Find companies:
Ohio Valley General Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
11 reviews

Ohio Valley General Hospital Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Marketing Internship at Ohio Valley Hospital
Marketing and Special Events Intern (Former Employee), Kennedy Township, PAMay 15, 2014
The beginning weeks of my internship at OVGH were generally focused on the Golf Fund Drive coming up in June. In the first week, the primary objective was to generate solicitation letters to be sent out to hundreds of businesses on company letterhead. I then spent some time into the next week being taught how to use mail merge which is a software tool – more... built into Microsoft Word that allows you to personalize one letter to the names of hundreds of individuals. Now, every solicitation letter that reaches the hands of the business owner has its own tailored greeting.
I finished the next week using mail merge in to generate address labels to use in correspondence with mailing the solicitation letters. After generating each set of labels, I would first send a copy to my supervisor for revision before printing onto label sheets. I will likely be labeling, stuffing and mailing out the solicitation envelopes upon return.
Next, I set out to label, stuff, and mail the solicitation envelopes that would be sent out to many local and some non-local businesses containing requests for sponsorship and donations. Once I accomplished this, a team meeting was held to discuss the progress and the timeline of the Golf Drive Project. We left the meeting proud to be right on schedule. In the latter week, my task was to create Mulligan tickets to be sold to all Gulf Fund Drive participants. This task of creating tickets was accomplished from format to design to final print by the end of the week.

In the next two weeks, although I have continued the duties of the internal mystery shopping, the main objectives were to contact departments about updating their brochures and then actually working with a department on creating and writing a new and updated brochure for them. I sent out emails to various department heads of the hospital asking about their interest in updating their brochures. Those who responded with interest, I referred to my supervisor and set up a meeting to get a better understanding of their needs and expectations for their new brochure. I accompanied my supervisor in attending my first brochure meeting with the Head Nurse of the OVGH Geropsychiatric Unit. During the meeting, she discussed certain requirements and ideas for the revamping of her department’s brochure. Before embarking on the task of creating a new brochure for the Geropsychiatric Unit of the hospital, I spent some time walking around the Geropsychiatric unit, observing and listening, asking questions and taking notes to use for reference as I write the brochure.

Upon my return from spring break, my objectives have been to continue with the mystery shopping phone calls as well as to format, design and create flyers to put up around the hospital. These Flyers help create awareness of the different sponsored events being held at the hospital. I created fliers for many visiting sponsors including tastefully simple, trello chocolates, fun with books, employee appreciation day, Silver Star meats, in the bag, and several others. For each flyer, once I completed my final draft, I sent it to my supervisor for review and then, once I got the okay, I was able to make the final color prints on poster board. Finally, I was instructed to put them up in designated places throughout the entire hospital for people to see. By my next day there, I came in to work and people were already talking about the upcoming events depicted in my flyers so I knew that they were serving their purpose. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work environment
Radiologist Technician's Aide (Former Employee), Mckees RocksFebruary 12, 2014
The staff was very friendly but there was definitely a lot to learn.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Enjoyable
TRANSPORT/AIDE (Former Employee), McKees Rocks, PANovember 19, 2013
I loved working here, this place was wonderful all around. The people were always willing to lend a hand.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized
Clinical Educator (Former Employee), McKees Rocks, PAOctober 9, 2013
This is an extremely unorganized facility. If you value clear communication, this is not the place for you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very acceptable workplace
Anesthesia Technician Internship (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAAugust 19, 2013
Operating suite was run very well. The information about the patients coming in and what type of surgery was accurate. The daily production of the operating room was very good. I found my time of internship there very interesting and i knew that i wanted to do the job duties for a long time. I learned time management and organization skills in a fast – more... pace environment a hospital requires. Everyone worked as a group we relied on each other for the overall day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great coworkers, poorly managed facility.
Medical-Surgical Registered Nurse (Current Employee), McKees Rocks, PAJuly 20, 2013
Pros: travel time from home; free parking; great co-workers
Cons: short-staffed; unappreciated; no respect from management; poor work schedule process
A typical shift consists of caring for 8 patients, conducting all needs for those 8 patients, including medication administration, education, hygiene, and personal needs. I have learned great organizational skills and prioritization. Management is unhelpful, uneducated, and inexperienced. I have tremendous co-workers that make every shift manageable; – more... we work as a great team. The hardest part of my job is being able to realize that with the great deal of responsibility and job duty requirements, I am unable to give my patients the care and medical attention they need and deserve. The most enjoyable part of my job is knowing that I help people and that I make a difference in someone's life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work/ family balance
Stationary Engineer (Former Employee), McKees Rocks, PAJune 7, 2013
One of the best jobs I've had and would still be there if it were not for relocation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to begin my career
Radiologic Technologist, Part-Time (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAJanuary 13, 2013
It was a good place for me to start my career. I was comfortable with the equipment, the procedures, and the people at this hospital which made it a good place to start. A typical day at work for me was working the 3-11 shift and working with one other technologist dealing with outpatients, inpatients, emergency room patients, and the operating room. – more... I learned how to work more independently and efficiently as a technologist. The management was good at the hospital, and very amicable to the employees. My co-workers were the same technologists who had helped to train me while I was in school, and I got along with them very well, and worked with them very well. The hardest part of my job was working in the operating room, that part of my job is my weakness. The most enjoyable part of my job was the people I worked with, we got along very well and it made the job easier and more enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for an internship/job during school
Inpatient Physical Therapy Aide (Current Employee), Pittsburgh, PAMarch 11, 2012
Nice place to work at, I learned a lot in physical therapy which helped me in school.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in the ER was exciting, never a dull moment. I loved the fast pace of the ER.
Emergency Department RN (Former Employee), 25 Heckel RoadMay 15, 2013
Working the nightshift was exciting itself. I was busy but a nice pace. Never bored. I learned to multi task and be able to think on my feet.
Co-workers were great and fun to be around. The best part of the job was knowing you were able to help someone. Worst part was having to tell family the person did not make it(died).

About Ohio Valley General Hospital

Pittsburgh's Ohio Valley General Hospital is a non-profit Hospital dedicated to providing services and programs to improve the – Read more