Find companies:
Olive Garden
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,599 reviews

Olive Garden Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the ideal palce to work because you barely get any hours
Carside Specialist (Former Employee), Columbia, SCJuly 30, 2014
My typical day at work was taking phone orders and preparing the food orders.
I didn't get a chance to learn too much.
Management was very rude and was never around when you needed help.
My co-workers were all in cliques so I was pretty much by myself.
It wasn't a hard job.
Leaving at the end of my shift.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing food and great atmosphere
Bartender (Former Employee), Noblesville, INJuly 30, 2014
Pros: food.drinks.atmosphere
Cons: some bad guests
fun and comfortable
great drink pairing
lots of fun and competition
lots of info on wine and Italian cuisine
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very flexible scheduling
Server/Bartender (Current Employee), Monroeville, PAJuly 29, 2014
Pros: scheduling, atmosphere
Cons: mixed messages from management.
Management has been a revolving door, but it has allowed me to obtain my degree and has the potential to become a second job for extra income. The people I work with are great, they make it enjoyable to go to work. It can be stressful at times, but you are usually rewarded for your hard work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
line cook (Former Employee), Chico,CAJuly 29, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: pay per rate was bad, hours, and food quality.
setting up my station
refined my sauté skills at this job
management was irresponsible
co-workers were good
the hardest part was the kitchen was really small
I made some good contacts at this job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Restaurant Server (Former Employee), tampa flJuly 29, 2014
Pros: people
Cons: short hours
Short hours
lots of regulars guest
Great employees
well organized
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
re: okay to work here
Silverwear roller (Current Employee), Eugene OregonJuly 29, 2014
Working for the company of Olive Garden
can be a good place to work but to a point.
In what I mean by that is this, It has it's ups and downs.
My typical day at Olive Garden means I have to work from 8:00am until 11:30am sometime until 12:30pm. In management position I have not been train yet. My co-workers I work with them almost every day but not – more... in the same positions where they work which means as a server a waiter waitress.
My hardest part is when I work by myself and it makes the day a lot longer and when I run out of silverware, especially when we need a lot more than what is needed for the day.
My enjoyable part of the job is when I am all finished for the day and I still get to either come back to work at night or when I get to train someone on the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
o
Specialist (Current Employee), Spartanburg, SCJuly 28, 2014
Pros: free food, good management, friendly work environment, opportunities for moving up
Cons: long hours standing.
It's a great place to work.free food, good management, friendly work environment, opportunities for moving up
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was treated like family
Server, Waitress (Former Employee), Wellington, FLJuly 28, 2014
Pros: flexilble hours
Cons: unpredictable payment
management was absolutely amazing, professional, thoughtful, and fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great place to start your work careeer while still a student
server and lead host I primarily focused (Former Employee), Las Cruces, NMJuly 26, 2014
Pros: lots of employees
Cons: not enough tables to yourself
working here was fun greeted guest in a cheerful manner , immediaatly tended to their needs. i learned there is always alot going on and the best thing to do to help youself is taking a deep breathe and communicate with everyone at all times.the most enjoyable part of this job is it doesnt feel that way your peers are alll here having a great day ready – more... to make some money so it was always encouraging to see that. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience working with a wonderful crew, and getting to know my guests.
Server/ Host (Former Employee), Weslaco, TXJuly 25, 2014
Pros: flexibal schedualing (due to school or childcare), discounts on meals
Cons: few hours when requested, managment lacked control/respect
All in all working at Olive Garden was a good experience for me. Every day I would learn something new about wines, foods, even new ideas on how to improve my guest connection. Before each shift began our managers always "talked us in" which was basically them giving us the expectations that they had for the shift: expected wine samples, guest count – more... ect. they would motivate us to upsell and learn something new about our guests to make the dining experience more unique for them, which i found very useful on several occasions. My co-workers and I always worked as a team, it was how we kept the restaurant alive. We would make one another feel comfortable therefore lightening up the mood for our guests. As much as i enjoyed my time working for the Olive Garden, i DID NOT enjoy having to beg for hours. It was extremely difficult to receive decent hours due to over staffing, and the hours we would get, would be cut short. All that being said, I loved the sense of unity and understanding that that i acquired from working in such a family based restaurant. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun and friendly enviorment.
Server/Hostess (Current Employee), Green Bay, WIJuly 25, 2014
I enjoy the face paced work and the ability to put a smile on peoples face.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
