Find companies:
OfficeMax
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,205 reviews

OfficeMax Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Semi-flexible job; great for short term employment, detrimental for long term
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Boise, IDMay 26, 2014
Pros: customer interaction, friendly staff
Cons: low pay, no advancement, poor management, sporadic schedules
Customers are a primary focus. Everything revolves around the customer and the company trains you to think customer first. The hardest part of the job was maintaining a balance between the necessary tasks that needed to be complete by the end of the day and taking care of customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive job and great for a first time job
Store Associate (Current Employee), Burlington, NJMay 24, 2014
Pros: very knowledgeable first time job
Cons: hours are sometimes scarce
A typical day at work would include or set tasks that would be carried out, ringing customers out, as well as assisting them. So far with the time I have spent in OfficeMax I have learned how to copy, scan, fax, work on the register, and some sales abilities as well. The management is good and co-workers are very friendly and helpful. The hardest part – more... of the job is not getting enough hours but the best part is the interaction with customers and assisting them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad place to work
Senior Business Development Manager (Former Employee), Norman, OKMay 24, 2014
glad this place is closing low morale run from this place poor management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Cashier / Sale Associate (Former Employee), Kissimmee, FLMay 23, 2014
working with team
learned more about computer
clean store
multitask
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
STORE MANAGER (Former Employee), Hoffman Estates, ILMay 23, 2014
Pros: good environment
Cons: slow
Working at Officemax was a solid retail experience. You will spend time merchandising, cleaning, interacting with customers, doing some suggestive selling- especially with their services & tech plans, running a front end, learning cash and shrink controls and some occasional heavy lifting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for a great company
Business Development Manager II (Former Employee), Norman, OKMay 21, 2014
Pros: great pay. flexible schedule. fun environment.
Cons: high employee turnover. no ability to move up.
OfficeMax's inside-sales center in Norman is a great and fun place to work. Great compensation. Ability to move up is not realistic.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call Center - Positive atmosphere but poor wages
Data/Order Entry/Fax Representative (Former Employee), Mentor, OHMay 21, 2014
Pros: responsibilities were straight forward, hours are very manageable
Cons: lack of safeguarding customer information, part-time only position, poor wages
The role of a Data/Order entry rep included but was not limited to taking inbound calls to place orders for various office supplies and other products. If there were customer service related questions and concerns we would transfer them to the customer service department. Immediate supervisors and HR reps were pleasant and professional. Co-workers were – more... of a mixed variety. While some helpful and diligent others were rude and snappy. The hardest part of the job would be dealing with the downtime when less calls were received. The most enjoyable part would be assisting various customers with placing their orders whether it was for a single person or for a small business. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best company i ever worked for
CSS & Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Idaho Falls, IDMay 20, 2014
Pros: fun place to work
5 stars loved everything about Office Max
open/ closed registers and ran register. interacted with customers. loved the managers when i worked there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great placxe
Business Development Manager (Former Employee), Norman, OKMay 20, 2014
Nice place to work. I liked it until it closed down, Great people worked there though.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very fun place to work
Distribution Specialist (Former Employee), Rochester, NYMay 19, 2014
Pros: faced paced, fun, many different jobs
Cons: when equipment would break down.
Responsible for order fulfillment including picking customer orders and maintaining accuracy.Audit random sample of customer orders to ensure accuracy for order audit functions. Operate forklift, pallet jack, or reach picker for bulk order fills. Receiving, stocking, and shipping responsibilities for a multimillion dollar 4000+ line warehouse. Prepare – more... orders and verified completeness for next day delivery. Manage order lay down process for all outgoing freight. I learned how to work fast and efficiently along side of fellow employees. I learned how to take advice and criticism. I learned the ins and outs of many of the jobs throughout the warehouse. Management was very nice and even helped out on the floor. My coworkers were very hardworking people, they were always there to lend a hand. The hardest part of the job was when the conveyor belt would break down and push us back an hour or more from completing our jobs on time. What i loved was the people i worked with and the faced paced environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Customer Sales Associate (Former Employee), Carmel, INMay 19, 2014
Loved working in printing department. Learned new skills in Photo Shop and Adobe Illustrator.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OfficeMax Work Experience
Asociado de Ventas (Former Employee), Fajardo,Puerto RicoMay 18, 2014
Pros: friendly workplace
Cons: none besides the excess in supervisors at the same time
It was fun working in OfficeMax it was always nice and quiet, there were no hard parts, the job was literally provide an excellent customer service, get to know the client so we the sales associates can provide the better solution or better option for the client. The management was OK, but there were more than two supervisors and sometimes it was confusing – more... because one supervisor wanted us to do the opposite of what we were told by another supervisor, but besides that everything was good it was a friendly workplace. There were times when we had to work fast and under pressure, but never had we lost our temper we were always ready for rush situations we just kept our calm and just did our good job no matter what. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management Issues
Technology Consultant (Former Employee), Ashtabula, OHMay 18, 2014
Pros: employee recognition
Cons: management
The management of Office Max suffered various internal issues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I advanced both in life and career at this job
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Westminster, COMay 17, 2014
Pros: advancement
Cons: i quit because i thought i had a better future with another company and it didn't pan out
a typical day at work was customer service and management
I learned a lot about Administration and later went to school to become Administration Professional certified
I had many co-workers in my 10 years as employees changed drastically due to school. I was in management and learned a lot about different scheduling for different age groups
there were – more... no hard parts to this job as I learned to be exact and co incise about everything I had to do
The most enjoyable part of this job was that I worked with people in all walks of life, business, professional, school and everyday office – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
PT Technology Sale and Services Representative (Current Employee), Sarasota, FLMay 16, 2014
Pros: great co-workers, management and flexible schedule.
Cons: low wages.
I really enjoy working there, nice clean store with a great staff and good management. I love the face to face personal interaction with our clients, and found it easy build new client relationships.

