Ohio University Employee Reviews

Found 146 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Place to Work
Student Worker (Former Employee) –  Ironton, OHMay 14, 2017
Ohio University Southern Campus has been my favorite job this far in my life. With the constant balancing of college and work, other jobs just couldn't compete.
Pros
Free lunch, depending on what department(s) you work in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay staff, pretty bad manager
Computer Services (Former Employee) –  PlaceMay 11, 2017
The manager was a bit angry all the time. Always expected you to be doing something, even when there was nothing to do. Like you're somehow supposed to create work out of thin air.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never tense, always efficient
Internship- Campus Involvement Center (Current Employee) –  Athens, OHMay 2, 2017
Working at Ohio University Is a great experience as the employers understand a students busy life. They will push us but not overwhelm us. Employers are very laid back which sets a good mood for the office, however we still work efficiently and exceed what needs to be done.
Pros
Enjoyable
Cons
Limited Advancement pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place For an education
Teaching Assistant (TA) (Former Employee) –  GeologyApril 22, 2017
20hrs/week, tuition waved, taught intro and upper level classes, work load not to extensive when taking other courses yourself. Easy to get along with everyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
full time tenured faculty
Ohio University Professor (Former Employee) –  Athens, OHApril 15, 2017
Employed there full time for over 25 years. Retired. Completely satisfied with my experience both on the department level, the College of Arts and Sciences level, and the university level. If I were to time warp backwards I would do it again.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and animated
Graduate Assistant (Current Employee) –  Athens, OHApril 12, 2017
I am a student here and only work for professors with some daily filings, grading papers some time. Working for professors reaaly helped me a lot. It is a great experience to learn how to balance work and life.
Pros
Open and feel free, people are nice here
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
STUDENT LEADER (Current Employee) –  Athens, OHApril 11, 2017
I was promoted after 3 months. The promotion opportunities are wonderful. The management is helpful and committed to the company and they work with students class schedules
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Washer (Current Employee) –  Pi Phi HouseApril 10, 2017
Wash and put dishes up for the house
Take out trash.
Work twice a day for about 45 mins a day 5 times a week.
Assist head cook around the kitchen.
Work with 3-5 other guys.
Learned that sometimes unpaid work can be rewarding.
Pros
Free meals
Cons
No pay
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serious work place
Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Athens, OHApril 6, 2017
Besides the constant change, Ohio university is an excellent place to work in. Co-workers are very friendly and supportive,one can find jobs in other departments
Cons
too much change
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Institution
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Athens, OHApril 6, 2017
I had the pleasure of working for Ohio University as a Graduate Teaching Assistant, and have nothing but great things to say about the management and organization of the institution.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ohio University is economically appealing
Spirit of Kairos Student Organization (Current Employee) –  Athens, OHApril 3, 2017
The primary reason why I attended Ohio University is the economic benefits. Ohio University has provided generous economic assistance over the last three years that I have attended. However, I feel dissatisfied with the quality of my education. A majority of my classes are taught by individuals who are barely out of school themselves and my classmates seem to be more concerned with getting drunk than an education.
Pros
small town atmoshere, friendly classmates, lively entertainment, low cost
Cons
easy programs, hard to make friend if you abstain from consuming alcohol
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get the job done on time and cooperatively with a team
Sports Facilities Operator (Current Employee) –  Athens, OHMarch 16, 2017
Hardworking teams go into games and manage time well while also working during the games and helping with fan questions. Managers help assist with set up.
Pros
Knowing the ins and outs of sports facilities and games.
Cons
Not many hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good University
Practicum Work, Ohio University Ticket Office (Former Employee) –  Athens, OHMarch 15, 2017
I worked a few jobs for the University. They were student-run and reflected as much. The shifts were short, and the pay was not great. The hardest part of the job was getting desireable shifts to work. Management was somewhat inept most of the time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety in the Residents hall
Residents Assistant (Current Employee) –  Athens, OHMarch 14, 2017
Ensure residents are adjusting to the college
I ensure everyone in the hall is safe. I put on educational programs. I am a mentor and a friend for all my residents.
Pros
free room and board
Cons
living in the residents hall as a junior
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great internship with good pay.
Macro Programmer Internship (Former Employee) –  Athens, OHFebruary 28, 2017
This company was extremely valuable to work for. They provided training and workloads that were reasonable and still challenging. I learned allot but also I did a lot for the company. They paid well and provided free transportation for business related trips.
Pros
Excellent internship with exceptionally valuable experience.
Cons
Sometimes got sidetracked by interesting but not exactly related work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Miscellaneous through the years (Former Employee) –  Athens, OHFebruary 22, 2017
Depending upon environment, the culture of the workplace was fine.The hardest part of the job was the low morale. I enjoy positive outcomes, and shared governance which was not always available.
Pros
Coworkers
Cons
Management and Human Resource not as helpful as they could have been.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work if single
Sous Chef / Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Athens, OHFebruary 16, 2017
Good people, fun atmosphere. Job security. Beautiful campus. Family oriented. A lot of hours if salary. Holidays observed
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace that allowed for creativity and flex time availability
Learning Community Leader (Former Employee) –  Athens, OHFebruary 4, 2017
While working for Ohio University as Learning Community Leader, I was able to use my own ideas to implement events for the students for whom I was responsible.
Pros
flex time
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Data Control Technician/Institutional Research
Data Control Analyst (Former Employee) –  Office of Institutional REsearch, Athens, OhioFebruary 1, 2017
I worked in the Office of Institutional Research for almost 3 years. I developed strong skills in managing the office and completing my tasks on a dily basis. I answered telephones, distributed mail throughout the office, entered data from suveys, and created the university's Fact Book. I enjoyed working with the administration and staff in fulfilling my duties.
Pros
Great work environment and benefits. Opportunities to continue my education and develop new skills.
Cons
Sometimes too busy and could not complete all tasks as I would have iked to have done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Research & Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Texas USAJanuary 27, 2017
Typical day at work involves working with customers and partners on Enterprise solutions

Most enjoyable part of the job is the kind of people i work with
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Ohio University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 148 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.9
Culture
4.2

CEO Approval

86%
38 ratings
Add your rating