print Associate (Current Employee), San AntonioNovember 6, 2014
Pros: lunch breaks
Easy going job at the print center. Can be overwhelmed by customers coming in at once but other than that the people are very nice and understanding. I learned how to fix anything to do with printers and different machines. I also taught myself publisher. Coworkers sometimes did not meet qualifications nor protocol. The store in general stressed numbers – more... with lack of incentives to increase the numbers. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About OfficeMax

This company is taking the office supply business to the max. OfficeMax is the #3 office products retailer in North America (far – Read more