Olin Corporation Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Team Assembler (Former Employee) –  East Alton, ILJanuary 13, 2018
This was a decent company to work and had a lot of overtime. Good management and benefits and a good pension. It was a laid back atmosphere and stress free.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
caustic and chlorine plant
Main Control Room Operator (Former Employee) –  Augusta, GAJanuary 11, 2018
start day with turnover on plant conditions take readings pull samples make adjustments per readings and samples prepare equipment LOTO for maint. to work on
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid company
Lab Process Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Roberta, GADecember 28, 2017
Olin is a great company to be a part of and it has excellent fundamentals that it tries to instill in its work culture. Safety is a priority in the manufacturing sector, and that is what is most important at the end of the day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy manufacturing plant with 2000+ employees
Watch Engineer (Former Employee) –  East Alton, ILNovember 23, 2017
Worked there 30 years, and intended on retiring from this company . The CEO and Board of Directors sold off the division I worked for with no advance warning resulting in my job being eliminated.
Pros
Good pay and benefits
Cons
No communication from upper management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a very productive place to work
Shipping Operator (Former Employee) –  McIntosh, ALNovember 20, 2017
it was a great experience and im glad i got the opertunity! the people is what made that a good job! Iy was great experience in the chemical workplace!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
MACHINE OPER/ASSEMBLY LINE PACKER (Former Employee) –  Oxford, MSNovember 14, 2017
It's a ok place to work if you don't have a family. Cause you will not spend no time with them. They force ovetime on you. The manger talk down to you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay
Quality Control Inspector (Current Employee) –  East Alton, ILNovember 10, 2017
Fast paced. Great pay. Forced overtime. Point system is very tight. Shift work. Overall not a bad company to work for. This is a union job. They do lay off from time to time.
Pros
Pay, benefits, co workers
Cons
Not very secure
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work for a short period of time
Production Engineer (Current Employee) –  Freeport, TXNovember 3, 2017
Pros - Good work life management, EH&S is a top priority, balanced culture.

Cons - Acquisition of Blue Cube LLC has left the company disorganized & ineffective. Bad management & leadership.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job in all
Machine Operator/fork lift (Former Employee) –  East Alton, ILOctober 25, 2017
olin good place too work is just long hrs somedays u dont get too see your family much because u work so much and u cant plain anything with your familys because of the hrs u work
Pros
the pay is good
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for.
Cap Operator (Former Employee) –  East Alton, ILSeptember 28, 2017
Olin Corp is a well known company that produces ammunition in the Winchester division. It offers great benefits and in my case, I was able to retire with a pension of 32 years.
Pros
Good benefits, full time job, two fifteen minute breaks a day
Cons
Shift work, mandatory overtime, extreme absentee pount system
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Adjustor (Current Employee) –  Oxford, MSSeptember 26, 2017
it's busy day , the skills it take to set up and maintain equipment to make good parts . management cares about your ideas and input .it is great a great work environment . there is no hard part . to know that your managers cares about you and you can talk to them at any time.
Pros
great job
Cons
flexibility
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place
Marketing Manager (Former Employee) –  East Alton, ILSeptember 7, 2017
Typical day - meetings, phone calls to consumers, and planning various events. I learned if there were problems, bring a solution to rectify them before going to my Director. Workplace culture great. Hardest part of the job - nothing. The most enjoyable part of the job everything,
Pros
Great salary, great place to work.
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience.
Centerfire cap operator (Former Employee) –  East Alton, ILAugust 30, 2017
It was a fun place to work at. I learned a lot and was happy working there. I did production and quality work there. I worked a lot of overtime which I didn't mind doing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
too long ago
Sr. Accounting Services Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Stamford, CTAugust 23, 2017
Sorry I cant possibly remember everything, but in the 80's, Olin Corporation was like a country club. We were spoiled rotten. I truly miss the old culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers but horrible management
Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Charleston, TNAugust 22, 2017
Needs new management. Needs accountability for management. Rules need to apply to everyone. Employees morale tends to be negative and in general down all the time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Adjuster II (Former Employee) –  Oxford, MSAugust 11, 2017
A great place to work. Nothing bad to say. Everyone works together as a team to get the job done. You can work as much overtime as you want. Competitive pay.
Pros
Great Benefits!!
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  East Alton, ILJuly 13, 2017
Meet wonderful people. The job was very demanding. The company could use help in the HR department. The insurance, vision, dental and pension funds could also be improved.
Pros
Lunch included in 8 hour days
Cons
Last minute forced overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Smaller Business atmosphere. Care for their employees, team outings etc. With Flexible schedules
Pricing Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Midland, MIJune 22, 2017
Great place to work, flexible schedules. Smaller business feel, allows for you as an employee to feel valued. Training courses offered to expand your knowledge within your role. Team lunches/meetings often provided and planned, allows for more unity through out the office environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Freat environment
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Winchester, MSJune 12, 2017
Good com panybwith great pay I have worked for this company for 10yrs. Many jobs here to choose from. Hard to get a job at this company so one people get in the keep the job.
Pros
Great hours lots of overtime
Cons
Hot in building
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid place to work
Process Operator (Current Employee) –  Freeport, TXJune 10, 2017
I can only speak for my block. Though we are olin we were formerly employees of Dow Chemical. So our culture has been predominately Dow Chemical. Which is good. Olin has started to implement their type of culture gradually. I will say at the moment as a group we feel the managment could be better and more understanding of how we do things here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Olin Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 135 reviews
537
441
340
29
18

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
4.1Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture