Old Dominion Freight Line Employee Reviews in United States

Found 229 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent coworkers at same level
Line haul/ Driver Trainer- LVC Trainer & Examiner (Former Employee) –  Grand Junction, CO 81501August 26, 2016
I would rather not give specifics about the company due to possible conflicts that may arise in the future for potential employees.
Pros
great drivers
Cons
very political and vengeful management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
dockworker (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNAugust 22, 2016
very laid back everyone gets along i love the hours of operation my co workers are esy to get along with supervisors hepls when they are needed and pretty much a good job to work for
Pros
good benefits
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company.
Outbound Dock Associate (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 17, 2016
Great company to work. Great team to work for. Management is good. A great work environment.

Just wish they had more openings for Full Time & more hours to work.
Pros
Great Work Environment.
Cons
Just wish they had more openings.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Twelve hour shifts,fast paced.
Equipment Operator (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INAugust 14, 2016
Load and unload trucks, while learning driver routes,and solving load problems. Also there are times we cross load to pic up more freight. Also decided which routes would be faster for on time delivery.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job I had for money
Driver (Former Employee) –  Carlisle, PAAugust 4, 2016
Takes a while to move into a good run but the pay was great. I did extremely well until there was a new line haul manager. Communication was scarce and everyone seemed to have an attitude with the drivers. Overall great place to work to pay all your bills but it can burn you out if you don't pace yorself
Pros
Pay
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
RECEIVING ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAAugust 1, 2016
Pay is horrible management is nice though. Not much room for growth with in a reasonable amount of time
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Good Company to work for
Dock Worker/Strapper (Current Employee) –  Bloomington, CAJuly 23, 2016
I love working for Old Dominion, they pay very well and they have flexible hours and they treat you like family. They also have good benefits and lots of opportunities.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A decent place to work
BILL ENTRY SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  Thomasville, NCJuly 17, 2016
I worked there for about a year and half as a bill entry production specialist. The work was boring, but the pay was $20+ per hour depending on your level of productivity. There wasn't a ton of room for advancement, but they did promote within the company instead of hiring outsiders. We were treated well by the company. The health benefits were amazing. I developed carpal tunnel from my job which was ultimately why I left. I didn't much like the hours since they were from 6pm until about 3am monday through friday, but it wasn't terrible. They gave two weeks of vacation for one year of employment as well as 2 paid sick days. I would work for them again.
Pros
pay, benefits, free food often, free t shirts, paid time off, paid holidays
Cons
the hours, missing work could lower your pay
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Monday- Friday set schedule, weekends and holidays off.
Clerical Associate (Former Employee) –  Dracut, MAJune 30, 2016
I loved how much they worked with me. I had my own comfortable office, my hours were perfect, I got to go home for lunch and my coworkers were all amazing. I only left because I had to temporarily move to Florida.
Pros
Free lunch every Friday, weekends and Holidays off, pay great for my age
Cons
No cons.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productivity is the main goal.
Scanner/SVC Clerk (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 29, 2016
Outbound shift is a very fast pace job. time is always against you and you just have to learn to handle situations as they come.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BBQ cookouts and appreciations
Intermodal Manager (Former Employee) –  Dallas-Fort Worth, TXJune 27, 2016
watches for the best of its employees and what it takes to make OD a strong company . Like everyone else in the transportation industry it is having to make layoffs to keep P & L strong.Great company and great training methods and tools to use everyone is will to help out co-workers
Pros
treats everyone like you were one big family
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if your willing to put in the work
LEAD DOCKWORKER (Current Employee) –  Saint Charles, MOJune 24, 2016
Worked hard, and it paid off. Driving a forklift, and completing orders with your crew. It is physical labor. It is a great place to start your career in frieigt because it offers room for growth and constant learning opportunites within the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  TennesseeJune 23, 2016
This job is highly demanding but if you dont mind working then its a great place to work. Its a very small close knit group that works and depends on each other to make sure the product gets to where it needs to go. Management takes care of the staff with monthly cookouts, foods or treats for the job we do. Old Domiinion takes care of its employees,
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Old Dominion Freight Line
Expedited Specialist (Former Employee) –  Thomasville, NCJune 22, 2016
Job duties included excel spreadsheets, answer phones, and being very orgainized
I learned a lot about tracking a shipment for customers, making sure it delivered on time
Management was very understanding. Open door policy
Hardest part about work was it was always busy
I enjoyed all my co-workers
Pros
Lunch was reasonable
Cons
Miss working at the corporate office
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Dock Supervisor (Current Employee) –  West Columbia, SCJune 21, 2016
A great company to work for, with outstanding benefits. Great team of guys that I work with and would never talk bad of Old Dominion. Take care of their employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNo6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place but no stability
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Commerce City, COJune 17, 2016
job was ok just not enough stability sometimes I would walk in to start my shift and they would say we don't need you today so you could go home it would have been nice to get a call letting me know.
Pros
pay
Cons
stability, shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful job at times
Supervisor and Dockworker (Former Employee) –  Saint Joseph, MO and Kansas City, KansasJune 14, 2016
Full Time as a Dockworker is 60 hour weeks, Overtime is paid over 60 hrs. You are working out in the environment. Loading and unloading pallets of freight.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Long Hours, Weekends, Holidays, Outdoor
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ugh
Weight and Inspection (Former Employee) –  Commerce City, COJune 8, 2016
Nothing to say about it. While on the dock I succeeded in job advancement. I took a position that lead me to getting laid off because the company had no need for my position anymore. You'd figure if you generate the company close to a half million dollars a year that the position would be needed but i guess not!
Pros
Pay
Cons
Corperate management
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours had work in all conditions
Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Sparks, NVJune 8, 2016
Construction industry feast of famine depending on economy and local growth. Layoffs in winter time and long hours during the summer. Laid off entire work force in 2010
Pros
rewarding work and team effort
Cons
layoff in winter
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good Place to work but Its Cut Throat
Line Haul Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Harrisburg, PAJune 7, 2016
It was pretty cool until u make a mistake a they will get rid of you quickly. Everyone is respectful and laid back but like I said dont make a mistake
Pros
Nice people
Cons
Cut Throat
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 230 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.3
Culture
3.7