OHMSTEDE Employee Reviews

Sort: Helpful | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Refinery Boilermaker
Boiler Maker (Former Employee) –  Carson, CASeptember 19, 2017
*Rebuilt exchangers that are used to convert crude oil to fuel
*Climbed scaffolding and towers up to 100 feet with tools weighing up to 35 pounds
*Operated forklift
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great pay
Pipefitter (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 20, 2017
company treated employees fairly and well. great pay. paid per diem for traveling. only thing is that job did not last long, temporary. Bosses were very educated and nice.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work environment and work description
Cnc operatpr (Current Employee) –  Beaumont, TXJuly 23, 2017
Culture- needs improving --- typical day at work semi toxic but I concentrate on work--- most enjoyable part of the day is Doing my job and then leaving but I learn mostly about new things I have not encountered in my 10years plus of being a CNC operator.....No hard part to this job , I run multiple machines
Pros
a fraction of safety bonus
Cons
environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chemical plant construction
Fire/Hole Watch (Former Employee) –  Alvin, TXJuly 14, 2017
It's your typical chem. construction gig, hard work, harder bosses.
You can never guess what your day will be like. he toughest part of the job were the co-workers, the women try to get you fired and the men who hit on you relentlessly. The upside is being able to outshine the women who are telling your forman how awful you are and proving to yourself that you CAN outlast them.
Pros
Per diem and lots of over time.
Cons
Rain outs and ridiculously competitive co-workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Boilermaker Journeyman (Former Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXJune 20, 2017
Typical turnaround job with Ohmstede, pay is just a tad bit lower than other companies but I can't complain. Good supervision, good workers, would definitely like to work with them again.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Boilermaker (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXJune 9, 2017
Good money lots of hours. I,enjoyed working days better than nights and I kiked the work environment it was safe and laid back and I liked,going to work and,I definitely liked the paycheck too. Sometimes there was alot more hours but I enjoyed it anyway because there was opportunity for overtime
Pros
Good money
Cons
Time away from, family
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very safe hard workers
Firewatch/Holewatch (Former Employee) –  Center, st Pasadena txMay 31, 2017
Great company no incidents on a daily bases the workers work very safe they go strictly go by the JSA the crews work together to keep area clean and safe
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
where i learned what a boilermaker really was
Turnaround Foreman (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXApril 19, 2017
I've been on several jobs with Ohmstede and met a lot of great people along the way. This is where i learned how to work exchangers, boilers, towers, reactors and various other types of equipment.
Pros
made good money and learned a lot
Cons
not much life for a family man
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent treatment of employees
Temp Job (Former Employee) –  Deer Park, TX 77536April 11, 2017
Great company to work for. I had an intelligent supervisor. Always had the tools and equipment to do my job. The only downfall was this was a shut down not a permanent position.
Pros
great team and had the tools to do my job with great pay
Cons
short term job not permanent
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and steady work
Pipefitter (Former Employee) –  Convent, LA, Baton Rouge LAMarch 20, 2017
The company is an awesome company to work for! The higher ups treat you with respect and don't treat anyone different! I would highly recommend this company to anyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace.
Operator (Former Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXMarch 7, 2017
I really enjoy working at this place. The work day will go fast because there was always something to do.The hardest part of the job is that most of the employees were family related and they treated the rest of the people differently.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this place sucks do not work there
CNC and Manual Machinist (Current Employee) –  Beaumont, TXFebruary 23, 2017
this has no structure you work 12 night befor you get time off and there care nothing for you are your family and you do not have set time you work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Sulphur, LAFebruary 20, 2017
while at times the place is under heated in winter and poor cooling in summer, the place is a good work environment and is consistant in work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good communication
Hydroblaster (Current Employee) –  Laporte tx.December 21, 2016
Like working there. Just trying to get part time hot shot jobs till business picks up or when work is slow I'll do hot shot jobs. Just trying to keep busy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Boilermaker Helper (Former Employee) –  Long Beach, CAJune 28, 2016
Its a Productive & Friendly place in a hazardous environment. Assisted boilermakers, retubed in certain units, installed and removed flanges. Make sure everything is organized and safe before and after work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for
Multi-Craft (Former Employee) –  Sulphur, LAJune 4, 2016
Worked very well and with the co-workers around me. You complete the job safe and supervision treats you very well. It pays great!
Pros
Good Money
Cons
Short term job
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gained valuable experience in working with upper management to voice opinions of co-workers
Tool Room Manager (Former Employee) –  Sulphur, LADecember 17, 2015
Ohmstede provided me valuable work experience for a long time.
I was in a position in which I dealt with management in addition to my company wide co-workers. I also made many long lasting friends.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Welder/Overlay Welder (Former Employee) –  Sulphur, LADecember 8, 2015
People there are nice, relaxed usually. But when its time to work, we work! I loved working for this company but was not told that they were about to get very slow with work, and with a second baby on the way, I was laid off with no notice at all. Other than that, great place to work.
Pros
Every one is friends and make you feel welcome.
Cons
Short lunnch break, no job secrurity.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
supervosor (Former Employee) –  Gonzales, LADecember 3, 2015
Working with Ohmstede was great. Everyone treated each other with respect which is something i wish i can say i see everyday.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a hole watch/fire watch
Firewatch/Holewatch (Former Employee) –  BP chemical plant decatur AlJuly 13, 2015
I worked as a firewatch an I loved the people I worked with at the company. I loved going to work everyday and I loved my job.
Pros
they pay good
Cons
it is only 30 days at a time and no health insurance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at OHMSTEDE. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 33 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8

CEO Approval

94%
17 ratings
Add your rating