OHMSTEDE Employee Reviews

Showing all 18 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for
Multi-Craft (Former Employee) –  Sulphur, LAJune 4, 2016
Worked very well and with the co-workers around me. You complete the job safe and supervision treats you very well. It pays great!
Pros
Good Money
Cons
Short term job
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Welder/Overlay Welder (Former Employee) –  Sulphur, LADecember 8, 2015
People there are nice, relaxed usually. But when its time to work, we work! I loved working for this company but was not told that they were about to get very slow with work, and with a second baby on the way, I was laid off with no notice at all. Other than that, great place to work.
Pros
Every one is friends and make you feel welcome.
Cons
Short lunnch break, no job secrurity.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gained valuable experience in working with upper management to voice opinions of co-workers
Tool Room Manager (Former Employee) –  Sulphur, LADecember 17, 2015
Ohmstede provided me valuable work experience for a long time.
I was in a position in which I dealt with management in addition to my company wide co-workers. I also made many long lasting friends.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
supervosor (Former Employee) –  Gonzales, LADecember 3, 2015
Working with Ohmstede was great. Everyone treated each other with respect which is something i wish i can say i see everyday.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My experience at Ohmstede
MACHINIST (Former Employee) –  Saint Gabriel, LANovember 11, 2014
A typical day at work for me, I would go in at about 5:00 am. I would review the work from the day before and see what needed to be done and when it needed to be done by and start work. I learned how heat exchangers worked. Management at Ohmstede was very organized. My co-workers were easy to work with. The hardest part of the job was rotating from days to nights. The most enjoyable part of the job was working nights.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Heat Exchanger Manufacturer
Plant Mechanic/Millwright (Former Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXAugust 21, 2014
6 am to 2:30 pm first shift made for a short feeling day. Learned my first refinery related business with them. Management very employee and family involved. Diverse bunch of employees with various trades from machinists to welders, mechanics to tube pushers. Hardest part of the job was staying clean...although, you have to get dirty to get the work done. Enjoyable co-worker atmosphere.
Pros
Great safety awareness, regular pay raises
Cons
Lots of used dirty equipment being rebuilt
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a hole watch/fire watch
Firewatch/Holewatch (Former Employee) –  BP chemical plant decatur AlJuly 13, 2015
I worked as a firewatch an I loved the people I worked with at the company. I loved going to work everyday and I loved my job.
Pros
they pay good
Cons
it is only 30 days at a time and no health insurance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice people
BOILERMAKER (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXApril 26, 2015
everyone gets alone with everyone good for the boos to see just lets everyday of hard work fill better for the working an first talk about the safety of the day before and what need to be done help pass to day to a better safety course the next day
Pros
nice people
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
feeling good about helping people work safe
Safety Tech (Current Employee) –  Deer Park TxMarch 19, 2015
Lots of walking and reading Jsa's . Help co workers work safely.
the hardest part of the job is being outside in the elements and walking several miles a day. I like the safety field because I get to help others.
Pros
good pay
Cons
not full time
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's an healthy work environment.
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXJanuary 3, 2013
Your typical day at this job starts off with safety meetings. It's an on learning job to where your co-workers as well as upper management allow you the opportunity to advance to the next level. The most enjoyable part of the job is getting the job done effectively and safety.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging environment
Vice President (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXJuly 23, 2014
Led efforts at 5 plants for exspansion. Exspanded Houston facility with new office designs and buildouts. Designed new welding processes for automation, introduced new markets
Pros
lots of hands on
Cons
CEO had little visions
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Capable Business
Draftsman/Boilermaker/... (Current Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXJuly 9, 2013
Ohmstede is capable of new fabrication and repair of Heat Exchangers and Pressure Vessels. A get it done team.
Pros
Safety Awards (free catered lunches, award money), Strong HR department.
Cons
Long hours on "turnarounds"
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cheap place to work. worst job ever
grinder, welder helper, boiler maker (Former Employee) –  La Porte, TXAugust 23, 2013
I was here almost a year and was told after 500 hours I would be hired on full time with benefits. when I left I had close to 3,000 hours in about eleven months with no raise.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Place to work.
BOILERMAKER (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXApril 11, 2013
takes sheet metal, develops it (if you want to make a cone, or a square to round, or a lobster back ducting etc.), bends it, rolls it, and welds it together to make an item, ie: a tank, or a boiler,
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace,plesent coworkers
Tool Room Operator (Former Employee) –  Laplace,LousianaFebruary 24, 2014
Very professional,great experience of tool room operator,shipping and recieving of tools, loading n unloading equipment
Pros
travel experience
Cons
short shutdown
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ohmstede
Timekeeper (Current Employee) –  Beaumont, TXNovember 22, 2012
I have learned alot in this position. There are long hours and alot of traveling but I have great co-workers that make it all worth it.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fitter
Fitter (Former Employee) –  Saint Gabriel, LAOctober 29, 2014
This was not an enjoyable place to work. Management was horrible
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 18 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.5
Culture
3.5