Find companies:
Oil States Energy Services
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
28 reviews

Oil States Energy Services Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok company some decent workers
Field Service Manager (Current Employee), Clearfield, PAJune 28, 2015
laid back guys overall a decent place. typical work environment decent management. i moved up quickly and every one there will teach you something if you ask just always be ready to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN WORKPLACE
Oil Field Worker (Former Employee), Williston, NDMay 26, 2015
LONG DAYS WORK GREAT STAFF WORK WITH HARDEST PART OF THE JOB IS STAYING AWAKE GREAT PAY
GREAT EQUIPMENT TO DRIVE VERY LAID BACK ENVOIRMENT
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
Valve Tech/ High Pressure Tester (Former Employee), Shreveport, LouisianaMay 20, 2015
Pros: lunch
Cons: short lunch break
I enjoyed learning how to take care of different kind of fishes. great work place to be. Co- workers are work friendly, and the hardest part was unloading trucks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Counter Productive
Field Service Supervisor I (Former Employee), Midland, TXMay 8, 2015
Pros: Doesnt matter if sacrifice and bust your tail in the end your a number!
Cons: Days off in 2014 were almost non existant had average of 2.69 days off per month in 2014
Rest assured your manager will lie to a Company Man every chance he gets! But never compromise your integrity to cover for a liar! Hardest part is maintaining your integrity (don't become like them) stand for who you are in the end you will be alone but never compromised!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people to work with
Crane Operator Level 2 (Former Employee), Canonsburg, PAMay 5, 2015
Pros: Company truck, Full medical from day one
Cons: 30 day rotation but 10 days off
Great company to work for. Great benefits and pay. It was one of those jobs that you looked forward to going to. Company truck that you could take home. Company credit card. Insurance for you and your family from day one.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people to work with a boss who was a friend to all as well as very helpful at all times
Field Service Supervisor Level II (Former Employee), Watsontown, PAMay 5, 2015
Pros: great pay
Cons: long stays away from home
Clean and load out pressure control packages making sure all equipment was intact, all tools needed for your job were loaded on trailer, always double checking everything, day in and out, being able to – more... appreciate and work with your co-workers regardless of opinions, working things out to complete and finish each job, with customer satisfaction, and making sure that safety was always kept
first no matter the situation or job. Finishing a job well done was the best part of the job – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people to work for
Field Service Supervisor (Former Employee), canonsburg, pa.May 4, 2015
Pros: great pay
Cons: up and down industry
I performed multiple job titles ..I learned a lot about the gas and oil industry ,...some jobs are easy, some are not.as for management ,..I've seen 4 different managers in almost 5 years,...the later being the better.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Management
Field Service Supervisor (Former Employee), Watsontown, PAMay 2, 2015
Pros: Company vehicles, fuel cards, credit cards, independence from imediate supervision
Cons: Stagequest, layoffs during downturn
Managed very well, great people to work with. Very customer oriented. Great work schedule for oil and gas. Great facility. Only downfall is managers retain no control of personnel during cuts. HR takes over the show and do not know the employees as the managers do. I would return in a heartbeat.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Pay Poor Job Security
Oil Field Ball Launch Specialist (Former Employee), Casper, WYApril 17, 2015
'Laid Off from job after 3 months due to drop in oil prices. Everything else was great. Good management, Great Pay Honest work and room for advancement within the company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Straight foreward corporation
Flowback Hand (Current Employee), Paden City, WVApril 4, 2015
Pros: Good compensation, company vehicle, gas card
Cons: Unstable management, job security
The day starts by completing a job safety assessment, and a safety / shift turnover meeting. Then depending on the stage we are on in the process, I have differing responsibilities: On drillouts a plug – more... catcher, manifold, and frac tank have to be monitored and maintained; On flow backs a sand trap, manifold, separator, frac tank have to be monitored and maintained also returns have to be tracked; On sales jobs the contracting companies equipment is monitored and maintained also returns have to be tracked. At the end of the shift a report is completed and emailed to all relevant parties. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed the employees in the work place
Nondestructive testing Inspector (Former Employee), Shrevport, LAMarch 29, 2015
