Oil States International Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 20 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Employees But POOR Management!!!
Operations Supervisor (Former Employee) –  New Iberia, LAJune 29, 2016
I seen first hand if your not part of the click then your just a NUMBER!!! They put procedures in place to be followed only when it benefits the managers!!! Asked several times for things to be changed, so I make the change to accommodate what equipment is needed and get canned for it. And the sad part is that I was not the only one doing it and management knew about it!!!
Pros
Good hard working Employees
Cons
MANAGEMENT and Employees not giving the recognition they deserve
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good culture, but low paying.
-- (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 11, 2016
For the most part this is a pretty great company to work for. They really do care about their employees (at least it seems as much) and they promote the family atmosphere. However, when it actually comes time to paying a competitive wage, they'd rather beat you out of it.
Pros
Friendly
Cons
Cheap
Was this review helpful?Yes9No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pay scale and management
machinist (Current Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKApril 8, 2016
For what there looking for the pay scale is too low you might get $20hr to start but you won't be getting any raises .

The corporate office should really take a better look of how this company is run all the management in this facility are all school buddy's or close friends this management personal lack the ability to run any company . They always layoff all the wrong people which that is definitely in part of the buddy system they have it was like working with immature children!!
this place is poorly managed and will likely get closed down when corporate gets tired of losing more money on a facility that can't figure out how too run efficiently
Pros
guys running machines were fun to work with
Cons
This facility is poorly managed and they lie too you from the start
Was this review helpful?Yes13NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor place to work
Machinist (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma CityMarch 24, 2016
Management only cares about them selves. You will get laid off at some point. Very poor communication. If thing are good they love you to death. When they are slow you get treated as if you are a bourdon to them . Lots of dead weight.
Pros
Clean
Cons
Back stabbing people. No raise in 2 years. HR is joke.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with good management.
HR Administrator - HRIS (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXMarch 20, 2016
I enjoyed working for this company. Many of my coworkers became good friends. I felt like I contributed to the success of the company and that management cared about the employees. They provide a good work/life balance, and are willing to develop their employees to help them succeed.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing good
operator-SLAVE (Former Employee) –  ndNovember 11, 2015
Area manager is a greedy f cking a hole doesnt care about anyone but himself and works you like dogs!!!!! nothing good to tell!!
Pros
NONE
Cons
WORKING THERE!!
Was this review helpful?Yes24No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most enjoyable part of the job
Assistant Service Crane Technician (Former Employee) –  Houma, LANovember 4, 2015
I would have retired from their if it wasn't for the lay off. The benefits were awesome. I enjoyed what I did for a living. Working on cranes was like a dream come true. All I thought about was cranes.
Pros
Pay, benefits and doing something that I loved to do.
Cons
layoff
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for
HR Assistant/Production Data Entry (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKNovember 2, 2015
Go in post any invoices from molding, answer any messages left from night shift, write work orders if any. Management not to good to work for needs better communication. Lots of over time love it. It shame that it went out of business.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company!
Heat Treat Technician (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 20, 2015
I currently hold a position as a Heat Treat Technician Lead! I work with welders in assisting Quality procedures. Perform Welder Audits, Perform Load Test, Stress Relieve piping and vessels. Assist Quality control with MT/PT/Hardness Testing! Prepare Reports using File Maker Pro, present safety topics to Management and crew for Awareness! etc.
Was this review helpful?YesNo14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Various (Former Employee) –  VariousSeptember 26, 2015
Oil states is a great company to work for. The management team is outstanding, pay is excellent, and work environment is outstanding.
Pros
great management team, good pay, good benefits, good work environment
Cons
None, if you're willing to work hard
Was this review helpful?Yes10No4Report

Want to know more about Oil States International?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Production (Current Employee) –  houston,txAugust 9, 2015
Great company to work for. Great benefits and co workers. Work and life balance is great. No complaints. Questionable job stability.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I feel that it is a very knowledge based company
Training Specialist (Current Employee) –  Tulsa, OKJuly 15, 2015
Data entry, I learned about the oil and gas industry. It is a very fast paced business. I enjoyed working with my Manager on various assignments and the travel opportunity.
Pros
Company paid Black Friday
Cons
not much over time
Was this review helpful?Yes15No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The employees are amazing people to work with
Sr. Electrical Designer (Former Employee) –  Houma, laJuly 8, 2015
I learned that no one customer wants anything the same. Every crane i designed was completely different electrically.
The employees are some of the best i have ever worked with.
The hardest part of the job was trying to meet the c=impossible schedules.
Meeting the people that i got to work with and learning new and exciting things.
Pros
great co workers
Cons
management needs some work
Was this review helpful?Yes12No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Changed ownership and downsized
Executive Chef (Former Employee) –  Killdeer North DakotaFebruary 2, 2015
When they cut salaries for corporate gain it is time to move on.they lost alot of good employees.management got taken the worst.
Was this review helpful?Yes19No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very bad place to work
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKJanuary 25, 2015
The work is easy and the heat wasn't to bad. The problem with the company is you are not nobody unless you are up top or family. Its like the saying goes its not who you know its who you blow. Management sucks and so does HR.
Pros
you tell me
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes29No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unstable company
sales (Former Employee) –  Houma, LAOctober 2, 2014
Layoffs without warning even though they are aware. Only concerned about manager bonuses.
Pros
a job
Cons
unstable at all times
Was this review helpful?Yes56No14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Same company as OSES.
Level II operator and engineer (Former Employee) –  Kilgore, TxJune 30, 2014
Same company as OSES. Oil States International and Oil states Energy Services are the same conglomerate.
Was this review helpful?Yes36No19Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
plenty of work and most people were friendly
inspector 1 (Former Employee) –  Lampasas, TXFebruary 27, 2014
very good company to work for.work 8 to 12 hours daily. the hardest part of working there is the heat and grime.
Pros
have really good benefits and job security
Cons
very nasty environment
Was this review helpful?Yes80No31Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large worldwide company
NM Senior Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Midland TXJanuary 17, 2014
Vast resources, structured environment, many different divisions for business expansion. Opportunity to grow or move between companies within Oil States International. The hardest part of the job was response times to customers needs was hindered by management channels.
Pros
opportunity to move to other divisions
Cons
response times to equipment deliveries and quotations.
Was this review helpful?Yes57No29Report

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 20 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.2
Culture
3.1

Oil States International Reviews by Location