serving tables
Server (Former Employee), Rome, GAJuly 25, 2014
I served tables, cleaned tables. Typical serving job. Coworkers are nice and the help out when needed
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Olive Garden is What one would Expect from a Casual Dining Establishment.
Server/Host (Former Employee), Marlboro, MAJuly 24, 2014
Pros: olive garden pays well
Cons: managers take themselves way too seriously
Olive Garden was like working in Purgatory: it wasn't particularly good, yet is wasn't particularly bad. It was what you'd expect from a Chain Restaurant. Management who operated under the impression that their work was akin to curing cancer, co-workers who were a hodgepodge of every class, ethnicity and background, and the nameless hordes of customers – more... operating under the delusion that they were getting a genuine Italian meal. In all, my experience at Olive Garden was hardly exceptional. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced work environment
Server (Former Employee), Yuma, AZJuly 23, 2014
Pros: excellent training session, 50% off meals
Cons: short breaks, very few hours
A typical day is very routine you go there, you read the objective board and you try and apply that objective. Learned how to multitask and be quick-paced and efficient. Some management was nice, others were very strict, mean and hypocritical. For example, they have a door specifically for entering the kitchen and one specifically for exiting the kitchen – more... and the rules are very strict on that, if you get caught using the door wrong, you can get written up. Well one day the general manager didn't follow that rule and she came in through the wrong door and bumped into me with a tray full of drinks causing them to crash to the floor and all over me and her and she had the gaul to get furiously angry with me even though it was her fault for not following the rules. Some of the co-workers could be helpful and nice, others were rude and condescending, but that's to be expected working with a wide variety of people. The hardest part of the job was learning how to balance my time with each table and address any concerns that came up. The most enjoyable part was talking to the guests and learning how to be a more efficient server through trial and error. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Place to work
Server (Former Employee), Jackson, TNJuly 23, 2014
There was always something to keep each server motivated. We had a rotating menu, so it was never boring. Our management team was awesome. They were constantly coming up with fun games to increase sales. I enjoyed being able to be around the public and meet new people everyday. I have nothing that was not enjoyable about The Olive Garden. I had two – more... deaths in my immediate family and had to move back to my hometown on short notice to deal with final arrangements and the estates left behind. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging yet rewarding
Server (Current Employee), Santa Ana, CAJuly 22, 2014
Pros: skilled and challenging position that always requires you to be on edge.
Cons: not a very opportune position for advancement within the company.
My primary job duties include greeting guests, taking there food orders, running the food to the tables, ensuring the orders are correct, and maintaining guest satisfaction throughout the entire experience. During my time there I have learned how to multitask at an accelerated rate and have developed unparalleled communication skills. Management is – more... above satisfactory, the managers are always supportive and understanding. Additionally the co-workers are all helpful members of the team who are always available for assistance and vice versa, it is very important for us to function as a team. The hardest part is learning how to do the best job as fast as you can, since completing more tables is rewarding for both the corporation and the server, the most enjoyable part of this job for me was the customer interaction. I quite enjoy making people happy and dealing with others comes quite naturally for me. Thank you for taking the time to view my information. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my time there
Money management (Former Employee), Duluth, MNJuly 21, 2014
I enjoyed working with Darden.
I handled money
served guest
cleaned
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard labor and not enough help
Busser (Former Employee), Muncie, INJuly 20, 2014
Lumber department needed more loaders. Worked normal hours but in the heat and lifting extremely heavy objects and loading and unloading them. Learned forklift, bansaw, glass cutter safety. Cashiers bossed loaders around even while they were clearly busy carrying lumber or on the forktruck. Fast paced and hard work. Poor pay considering the position – more... was actually two positions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced team work environment
Server (Current Employee), Greenville, NCJuly 19, 2014
A typical day is about five to six hours long. It is extremely fast paced. The management and coworkers are awesome. It is a very team work oriented place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was an amazing job it was fast paced but i loved every single minute of it
waiter, Bus boy (Former Employee), Orlando FlJuly 19, 2014
Pros: learning alot about wine and foods
Cons: long hours
work started at 8 a.m ended at 8 pm , i learned to use the p.o.s system , my manager was nice and easy going , i got along with all my co workers , hardest part of the job was standing on my feet for 11 hours a day , helping and talking to the costumers

1 2 3 4 5

About Olive Garden

Olive Garden is the leading restaurant in the Italian dining segment, with 469 restaurants, more than 56,000 employees and $1.6 – Read more