Find companies:
Oklahoma State University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
128 reviews

Oklahoma State University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Location 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative work all around and research into new projects
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee), Stillwater, OKJanuary 19, 2014
It was good working on research having great co-workers from different background. Great way to learn new technology or concepts and get acquainted with them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Research Associate (Current Employee), Stillwater, OKJanuary 18, 2014
Pros: the research facilites and instruments available
Cons: it was a poorly managed institution, without checks and balances that promoted a good working culture, a lot of office politics and fear driven government was the biggest drawback
I learned how to conduct productive graduate level research. The chemistry that I did was focused on industrial applications and remediation for industry. The philosophical focus of my work was on nanotechnology in novel method and reagent development towards industrial applications. The premise that guided me personally was a low production cost and – more... high profit margin drive. In this setting I learned a wide scope of chemical instrumentation and chemical computational software. I learned how to interact with different peoples of the world, at the same time working in a team with diverse populations. The most enjoyable part of my job was doing research that developed new technologies and also teaching students of different backgrounds about chemical technologies. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work.
Staff Technologist-Computed Tomography Department (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKJanuary 16, 2014
Pros: employees are very nice to work with.
Cons: lack of available help when needed.
OSUMC has really inproved and updated the facility since I began working there. New equipment and updates...it is really coming along. The majority of the people who work at this facility are wonderful, caring and friendly among each other. I never really felt a closeness within my own department but I did enjoy working with other departments. I worked – more... pretty much alone on my shift and had asked for assistance several times but was told everyone was busy and I'd pretty much just have to make do. All in all I really liked working at this facility. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good University
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee), OklahomaDecember 31, 2013
Gives you all round experience in the field of Business Analytics
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly place to work, most everyone in all departments are friendly and helpful
Staff Technologist-Computed Tomography Department (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKDecember 30, 2013
Pros: all depts with in the hospital seem to work together well and most everyone is friendly and helpful.
Cons: at times very busy in a single person dept./management not very receptive to getting help
I personally worked as the single tech in a sometimes "too busy for that" department. Got very busy and stressful at times, other than that I always enjoyed my time at OSUMC.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place for people with passion in research!
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee), Stillwater, OKDecember 24, 2013
It's a great place with friendly people. It gives you the opportunity to work with people who really believe in what they are doing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Graduate Assistant (Current Employee), Stillwater, OKNovember 6, 2013
Great place to work! Professionalism and cooperative staff always for help.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching Flexibility
Online Adjunct Instructor (Current Employee), Oklahoma City, OKNovember 5, 2013
Online allows flexibility to balance my family and other work life
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Graphic Design
Tutor (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKOctober 31, 2013
I learned how to design website. I really enjoy designing for different places. I enjoy interacting with people. I also enjoy teaching people sign language.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy but a fun place to work
Financial Assistant II (Former Employee), Stillwater, OKOctober 23, 2013
Pros: benifits
Cons: pay
Loved working in the office setting, Facility and students were great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work overall
Extension Senior Secretary (Former Employee), Boise City, OKOctober 4, 2013
Overall it was a nice place to work. Upper management was great, friendly and great to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welcoming university with lots of benefits
Extension Associate, 4H/Youth Programs (Current Employee), Stillwater, OKOctober 1, 2013
Pros: free access to wellness center and gyms; discounts
Cons: none really
Traditional university with beautiful campus and many on- and off-campus events; health services on campus for acute needs; staff access to wellness center and gyms; professional development available in a wide variety of areas; staff discounts on athletic tickets; friendly on-campus culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best tenure and learning experience
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Department of Mechanical EnigneeringSeptember 26, 2013
As a Research Assistant in my master’s degree, I carried out wear analysis of nanostructured 9Cr steel for hybrid roller contact bearings. The wear life of bearing was improved 10 times than the existing steel. In my tenure as a Lab Assistant for 2 years, I trained over 400 students in laboratory in mechanical testing, surface preparation for metallographic – more... analysis, and root cause failure analysis of automotive and aerospace parts. As a part of my job I also conducted lectures on fundamental topics of Materials Science including role of materials and their properties in mechanical product design that helped me improve my technical, interpersonal and mass communication skills. I have set up new lab equipment, and was part of a lab maintenance team. I developed a strong ability to analyze and interpret the test data as well as evaluate the reports on materials testing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer jobs
Student Technician (Former Employee), Stillwater, OKSeptember 13, 2013
I only worked temp jobs here. I learned a lot of valuable job skills and new information to help me in my life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very diverse and Learning Environment
Patient Account/Service Representative (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKSeptember 11, 2013
Pros: great teaching facility
Cons: could not advance
A typical day in the ER was to have rooms assigned and to ensure that the demographic and insurance information was updated and or corrected in the system. Admit patients directly to the hospital, room control for the hospital.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i enjoy my job
Caterer, (Current Employee), Tulsa, OKSeptember 8, 2013
Cons: short handed
I clock in and start working on my catering for the day,I really like my position. I get to interact with people on a daily basis.I someone call in I'm moved to cover that position
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Surgeons Right Hand Man
Surgical Technologist (Former Employee), Columbus, OHAugust 12, 2013
Pros: working for the state
Cons: few breaks and shortened lunches
As a teaching hospital, I learned well beyond what I learned in school. The hardest part was knowing every surgeons routine during the operation. The most enjoyable part of my job was fitting in as part of team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Medical Office Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKJuly 31, 2013
Pros: random acts of kindness. daylight donut friday and lunches on holidays
Cons: short breaks and nigative co-workers
A couple of friends and myself interned there and we had a good time. They are very respectful and know how to welcome you into the work field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work enviornment.
Support Staff (Former Employee), Stillwater, OKJuly 25, 2013
Pros: free lunch, great international experience.
Cons: varation with the team members.
I really enjoyed working at the University Dining Services, it allowed me to do team work with different people from other cultures and different carrier backgrounds. It also gave me the oportunity to improve my communication skills to interact with our customers. Because the facilities of the University Dining Services were new, it gave us the opportunity – more... to analyze the system so we could improve. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun atmosphere but lack of communication
Event Staff (Former Employee), Stillwater, OKJuly 23, 2013
Pros: good experience
Cons: not enough hours
I enjoyed all aspects of the job. Decorating and design, manual labor, kitchen work and one on one customer service.

Oklahoma State University Photos