Olga's Kitchen Employee Reviews

Showing all 49 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice workplace
Food server (Former Employee) –  Saint Clair Shores, MIDecember 15, 2015
easy to move up in the company if you apply yourself. good money during weekends and lunch time. management is understanding and friendly.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
quick service casual dining
Server (Former Employee) –  Troy, MINovember 30, 2015
Olgas was one of my first jobs and I went back to it when I returned from college. It was easy work with take home money everyday. We did not deal with corporate much, just the store manager and he was stern but fair. Great foundation for my work ethic.
Pros
Take home money daily
Cons
Servers wage of 65% of minimum wage
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Server (Current Employee) –  Westland, MIOctober 29, 2015
Always a good time whenever I work. Managers are so fun and everyone is easy to get along with. I enjoy the physical part of it, most of the time you are running around the restaurant so you are never bored.
Pros
Great atmosphere
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Olgas review
Restaurant General Manager (Former Employee) –  Troy, MIOctober 3, 2015
Olgas is a friendly and smaller company that helps gain knowledge of working closely with senior level management.
The work/home life is lopsided and leans heavily on 6 day long shifts.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Server (Former Employee) –  Novi, MIAugust 17, 2015
Worked at Olgas Kitchen for one year. Typical work day included making sure items were stocked for a full days work, packaging food, answering phones and taking orders, delivering food to customers cars at curbside to go, handling and managing cash drawer. Hardest part of the job was being understaffed and having to take the role on of several peoples jobs while i'm trying to give the customers the satisfaction they deserve. The most enjoyable part of the job was getting it all done and feeling accomplished.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great food, good people to work with
Cook (Former Employee) –  Dearborn Heights, MIAugust 8, 2015
Enjoyed working there. Started out as a hostess, then moves to waitress and eventually a cook. Most of the managers were friendly but it was almost difficult to get into management.
Pros
disounted food, contest to centered around the food
Cons
hard to get into management
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful work environment
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Novi, MIJune 22, 2015
Company going through great financial struggle at that time. No room for advancement in company.
Enjoyed giving great customer service experiences to long standing guests!
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
SERVER/COOK/HOST (Former Employee) –  Sterling Heights, MIJune 12, 2015
A typical day consisted of meeting customers expectations for their orders. Also closing and opening the store which included all cleaning tasks.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable workplace
Server (Current Employee) –  Taylor MIApril 6, 2015
A typical day at work consists of Greeting and serving customers, cleaning jobs, side work jobs, and closing the restaurant. I learned how to process payments, and how to work with customers on a daily basis. The co-workers are always helpful and make work fun. The hardest part of the job is keeping track of multiple tables and what each one wants (if you have multiple tables). The most enjoyable part of the job is working with the co-workers and meeting new people everyday.
Pros
1/2 off meals, meeting new people, co-workers, tips.
Cons
short breaks, rude customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Olgas
Server/Waiter (Former Employee) –  West Bloomfield Township, MIJanuary 21, 2015
Working at Olgas was a great life lesson for me. My experience working at Olgas was terrible. The wait staff was horrible, my managers were awful.

However working there taught me that I will come across people and have co-workers who I may not like but will have to work with and get along with in the work place. I learned how to focus on my tasks and ignore my co workers who were often rude to me or lazy.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No

Want to know more about Olga's Kitchen?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Full Time (Former Employee) –  MichiganDecember 7, 2014
Terrible culture and upper management in this company is a joke. Stay away.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyone was fun to work with
Waitress/Certified Trainer (Current Employee) –  Novi, MINovember 12, 2014
Over all it was a very good place to work. It just wasnt working with my schedule as a mom.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is great! Love the flexible work schedule!
Certified Trainer (Current Employee) –  Old Orchard LocationSeptember 5, 2014
Management is great! Love the flexible work schedule!

At Olgas Kitchen I have really had the opportunity to perfect my customer service skills and learn how to work with different types of people with very diverse backgrounds. Its been a pleasure so far!
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience working with public
Waitress (Current Employee) –  Alton, ILJuly 21, 2014
I enjoyed working with new people under corporation. I gain more knowledge on do's and don’ts in a restaurant. Also, working with the public and gaining patience is always a positive view.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for starting servers.
HOSTESS/SERVER (Former Employee) –  Novi, MIJune 24, 2014
Fast paced job, management was good, the co-workers were friendly and helped when needed, the hardest part of the job was being on my feet for so long at a time but the best part of the job was satisfying the customers with full bellys and great customer service!
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Corporate atmosphere
Cook/Dishwasher/Carry-Out/Host (Former Employee) –  Woodhaven, MIJune 11, 2014
Olga's kitchen was a very corporate atmosphere where I was unable to have job security or the ability to advance in my career.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Line Cook- Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Taylor, MIMay 23, 2014
Working at Olga's was fun. Every day I would keep my area clean and tidy, and also get any of my prep work done all while doing the dishes, cooking, or making the bread, which ever area I was in that day. my co-workers were all nice, and very helpful. the hardest part of the job would have to be when you are looking at anywhere from 8-15 tickets up and it is all between me and one other person making all the orders, but business is business.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful environment
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Brighton, MIMay 20, 2014
Working at Olga's was not my favorite place. The management was not flexible nor understanding of needing time off.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place
Restaurant Manager (Former Employee) –  Troy, MIMarch 13, 2014
Loved working there, and they guest that came in where awesome
Pros
unique food
Cons
didn't deliver on they promise
Was this review helpful?YesNo6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great restaurant idea
Culinary Specialist (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MIFebruary 16, 2014
Olga's has a great product, mediterranean cuisine in a demographic native to the products they offer.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No5

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 49 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture