Find companies:
Ohio Support Services
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
9 reviews

Ohio Support Services Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job and great interactions but poor management
Security Guard (Current Employee), Columbus, OHApril 22, 2014
Pros: a lot of interaction with people.
Cons: poor management, poor accomodations
You are responsible for checking people in and out of oil rig sites, recording names, vehicles, reason for being there, and id. Management does not communicate with their employees, do not cover shifts adequately, forget the simplest of request, does not adequately accommodate employees being that we can not leave site for food or drink, are not really – more... near anything for people to deliver, and some stations like mine do not even have a functioning fridge or water source. We had to heat this winter with a small plug in heater, and there is no relief from the hot besides shade. Coworks are great for the most part although your job is strictly one manned. although there are several that call off alot. the interaction with the people coming and going is the best part. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, exciting on some nights.
Security Officer (Former Employee), Columbus, OHMarch 10, 2014
Pros: worked indoors, 2 hour rotatating building fire checks with 1 other officer.
Cons: would liked to have made more money due to our responsibilities
3rd shift security officer. Conducted hourly mechanical/ fire checks in Downtown High Rise. Very little supervision but much training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring but its the name of the job
Security Officer (Former Employee), Columbus, OHJanuary 11, 2014
Pros: basically paid to do nothing
Cons: no raises, no healthcare
A typical day is sitting in a guard shack alone checking in trucks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good for a partime job
Security Guard (Former Employee), columbus,ohioNovember 10, 2013
Pros: lot over time
Cons: no raises
the don't offer 401k and insurance is too high. The managers get all the benefits .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Ambassador (Former Employee), Short NorthJuly 18, 2013
Pros: discounts at all of the shops and food places
Cons: cleaning trash while supposed to be doing a security job
Overall my typical day at work was to clean the district and maintain a safe friendly environment. I learned a lot about conducting security work and how to handle some situations. The Vice President of the company was a really great guy he would even come out and wear our uniforms and work with us on the site and fill in if an emergency would arise – more... to help. He showed up and made sure we always were taken care of. The site supervisor on the other hand was not what you would call a good management role due to him going against policies a lot and telling us to go against what his bosses told us to do before he got to work. My co-workers were a great team and we worked together very well and made each others jobs much easier with the way we handled our daily jobs. The most enjoyable part of the job would be getting to meet a lot of people and the interactions with the businesses and owners of them. We had a lot of support from the businesses due to us helping keep the crime rate down in the area so their customers would keep coming back. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security guard or supervisor
Third Shift Supervisor (Current Employee), Columbus, OHJune 4, 2012
Pros: easy to get hire
Cons: bad benefits, bad management, really bad compensation
Escorting tenants and visitor to their vehicles after normal working hours; Making rounds on a daily bases in order to ensure the security of the facility and safety of the facility; writing incident reports and conducting fire inspection and a monthly basis; supervised security guard activities within the facility; trained security personal in different – more... security procedures such as the use of the alarm panel, elevators, fire and security watches and the use of the security monitors. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company but is so big that there are many communication obstacles.
On Call Utility Officer (Current Employee), Columbus, OHMay 27, 2012
Pros: good pay for a contract security guard
Cons: no social life and i'm usually very tired.
A typical day at work is pretty uneventful. I conduct tours and greet employees. I check for badges and make sure that there's no criminal activity.

I've learned more about different management styles since I'm sent to multiple locations.

My manager is a good and fair guy and tries very hard to accommodate my needs, within reason.

You encounter a – more... large variety of co-workers who run the entire spectrum of personality.

The hardest part of a utility officer is not having a set schedule and very little time off. Also I have the need for a lot of sleep to function properly and since I'm on call, I don't get it that often.

The enjoyable part of the job is that things change quite frequentl. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
family oriented company
Acting Corporal (Current Employee), Columbus, OhioJanuary 2, 2012
Pros: company picnics each year
Cons: short break times
Ohio Support Services Is a good company to work for, If you are looking for a job without the fear of getting laid off this is the company.

nall – March 12, 2013

i wish i would have looked at reviews before i took this job...because they give u a job and let u go..