Oldcastle Employee Reviews

Found 257 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the inviorment was alot off complaining and not much room to move up.
Concrete Lead, Form Setup, Laborer (Current Employee) –  Ogden, UTApril 25, 2017
they had layoffs every winter around Christmas it made it hard to spend much. it was dirty and seemed know one was happy. it came from the top down what the workers thought dident matter.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent place to work. Great personnel and team work.
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Butler, WI 53007April 24, 2017
Managed a full service glass manufacturing & distribution facility with 24 full time employees. Encompassing; Customer Service, Sales, Office, Purchasing, HR, Safety, Production, Shipping & Receiving, Quality Control and Drivers.

Annual budget targets (sales & PBIT) were consistently achieved or surpassed due to team work.

There was an open door policy between myself & employees.

I reported directly to the Central President. The management was accessible and open to suggestions from all GM's.

It was a fun place to work and at the same time getting the job done.
I can honestly say it was one of the best places I have ever worked at.
Pros
Company bonus depending on yearly sales.
Cons
Many company meetings out of state.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Human Resources Manager (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAApril 24, 2017
I don't feel it would be appropriate to leave a review of my employer at this time. In the future I may return and leave one when it is appropriate to do so.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great hours and benefits
Benefits/Payroll/Admin Assistant (Current Employee) –  Wilsonville, ORApril 22, 2017
Great hours and benefits with a strong work/life balance. Fast moving industry with many different opportunities to move up. Sick pay and vacation pay are nice perks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Compensation and poor adavancement opportunities
Territory Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Atlanta,GaApril 21, 2017
Salary cut 11% this year and put on hourly salary. Eligibilty for overtime is a ruse very little approved. This was supposed done to be in in compliance with FLSA law but again false.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
M&a
Business Development Bridge Products (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYApril 17, 2017
My position was eliminated when Oldcasyle sold tbe marketing rights to Contech. I enjoyed working for Oldcastle and I feel I was treated professionally and fairly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
"Prison" Block factory
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Leesburg, VAApril 8, 2017
There are reasons this "machine operator" position starts at 17 hr. and none of them are good.
-12+ hour days
-no breaks at all
-very loud/dangerous
-lots of physical (shovel) work
-hardly any PPE
-worst management/staff anywhere
Pros
None
Cons
You will be working with them
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Benefits and a Safety Oriented Culture
IT Systems Analyst (Former Employee) –  Terrell, TXMarch 30, 2017
This is a company that believes in taking care of its employees.

They provide a good benefit package which includes shared cost and matching incentives.

They conduct regular team building, safety exercises. They have built a very strong and successful safety culture.
Pros
Safety, Benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A+ Company
Anonymous (Former Employee) –  Chandler, AZMarch 27, 2017
Great company to work for. Hard work pays off because they promote within the company. Great pay but long hours. Very safety conscious and a lot of safety training. And everyone will willing to help you learn along the way.
Pros
Great pay/ Good Management/ Great Benefits
Cons
Long hours/ Working Outside/ Very Loud
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome enviorment and business acumen
Cust Srv Rep/Dispatch Coord (Current Employee) –  Crofton, MDMarch 19, 2017
The hours were fixed and a exciting environment. How to coordinate, dispatch budget, budget kin a fast past work place, get, problem solving. The workplace environment was self directed and encouraged to own problem in a timely manner. Time management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Spokane, WAMarch 13, 2017
Oldcastle offers a lot. You can go many directions and flexibility with daily schedule. They have fantastic benefits and do a lot of outside work activities. Very involved with the community and I feel that is very important.
Pros
Lots of diversity workwise
Cons
Management - very scattered
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Oldcastle - Belgard Hardscapes
Marketing Coordinator, Belgard Hardscapes (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMarch 8, 2017
CHQ HQ in Atlanta - great company - good ole boy network.It was a great position with challenges every day trying to stay ahead of the curve - working with the field staff was always fun and exciting as they truly cared about what they offered their clients. I was stunned when I was let go due to the economy at the time.
Pros
Great product - great team of contractors and sales teams across US
Cons
Good ole boy network
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Fabrication Team Member (Former Employee) –  Terrell, TXMarch 3, 2017
It was a long day, but productive work experience, I loved working on the individual projects. I worked on different fabrication teams and enjoyed working on all of them from basic fabrication to advanced CNC set up and fabrication.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Oldcastle is good company to work for
Transportation Manager (Current Employee) –  Lebanon, TNFebruary 16, 2017
Oldcastle is a good and secure company to work for, The only issue is there is no room for advancement and they do not take anyone's opinions
Pros
alot of good co workers
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the work.
Fabrication Technician (Former Employee) –  Wausau, WIFebruary 2, 2017
Was able to show my skills in several departments.
Was also able to go out in the field,and help make
Any repairs needed.
#1- Always knew what you were going to do.
#2-I learned so many skills.
#3-Management was changing constantly.
#4- Culture was very diverse, many types of people.
#5-Hardest part of job was lifting extremely heavy
Windows.
#6-Most enjoyable part was the pay.
Pros
NICE HOURS
Cons
EXCESSIVE OVERTIME
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJanuary 31, 2017
Love working for this company but there just isn't as much opportunity for growth on the sales side like I would like. Work/life balance is great and I my managers are awesome.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Napoleon, OHJanuary 30, 2017
it was hard work don't stay on the same station everyday have to be communicative in order to keep up to date with the production and management. best part was clocking out
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Extrusion Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Terrell, TXJanuary 29, 2017
Good company to work for. Good management. Strong safety culture. Treats employees well. Aquired skills with curtain wall extrusion. 12 hour shifts with every other weekend off.
Pros
Good pay and benefits
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Junior Estimator (Former Employee) –  Jessup, MDJanuary 26, 2017
Great benefits package and health care coverage. Leading provider of building materials in the USA and over all treated me well. I only left due to relocation
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work
Lab tech and Qc (Former Employee) –  Auburndale, FLJanuary 26, 2017
Love meeting new people. The company had great benefits and the workers were very good employees. The workers are always willing to help when you needed a hand great people to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Oldcastle. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 269 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
2.7
Culture
3.0

CEO Approval

66%
63 ratings
Add your rating