Find companies:
Oklahoma Department of Human Services
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
32 reviews

Oklahoma Department of Human Services Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult job
Administrative Technician III (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKDecember 7, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: culture
Seeing 30+ customers an hour and expected to make no mistakes even when new. Customers are rude even though you are there to help them. management does not back up their employees. Child Welfare workers are overworked and have a bad attitude and take it out on the lower workers. Difficult job with great pay and benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
*
Child Welfare Specialist II (Current Employee), Claremore, OKSeptember 24, 2014
The people that worker there are great, but the caseload is still relatively high.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hectic.
Child Welfare Specialist II (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKAugust 20, 2014
Pros: making a difference.
Cons: not making a difference.
Lots of pressure from all sides: management, media, public, personal, and court.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
For entry level social services work, it's a good place to start.
Social Services Specialist (Current Employee), Midwest City, OKAugust 8, 2014
Pros: you get an hour for lunch. good health benefits.
Cons: low wages. level 3 positions no longer exist so promotions are limited after level 2.
Most days are busy. There are a lot of people in need of State services. My co-workers are good people and strive to help one another to get the job done. I have made life-long friends here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and fast paced work environment
Social Services Specialist II (Current Employee), OKJuly 12, 2014
Pros: great benefits.
Cons: low pay.
A typical day at a busy Oklahoma county office can see hundreds of Oklahomans in a week. I make my living assessing their need factors and establishing eligibility for services. The hardest part of the job is sorting out who is receiving help first. The most enjoyable part is taking care of as many clients as possible. What I've learned is that you – more... better be quick, because someone else is counting on me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OKDHS
Supervisor (Former Employee), OklahomaJune 13, 2014
Pros: good culture
Cons: pay
Processed cases daily
interviewed clients
data input into state computers
processed confidential information
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assisted patients with light medical care, good hygiene, run errands, manage home.
Nursing Assistant (Former Employee), Sallisaw, OKJune 4, 2014
Pros: helping patients to be able to stay in their home.
Cons: poor pay.
Would care for any medical needs of client or take them for extensive care if needed. Help patients with personal care. Cleaned and kept home organized.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love helping the families....
Field Services Representative- Post Adoptions (Current Employee), Oklahoma City, OKApril 27, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: pay is not great.
Most of my coworkers are great! It is definitely an entry level position and one should seek advancement as soon as the opportunity presents itself.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent place of employment to gain social services skills.
Social Services Specialist II (Former Employee), Lawton, OKApril 22, 2014
Pros: work week adjustments because not allowed any over time hours
Cons: no pay increases or job promotions
A typical day at work was receiving 35-50 calls per day and to return calls within 48 hours. To manage 375 case load management to provide assistance for state and federally funded programs.
I have learned from this job to maintain my professionalism even on the most difficult days. My professionalism is/was a reflection of the agency.
Oklahoma Dept – more... of Human Services management(County Director), was supportive and helpful.
The hardest part of the job was maintaining my composer with rude and disrespectful client's. It was difficult but was accomplished.
I worked with some of the most wonderful and caring co-workers.
My most enjoyable part of the job was that I had helped families maintain their quality of life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough job!
CHILD SUPPORT SPECIALIST (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKJanuary 6, 2014
The job is tough and the pay is not anywhere near where it should be, but I loved it. Having a great management team and co-workers makes all the difference.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and meaningful job
Child Welfare Aide (Former Employee), Chickasha, OKOctober 24, 2013
loved interacting with the children
being an inspiration and hope for children
mentally and physical strain
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive Colleagues, Poor Time Management
Child Welfare Specialist (Former Employee), Ada, OKOctober 22, 2013
Given the nature of the work, it's difficult to stay in it long-term no matter how supportive the work atmosphere was. Nevertheless, the management and colleagues were generally supportive and team-oriented. Still, given the fact that there is high turnover in this field and caseloads for individual social workers were way higher than should be, it – more... was nearly impossible to have a life outside of the position since on-call work hours did not stop at the one week assignment per month. Other than that, however, the team-oriented atmosphere was positive given the long work hours. Benefit coverage was excellent, but compensation was extremely poor given the high-stress nature and long work hours of the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great schedule, family atmosphere
Social Services Specialist II (Current Employee), Poteau, OKOctober 18, 2013
Pros: family friendly, great hours
Cons: very little room for advancement
A typical day for me includes processing cases, interviewing clients, reading policy to stay current, maintenance activities such as phone calls, emails, file work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most of the people we help are really trying to better themselves.
Social Service Specialist II (Current Employee), Idabel, OKSeptember 16, 2013
Pros: ability to take off when needed, people help each other when needed.
Cons: no raises, you sometimes feel like upper management does not have your back if something happens.
I interview clients all day and certify cases. I help other workers when they need help.
I have learned that there are a lot of people who need help and someone to listen to them
Most of our management are easy to get along with and are very helpful.
Co-workers mostly try to help each other and out clients.
The constant changing of our rules and programs.
Helping – more... other people and the other workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helpful environment
Social Services Specialist II (Current Employee), Tulsa, OKJuly 30, 2013
Pros: advancement possibilities, benefits
Cons: compensation
The most enjoyable part of my job is helping families become successful and self sufficient.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Child Welfare Specialist (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKJuly 29, 2013
Learned to investigate, testify in court, work with law enforcement, work with services providers, learned patience. Hardest part of job is the long hours and abused children
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice safe career
Social Service Specialist (Current Employee), Shawnee, OKJuly 20, 2013
Pros: able to work without supervision, sense of civic responsibility
Cons: low pay and very little advancement, dead-end career
A typical day at work is usually very hectic in nature. I complete new applications for benefits. I review policy for accuracy. I help fellow workers with questions in reviewing a case. I interview new and existing clients. I talk to clients, team member and management on a daily basis. I find needed resources that DHS does not provide. I have learned – more... to be very punctual with deadlines. I have learned how to be patient with clients and also co-workers who are not as self-motivated as I am. I have learned as well how to manage my time and keep myself organized. My management is great. They allow me to work with very little involvement. I have earned their trust with the quality of work that I produce. I really enjoy my co-workers. I have learned how to deal with many different personalities. The hardest part of my job is sometimes I can not help some people desperately in need because of policy I do not like. The most enjoyable part of my day is knowing that I have had a meaningful impact on someone else's life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a difficult company to be a part.
Programs Assistant Administrator (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKJune 18, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: management
This is an organization that meets an important need within the community.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends
Child Welfare II Social Worker II (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKMay 22, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: work ou
depends on which department you work at DHS, DDSD provides wonderful services, APS is heartbreaking at times. Child Welfare currently has systematic issues which need to be addressed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Stressful Job
Child Welfare Specialist (Current Employee), McAlester, OKMay 15, 2013
Pros: stability, medical benefits, pto
Cons: high stress, low pay grade, and paid monthly
I enjoy my job, but given the position I'm in, Child Welfare Specialist, you see and deal with situations that are very disturbing. There is no typical day in the office. It can be a calm day where you're able to get your appointments completed as planned; turn in your reports; or you may be called out to investigate an emergency situation and are unable – more... to get any of your planned tasks completed. That's the nature of the business if you will. I investigate allegations of abuse and determine the next appropriate steps to take. That may be petitioning the court for custody intervention, or putting programs in the home to build a better, stable home life. – less