Find companies:
Old Dominion University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
101 reviews

Old Dominion University United States Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a great opportunity to gain experience
Recreation and Wellness Center Facility Manager (Current Employee), Norfolk, VANovember 8, 2014
Working at the Student Recreation Center is the most wanted job on the Old Dominion campus. I'm forever grateful for the opportunities I've had since being employed there. I've advanced from a customer service rep. to a facility manager(which is the highest student position). The job requires a lot but I've definitely gained manager experience that is essential to the work world. It is a unique job to have as a student because things are constantly changing in your life as well as the people you are employed with. Each semester is always different as people graduate and you have to adjust to different scheduling, employees, and university policies. The hardest part about the job is having good communication between staff. The most enjoyable part is the interaction between students and faculty of the university.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Norfolk, VANovember 3, 2014
I learned a great deal about analytics, the research process, and how to coordinate working on several projects at the same time. It was always a great time. The professors and graduate students were incredibly helpful and inclusive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good review on Bioelectrics Center, Old Dominion University
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Norfolk, VAOctober 31, 2014
I like to work with my PhD advisor. He is very kind and efficient on his work and very helpful on my PhD research. Very considerate. I also enjoyed My Teaching experience in the past 3 years. Learned a lot to deal with students with different background. I enjoyed my research of ablation cardiac tissue. The hardest part is tissue sectioning.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Labor intensive
Building Preventive Maintenance Technician (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAOctober 24, 2014
A typical day at work could be doing work orders for buildings. I learned to do a lot of hands on type tasks to fix things around the house. The management was very nice and willing to work with you and well as the co-workers. The hardest part of the job is the end of the summer when all the building have to be cleaned for the students on campus in a period of a few weeks. The most enjoyable part of the job was that it was on campus where I lived.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to gain Knowledge
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), Norfolk,VAOctober 10, 2014
Good place to gain Knowledge and Good opportunities available to support your studies at Old Dominion University.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
student
student (Former Employee), Abingdon, VAOctober 4, 2014
ODU was a great experience. I was a distance learning student, and had to collaborate in group projects with other students all over the country. I had to learn new technology and how to prioritize the needs of the group.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent School to Acquire Knowledge
COMPUTER SCIENCE TECHNICIAN (Former Employee), Norfolk, VASeptember 24, 2014
This role was rewarding as it served as a great introduction to the work life. The responsibilities involved daily interactions with the business clients and meeting their requirements from a software and hardware perspective. This role eventually afford me an opportunity to serve as a team lead where management skills where challenged and grown.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very low pay
Executive Assistant (Current Employee), Norfolk, VASeptember 2, 2014
Pros: holiday season 2 weeks off with pay
Cons: very low compensation
Very low pay for Administrative Staff
Not a lot of opportunity for promotion
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved this job
ODU Athletics (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAAugust 19, 2014
Worked with the football team, this would be my ideal dream job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
University
ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAAugust 13, 2014
Enjoyed working here. Meeting new people. Great place to work in an education setting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Calm Relaxed Environment
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAAugust 13, 2014
Pros: environment
Database entry using Excel, Word, Outlook, Office Management by maintaining office filing and storage systems, keeping filing management system for electronic and paper documents organized, distributing and filing all incoming mail, performing errands that assist daily functions, and performing general reception duties, Staff assistance, Assist in all aspects of event planning and implementation for events
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great coworkers, positive environment
Communications Coordinator (Current Employee), Koch HallAugust 12, 2014
Most enjoyable part about the job: workplace culture is diverse and coworkers are passionate about the University.

Least enjoyable part about the job: unclear about promotion opportunities
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aramark n/a
Kitchen Man. Supervisor Responsibilities (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAAugust 2, 2014
Cons: short breaks
NOT GOOD. Management awful. There was nothing good about working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Branch of William & Mary
Adjunct Professor (Current Employee), Norfolk, VirginiaJuly 30, 2014
Students are eager to learn

Job Culture is positive with ability to find research opportunities
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stimulating work environment
Researcher (Current Employee), Norfolk, VirginiaJuly 2, 2014
There is no "typical" day for a graduate research assistant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer intern
Laboratory Assistant (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAJune 24, 2014
Worked as a summer intern after my senior year in high school. Was not given much guidance and mostly ran inventory checks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ODU
Night Desk Receptionist (Current Employee), Norfolk, VAJune 14, 2014
Old Dominion University is a great institution. You get out what you put in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Social Science Research Center (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAMay 31, 2014
great pay
nice boss
great students
make your own hours
can be boring and tedious
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse work place, lots of good people
Enrollment Services (Current Employee), Norfolk, VAMay 8, 2014
Pros: holiday time off
Cons: parking fee, gym fee
Great opportunity to work in a diverse environment. Friendly staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a student worker. I enjoyed working there.
Student Worker (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAMay 8, 2014
It was fine. I was a student worker so it was oriented more towards me completing my schoolwork than the advancement of the "company"