Find companies:
Olive Garden
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,771 reviews

Olive Garden Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good first job.
BUSSER (Current Employee), Concord, NHOctober 19, 2014
This was the first job I've had. I got it straight out of high school. It's not a bad first job to have. The hours are flexible. I was able to go to school full time and still work decent hours. I learned how to be a productive member of a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stimulating job, if not very fun
Hostess (Former Employee), Mesa, AZOctober 19, 2014
Pros: discount on food
Cons: management
Hosting was simple enough on paper, greeting guests and finding what table is best for them. But it could get very hectic if someone on the team wasn't sure about what they were doing. They hire anyone that's good with people so we got a lot of teenagers who had no idea what they were doing and had no interest in learning. Management usually had higher – more... expectations than what was actually possible and was slow to reward good work. and there were so many people working there that it was hard to feel comfortable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Negative And Angry Work Environment
Host/ToGo Specialist (Former Employee), Traverse City, MIOctober 19, 2014
Pros: decent pay
Cons: extremely lazy staff. unmotivated managers.
A simple job that pays decently but not worth the constant daily struggle to remain professional in a workplace that is surrounded by angry and lazy employers. There is absolutely no room for advancement. The job itself was relatively easy and the time went by quickly, but if you're looking for something with professionalism with both your coworkers – more... and management, then I would strongly suggest not applying here. I've been with the company for almost 3 years and the only thing I've seen change in that time is that it has gotten drastically worse. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic and fun place to be.
Host (Former Employee), Greenfield, WIOctober 18, 2014
Pros: free meals. co-workers.
Cons: waiting list getting to an hour and a half for a table.
Seating people may sound boring but you have to do a lot more than that. Multi-tasking is something I'm good at and that's exactly what you need to have for this job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Advancement Opportunities with Phenomenal Management
Bartender and Server- Takeout Specialist- Host (Current Employee), Monroeville PA, Altoona PAOctober 17, 2014
Pros: great management, upper mobility, pay raises
Cons: equal opportunity work place
I continue to grow and learn about phenomenal food and drinks every day at Olive Garden. My co-workers are all friendly and we function as a team. Management at the Olive Garden/Darden are some of the hardest working people I know. They have a general interest in your personal life, while still being 100% professional. The most enjoyable part of my – more... job is bartending and being creative with drinks. I also enjoy making the guests experience unique and rememberable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive,an fun work day
Ct Hostess (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAOctober 17, 2014
Pros: disconts
Cons: health care
Great work place, fun an fast paced environment, wonderful company an I enjoy the restaurant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun place to work for
Hostess/Server (Former Employee), Morehead City, NCOctober 17, 2014
Pros: discount on food and free food tasting
Cons: not a full time position
busy, interacting with guest as they walk in and out, I learned a little bit of wine which wine goes along with what foods, also how to delegate and direct servers and busers to which table and what tables need help. When the restaurant is busy and there are no tables available, sometimes guests can get impatient so as a host I have to be calm and friendly – more... and let them know how much longer they have to wait and that we are doing are best to seat them as soon as possible. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Server (Current Employee), Rochester, MNOctober 17, 2014
Manager and staff are very friendly.
Work days are fast paced and I enjoy my customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, friendly atmosphere with a diversity of people
Server (Current Employee), Niagara Falls, NYOctober 16, 2014
Pros: flexibility of hours; can give away or pick up shifts as needed.
Cons: no breaks and late hours
Typically, a day at Olive Garden is a very busy, fast paced, productive one.

I have learned a whole new level of multitasking.

Management is very professional and respectful.

Co-workers are great, everyone gets along well.

The hardest part of the job is the fact that income lacks consistency because I work for tips.

The most enjoyable part of the – more... job is the interaction with the public, and being able to provide an exceptional dining experience for my guests. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Server (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAOctober 16, 2014
You can learn alot working from this company. The upbeat enviornment and the training will teach you what you need to know.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible job, good for a chain store
Server/Bartender (Current Employee), Cranberry Twp., PAOctober 16, 2014
Pros: flexible schedules
Cons: inconsistent cash flow, late hours
Working in a restaurant was a fun experience. It can become tedious and stressful at times especially in busy and popular places like the Olive Garden. I learned how to efficiently work in a high volume establishment and how to professionally handle the public. I also learned about training and staff development in a large company.

Management varied – more... from day-to-day and person-to-person. Overall, the managers are paid well and have a decent work-life balance, so they usually did their job well and were there to serve their staff.

The hardest part of being a bartender/server is to be on your feet from sometimes 12 hours a day with little to no break. In my opinion, once you get used to the job and if you don't work a lot of double shifts, you'll be okay.

The most enjoyable part of the job is making, people, especially children and elderly feel happy and special on birthdays or celebrations. Just being around people and making them feel joy and happiness while they are there is what it is all about. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and good place to work at.
Line Cook (Current Employee), Murfreesboro, TNOctober 16, 2014
Pros: good work environment
Cons: short staffing
I have learned many cooking techniques from the olive garden and it has proved as a good place to work. I receive more than minimum wage and communicate and work well with managers as well as coworkers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun family oriented workplace.
Server, Host, and To-Go Specialist (Current Employee), Hyattsville, MDOctober 15, 2014
Pros: networking
Cons: no breaks
Most enjoyable part of the job is seeing the content faces of my guests after enjoying a well dine-in experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun family oriented workplace.
Server, Host, and To-Go Specialist (Current Employee), Hyattsville, MDOctober 15, 2014
Pros: networking
Cons: no breaks
Most enjoyable part of the job is seeing the content faces of my guests after enjoying a well dine-in experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun family oriented workplace.
Server, Host, and To-Go Specialist (Current Employee), Hyattsville, MDOctober 15, 2014
Pros: networking
Cons: no breaks
Most enjoyable part of the job is seeing the content faces of my guests after enjoying a well dine-in experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great food great people who treated me like family
server (Former Employee), Gilbert, AZOctober 15, 2014
Pros: discount on food
Cons: unsteady hours/pay
The hardest part working for Olive Garden was the unsteady hours/pay.
I worked at Olive Garden for over 4 years and in that time i learned a lot. I was able to be cross trained into a numerous of different positions. My co-workers and management was always upbeat and a great team. It helped me grow and learn to cope with the any problems I might run – more... into. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment
Utility (Former Employee), Vallejo, CAOctober 14, 2014
A typical day at work was to wash and put away dishes we received from both the kitchen and waiters. I learned how to use a dish washing machine as well as being able to fix it. Management was very helpful and nice as well as my coworkers. The hardest part of the job was being left alone handling thousands of dishes with no help at times. The most enjoyable – more... part was being able to make friends both in the kitchen and on the floor. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved working here
Server (Former Employee), Salisbury, NCOctober 13, 2014
typical serving job. they were good with working around my schedule and never complained if I asked for the day off.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship
Host, Certified Trainer, and Togo Specialist (Current Employee), Fort Gratiot, MIOctober 13, 2014
Gained a lot of knowledge of how to work in a jail and as a deputy on the road.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very flexible for current students
Server/Host (Former Employee), Orange, CAOctober 13, 2014
Pros: flexible hours, discount on meals
Cons: stressful
Stressful, you need t have thick skin and have the ability to work under pressure

1 2 3 4 5

About Olive Garden

Olive Garden is the leading restaurant in the Italian dining segment, with 469 restaurants, more than 56,000 employees and $1.6 – Read more