Find companies:
Olin Corporation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
24 reviews

Olin Corporation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Management Information Support Specialist (Former Employee), Oxford, MSMarch 18, 2014
the most enjoyable part of my job was helping my customers on a daily basis to acheive their goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive, enjoyable.
Boilermaker (Current Employee), East Alton, ILFebruary 28, 2014
Pros: local, busy, fast-pace
Cons: lay off
Olin Corporation has been a good place to work for the past 3 years. I have enjoyed the opportunities I have had with them and would continue with them until I retire however with a pending lay off status, I am being forced to look for another job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and busy place
MIS Support Specialist (Current Employee), Oxford, MSFebruary 27, 2014
A typical day at work would be answering help desk calls and assisting coworkers with issues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fair company wish they were not relocating
Winchester Division, Maintenance Electrician (Current Employee), East Alton, ILFebruary 8, 2014
Pros: good pay and work conditions
Cons: the company is moving.
Building and troubleshooting electrical single phase and three phase circuits. Co-workers make the time past quickly and the help they offer is always welcome. Trying to find parts and prints can be very hard. When you fix the problem that has been a real pain,is very good feeling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and safe
quality verifications (Former Employee), East Alton, ILDecember 30, 2013
Pros: safely lunch
Work safely and always identify your surrounding for near miss.I enjoy my co- workers. There was nothing hard about my job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work...but not the best pay in the industry
Electrical/Instrumentation Designer (Former Employee), Henderson, NVDecember 29, 2013
Pros: ice cream at the electrical shack, co-workers
Cons: pay rate
I went to work for Olin Corporation in June 2010 on contract.

I was treated like one of the staff, not just another contractor.

The Engineers I worked primarily for were knowledgeable on the work and know that plant inside and out, yet humble, easy to communicate with and fantastic to work with.

I was given responsibilities of working on Electrical, – more... Instrumentation & Controls as well as helping out the Process Engineers on projects and performing walk downs and updating P&ID's. Worked directly with the Electricians and Instrumentation Techs, it was great.

I sometimes kick myself for leaving, but I knew I would never be afforded the chance to become a direct hire employee and the pay scale wasn't the best for the industry, but the environment made up for it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The pay and benefits are very competative with the rest on Manufacturing jobs
Inspection / Machinery Operations / Clerical (Former Employee), East Alton, ILDecember 9, 2013
Pros: good pay good benefits
Cons: jobs have been eliminated in illinois
forced overtime heavily but are compensated for it good, upper management is in the cut employees mode, they moved a lot of Winchester Ammunition to Oxford Mississippi and much more leaving from East Alton Illinois,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employer with a good benefit program.
Temporary Pension Specialist (Current Employee), Clayton, MODecember 8, 2013
I have been given the opportunity to learn additional areas of the pension department. Though I am a temp, management has taken their time to give me instruction and guidance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High quality product with a name recognized world-wide
Adjuster II (Former Employee), East Alton, ILDecember 5, 2013
Pros: safety conscience of their employees and thorough programs to help protect and inform employees.
Cons: unexpected 16 hour shifts
Working for Winchester ammunition, you always had a sense of pride knowing that you made the very best ammunition in the world. Knowing that you were providing the ammunition to our troops working so diligently to protect your freedom made you put that extra effort into the quality that helped Olin/Winchester to earn ISO standards and Certification, – more... It was the kind of job that paid well enough to raise a family. The insurance and benefits were outstanding. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loud place to work
Machine Operator/Assembler (Former Employee), East Alton, ILNovember 5, 2013
Pros: choice of shifts to work
Cons: a lot of the jobs are very phsyical
Union environment with a lot of departments. The insurance and benefits package was very good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
alot of over time
Driver/Forklift Operator (Current Employee), East Alton, ILOctober 17, 2013
Pros: good pay
Cons: forced overtime
fast paced . co-workers are good to work with . hardest part of the day is getting forced over
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Factory Job that was very physically challenging
Tractor Operator/Forklift Operator (Former Employee), East Alton, ILAugust 22, 2013
At this job, I would be responsible for ensuring that materials were delivered to the department that needed it. My co-workers were helpful at times. The hardest part of the job was the rotating schedule. It is not easy to switch shift each week. But the pay and benefits were good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and Rewarding
Manager (Current Employee), Oxford, MSJuly 9, 2013
Pros: good pay
Cons: lack of opportunity for growth.
A typical day would be fighting the problems of day to day manufacturing. I have learned a great deal about metallic operations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rotating shifts
Inspector Packer (Former Employee), East Alton, ILJune 24, 2013
Management is disrespectful. The hardest part of the job is the physical labor.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall a good place to work
Machine Operator (Former Employee), East Alton, ILJune 3, 2013
Pros: benefits.
employees were very friendly and management was easy to get along with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High paced industrial inviroment
Senior Operator (Former Employee), Henderson, NVApril 22, 2013
Pros: the benifits and pay were phenomenol
Cons: extremely hazardous enviroment
I was responsible for the day to day operation, manufacture, distribution and security of a large, hazardous chemical plant. We worked 12 hour rotating shifts with a lot of overtime.

The pay was great, the job was very demanding and very rewarding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work - family atmosphere
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Augusta, GAMarch 11, 2013
Pros: great benefits.
Cons: really dont have any cons. excellent company to work for.
Relaxed atmosphere - every one works well together and always willing to jump in and help. Co-workers become life long friends and if anyone has a sickness - everyone is ready to chip in and help in anyway. Nothing really hard about the job - a little more sitting than I would prefer at times - since most of my work is on the computer. I enjoy having – more... a variety of projects to work on and learning new and different things about work scheduling. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good money due to the amount of overtime you get.
Packer, Loader/Cap Operator (Former Employee), East Alton, ILJanuary 11, 2013
Typical factory work envorment with forced overtime. Company moving to Mississippi.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked mainly with electronics and circuit boards
Laborer (Former Employee), East Alton, ILJanuary 1, 2013
This company was well managed and the co-workers were very open and willing to help with daily tasks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive ammunition factory a very safe and enjoyable place to work
Hand Packer, Assembly Worker, and Adjuster (Former Employee), E.Alton ILOctober 11, 2012
Pros: safety incentitives
Cons: breaks and healthcare
The first seven years I worked for olin I was a handpacker I learned to pack very fast I worked as a team of three we always got production out in a timely manner and safely manner. As time went on I decided I wanted to learn something else in the company so I chose to be and adjustor because I would sit and watch my adjustor fix my machine and ask – more... Questions on how and what he did to fix the problem just by watching I would fix my machine myself and no longer would need the adjustor unless the problem was out of the adjustors hand if I needed an electrician or a pipefitter. I caught on very fast with the process of adjusting on robotic machines. I worked very well with all of my co-workers. The hardest part of working at olin was keeping track of group work schedule but overall I didn't find the job hard at all. The most enjoyable part of the job was being around my co-workers. – less