I'm very impressed about their focus on Customer Satisfaction. They literally bend over backward to make sure every client walks away with a positive – more... experience.

I would highly recommend OfficeMax for anyone looking for a part time job to supplement their income. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Satisfactory
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Harrisburg, PAMay 16, 2014
I worked hard every day I went into work, while others couldn't care less about the job they performed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Management
Certified Tech Advisor (Former Employee), Lansing, MIMay 16, 2014
I love working for the store manager. The team was like a second famliy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Business Development manager II (Current Employee), Norman, OKMay 15, 2014
Cons: closed down location in norman and moved to austin
Called prospective customer to establish new accounts

Call current customer to grow current accounts
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Next-Door competition put too much stress on employees
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Gainesville, GAMay 15, 2014
Pros: was close to my home, was in populated area
Cons: store had too few employees working at the time, i couldn't handle 2-3 people's loads of work, typically left after other stores were closed at night
Typical Day at Work:
Attempt to sell Printers/Computers/Furniture/Related Office Supplies, lose customers to Best Buy next store who undercut us by a good margin

What I learned:
Customers don't always know what they want to buy/don't do research
Customers aren't always willing to give all information necessary for me to come up with a successful or – more... even relevant solution

Management:
Did all they could to keep customers from walking out of the store without buying anything/going to Best Buy LITERALLY next store (I mean within a football field's distance next store)

Co-workers:
Best friends I've ever had, helped me through significant problems

Hardest part of the job:
Expected to handle too many security/time-sensitive tasks, especially during busy shifts; if there were maybe one or two more people on the sales floor it'd be different but we were critically undermanned
Expected to sell hardware (mainly printers) that I knew nothing about/was never briefed about

Most Enjoyable part of the job:
Making sure the customers that I was actually able to help out had everything they needed to help them/their companies succeed with whatever they were doing – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work at.
Store Associate - Promoted to Sales Consultant (Current Employee), North Charleston, SCMay 15, 2014
You help customers most of the day. Also you work on planograms or fix computers or stock shelves when the truck was there.

About OfficeMax

This company is taking the office supply business to the max. OfficeMax is the #3 office products retailer in North America (far – Read more