Pros: good break time
Cons: diminishing pay
I tested fracking tools and equipment; this ensured safety of companies personnel who extract hydrocarbons from deep earth. I performed inspection on structures that were subject to tensile stresses, environmental – more... cracking and erosion corrosion that have to withstand 15,000 psi. I searched for cracks/ weak points upon the structure being tested with multiple types of nondestructive test methods. Wet fluorescent magnetic particle was my favorite – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Mangement, Good Communication Skills With Employees
Field Service Supervisor (Former Employee), Victoria, TXMarch 18, 2015
Typical work day Maintain Equipment, Operate Equipment, Inspect all equipment to make sure its working correctly. I learned how to run different equipment to maintain a good workplace how to work with – more... all types of people. Management was excellent was good with putting employees first. Hardest part of the job was learning how to determine if your putting to much pressure on well or not enough. Most enjoyable part of the job was learning new things working with all different types of people and working outside. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collection calls, post payments, set up new customers, EDI, team leader
Accounts Receivable specialist (Former Employee), Houston, TXMarch 15, 2015
Typical work day at OSES was to arrive and make collection calls. Once “follow up” calls were completed I would then make new calls. I would handle any invoices that were disputed or had issues. I was – more... the EDI team leader so I made sure that all invoices were submitted in a timely manner and correctly. I would set up new EDI customers and attend training classes as needed. I would then train my coworkers on the programs. I would assist in month end close out, which typically took a week to complete the whole process.
Before Oil States Energy Services, we were Specialty Rental Tools and it was at that time that I had received majority of my knowledge and training. I was more involved with the whole AR department as through was only 2 employees in the department. After the merger of three companies, I was directed to focus more on collections, EDI and team leading. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK
OFFICE (Current Employee), Williston, NDFebruary 19, 2015
It's an ok Job. It's a good place to get your feet wet. It's an ok job. It is a good place to get your feet wet. im not sure what else they want me to say.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair company to work with
Account Receivable Specialist (Current Employee), Houston, TXJanuary 2, 2015
This was a good company to work for. Coworkers were all wonderful people. This company was easy to work with. Management usually let us work with our own judgement and we were able to meet the companies goals. The company was very well mangaed and took very good care of their employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall amazing company with great pay
Field Service Supervisor (Former Employee), Victoria TexasNovember 13, 2014
overall amazing company with great pay. Managment was one of the best i have ever worked for
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning experiance, fun work place
Wellhead Engineer (Current Employee), Kilgore, TXSeptember 10, 2014
Long hours, good training and an overall good experience. this company is safety oriented with great opportunities. I gained great experience from this job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good steady place to work
HSE Auditor (Current Employee), Alice, TXAugust 26, 2014
Good employees, lots of work available. The HR Representatives are very helpful and assist all employees with any HR issues they may have.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good money and benefits if you are willing to travel
Operator (Current Employee), Casper, WYAugust 23, 2014
Pros: pay (when theres work) and benefits
Cons: incompetent management, time spent traveling
Lots of driving. Inconsistent work. Will be away from home for 3 months then sitting at the house for 3 months. Impossible to predict a schedule. Great pay and benefits. Incompetent mid level management. – more... Poor management of equipment and people. High level management wants to be like Halliburton so bad they will steam roll their employees to do it. LOTS of ups and downs. Co workers range from well qualified, competent and productive workers to complete basket cases. Bad dose of the buddy system, at least in my district there is. Keep your head down, don't step on the wrong toes, and try to become buddies with the management and you'll go far at Oil States. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great career opportunity
Tool Operator/Iron Specialist (Former Employee), Brighton, COJuly 10, 2014
Pros: great money
Cons: long hard work
A hard and fast paced oil and gas company that pays wonderfully if you can handle the physical demands of the job.

Oil States Energy Services Salaries

Field Service Engineer
$120,000 per year