Find companies:
Oklahoma State University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
133 reviews

Oklahoma State University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Environment
Secretary/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Stillwater, OKApril 3, 2013
This was a very fast paced environment that included a lot of multi-tasking. I was in charge of conferences including telecommunication meetings. I ordered books and supplies for the professors, worked a lot with Microsoft Office programs, answering multiple phones, and several other secretary duties.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved everything about this job, Drs, co-workers, patients
RN (Former Employee), Stillwater, OKApril 1, 2013
Pros: 8-5, time to spend with my patients
Cons: management was weard
8-5 job, love it. Typical day was to get assignment,set up and stock for your assigned area.
Patients came in randomly, some had appointments. I took VS and history then to patient to Dr or providers exam room. I learned alot here, the Drs loved to teach. Co-workers were great, always helpful if someone got backed up, just a great crew. The most enjoyable – more... part of the job was the patients. I enjoyed talking to then and hearing how they were doing in school and there other problems. I tried haed to encourage then and come in for any problems or just when things got to be to much. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive
Graduate Teaching / Research Assistant (Former Employee), Stillwater, OKMarch 26, 2013
Pros: positive
College education experieince was very positive. Teaches and prepares students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN PLACE
Respiratory Therapist (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKMarch 20, 2013
I REALLY LIKE THE PEOPLE AND JOB. WORKED ICY. GOT ATTACHED TO PATIENTS AND FAMILIES.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay Keeps up with or exceeds other hospitals in the region
Former Employee (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKMarch 10, 2013
Compensation is good, Overall good to employees. Good employee appreciation . Some staffing issues just like other places. Teaching hospital, Osteopathic Medical School attached.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lost Army Contract
Systems Analyst (Former Employee), Aberdeen Proving Ground, MDFebruary 26, 2013
Oklahoma State University lost its contract with the Army in 2012, so it no longer has a field office at Aberdeen Proving Grounds.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Graduate research
Student Graduate Assistant (Former Employee), Stillwater, OKFebruary 21, 2013
Pros: paid tuition
Cons: bad health care, low pay, did not compensate for school fees
How do I review a GRA postition?? You dont get paid hardly anything and you get poor health care. the only thing that was good about my time as a GRA is that they paid tuition for my school. but they didnt pay the fees
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place.
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), Stillwater, OklahomaFebruary 16, 2013
Pros: free food
Cons: nothing
Love everything about Oklahoma State University.The faculty and infrastructure is splendid if not the best in the country.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to do Science, learn new technologies, opportunities to present research
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee), Stillwater, OklahomaFebruary 9, 2013
Do experiments.Learn proteomics and mass spectrometry techniques, interact with mentor and fellow students, trouble shoot core facility protocols.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, diverse population of students makes it an enjoyable workplace
Computer Lab Assistant (Former Employee), Stillwater, OKFebruary 3, 2013
Learned a lot about other cultures/countries
Helpful co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Certified Nurse Aid Secretary (Current Employee), Oklahoma CityJanuary 30, 2013
Pros: na
Cons: bad management, no raises
I enjoy working with students but the management could use some work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was in charge of maintaining the mac labs in the art building.
Lab technician (Former Employee), Bartlett CenterJanuary 23, 2013
Pros: made my own hours.
Cons: limited number of work hours i could record.
Being in charge of the mac labs included printer maintenance and upkeep, mac maintenance and upkeep, management of software and the art building network, and providing tutorials for teachers or their within the art building. Majority of the my time was spent helping out other students with their problems and address them in a manor as quickly as possible. – more... I worked with one other student and we split our time equally on duty. I was managed by the head of the Art Building but his knowledge of networks and mac maintenance was limited so myself and my colleague had near free reign on the job. The hardest part of the job was also the most enjoyable. Being on call 24/7 made for some crazy hours because students were in the labs at all hours of the day. I got to meet lots of students in other departments and it kept the job interesting. What I valued most from this job was time management. It taught me to juggle a work and personal class schedule. I had to be sure to budget my time well, because it was impossible to predict when my help was needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Faculty Position
Instructor, Construction Management (Current Employee), Okmulgee, OKJanuary 22, 2013
This is a rewarding position that allows one to assist in training the construction managers of tomorrow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice quite place to work and live
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Stillwater, OK 74078January 20, 2013
Pros: quite place, people are friendly
Cons: small town, all facilities may not be available
Very Productive place to work
People are helpful
Quite place
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational experience
Job Placement Coach (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKJanuary 17, 2013
Pros: benefits, satisfaction of helping the students
Cons: micro manager
Was a very good institution to work for, Manager was excellent, Supervisor was a micro manager.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research assitant
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Stillwater, OkJanuary 16, 2013
• Development of reversed- phase monolithic columns for the HPLC proteomic seperations
• Identifying increased level of silylated and fucosylated proteins using quaternary HPLC pumps and fractionation using lectin affinity chromatography
• Perform 2-D gel electrophoresis using acrylamide gels for each protein fractions collected from breast cancer serum – more... and normal serum
• Analyzing each protein fractions using LTQ-orbitrap mass spectrometer coupled to nanoelectrospray
• Utilize proteome software such as scaffold builder and mascot to analyze glycoproteins
• Capable of using sigmaplot
• Separation derivatised amino acids such using Capillary electro chromatography – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great upbeat place to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Stillwater, OKJanuary 16, 2013
Pros: discount on sporting event tickets
always was encourage to advance in training and take seminars, enjoyed getting envolved with the United Way campaign activities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful RA Experience
Resident Advisor (Current Employee), Stillwater, OKJanuary 13, 2013
Easy job working with students one on one with great compensation benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great university
Teaching & Research Assistant (Current Employee), Stillwater, OKJanuary 11, 2013
During my PhD years, I've learned a lot and had great experience with wonderful professors and students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, supportive and family environment
Graduate Assistant of the OSU Equestrian Team (Former Employee), Stillwater, OKJanuary 9, 2013
Pros: family environment, very helpful and adjustable
Cons: tough environmental working conditions, early hours
From Monday to Friday, I drive to the OSU Equestrian Barn at 8:30. I start the day with unlocking the offices and locker room. I then create a schedule to assign a particular horse to each team member and post it on the bulletin board. The team arrives at the barn around 9 where I help them prepare their horses for practice. In the absence of the head – more... coach, I am in charge of conducting practice. I usually teach for 2 hours. When I am not needed for practice, I am in the office filing paper work and answering phone calls. I keep track of all the medical and personal information of teammates in folders and organize them alphabetically. When OSU Equestrian hosts NCAA official recruits, I am in charge of showing them around our facilities as well as OSU's campus. I also shuttle recruits to and from their hotels and the airport when needed. The best part about my job is that I still get to be involved with the team I spent 4 years of my undergraduate with. Throughout my experiences as being a graduate assistant, I've learned time management skills and leadership skills. While I was on the team, I was more focused on winning our competitions. As a graduate assistant, I've learned how to use my leadership skills to guide younger teammates by providing personal counseling and social support. The hardest thing about my job is the working conditions. OSU Equestrian's barn is not air-conditioned or heated so weather can be troublesome. – less