Find companies:
Olive Garden
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,351 reviews

Olive Garden Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very busy
Kitchen Staff (Current Employee), Oklahoma City, OKApril 14, 2014
Pros: discount food, excellent managment.
Cons: scheduling or co-workers at times.
depending on if you are working day or night shift can make the time fly by every day. my co-workers have a hard time working with me because I follow what the head manager has told me to do. a typical day would me coming in and just start helping or doing DMO. it can get very busy and stressful, but that mostly depends on who you are working with during – more... that shift. the managers are nice and try their hardest to treat their employees well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hours
Dishwasher (Former Employee), Paramus, NJApril 13, 2014
The company was located in Paramus, NJ. The location had required long hours and sometimes 12 hours shifts and short notice for call ins.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Prep Cook (Preparation Cook) (Former Employee), Turlock, CAApril 13, 2014
Pros: friends, food
Come in say hello to everyone set up my area, joke with co workers. I learned how to prepare pasta and that certain foods should be stored at a temperature of 38 degrees. There really was no hard part of the job. The most enjoyable part would have to be joking with co workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Past and Fun
Hostess (Former Employee), Houston, TXApril 13, 2014
Pros: new experiences everyday
Cons: pay was not that great
I was lead hostess. I would usually open and get the tables and lobby ready for guest. I would keep the building clean and presentable. I learned a lot of customer service skills.

Management was great. Coworkers were fun and great to work with.

Hardest part about my job when some of the hostess would call in or not show up.

The most enjoyable part – more... was the constant flow of everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work during school
Chef (Current Employee), Lincoln, NEApril 12, 2014
Very flexible scheduling. Typical restaurant duties required.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great restaurant with good people and a good culture
Server (Current Employee), Mt. Juliet, TNApril 10, 2014
Pros: 50% discount on food while working
Cons: benefits
Darden definitely cares about it's employees. They strive for great food and great service. There is a strong team working environment and culture that enables the business to run smooth and to be productive. Management looks for employees that demonstrate skills and the wanting to be promoted and do what they can to make that happen.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Line Cook (Former Employee), Hagerstown, MDApril 10, 2014
The best part of the job was preparing good food for people. Knowing that they're enjoying a meal that you prepared is a good feeling. I don't think that there was anything that I didn't like.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service is always very important
Certified Trainer (Current Employee), Warner Robins, GaApril 10, 2014
Pros: family discount
Cons: long hours
I have learned that customer service is always important. Management always need help from their employees. My co-workers are great and always willing to help each other.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse place to work.
Host (Current Employee), Michigan City, INApril 9, 2014
I enjoy working here, I have learned a lot of new skills with different computer software and POS system. I have also learned to work with a diverse group of employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
When You Here You Family
Bartender/Server (Current Employee), Wilson,NCApril 9, 2014
A day at work for me is always great. I try to provide the best possible service to the guests that walk through the door. I learned how to anticipate guests needs accordingly and just being myself. Our management is in the transformation stages but they are great and learning as well as myself but we they will get there. I love all my coworkers I have – more... good social relationship with many of them outside of work as well. The hardest thing I would say about my job is learning the new menu since its entirely new but it takes me no time to get it but the most enjoyable part of my job is being there meeting old and new faces and building relationships with others. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive the ideal college student job
waiter (Former Employee), Little Rock, ARApril 9, 2014
Pros: the opportunity to communicate with like minded college students.
Cons: sometimes the hours are cut tremendously
I enjoyed my time at Olive Garden the environment was phenomenal.
This was truly the ideal place for a college student like myself.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place and fun people to work with.
Host (Former Employee), Portland, ORApril 9, 2014
Pros: communicate with customers.
Cons: not enough pay and could get stuck doing one thing all day.
Would seat people. I learned how to interact with a variety of people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exciting place to work a summer or two
Culinary Specialist (Current Employee), Houston, TXApril 8, 2014
Pros: weekly pay
Cons: no breaks, low pay etc....
this is very cold and uncaring company to work for. the benefits are horrible. No paid time off, no paid holidays, and the only day they close is Christmas. some days you work until your body gives up and some days your criticized chastised and belittled. the management team members are human, they make mistakes but when you make similar mistakes they – more... will behead you, figuratively speaking. But I do enjoy cooking and at the end of the day the occasional compliment makes it seem worthwhile. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sketchy
HOST (Former Employee), Lafayette, LAApril 8, 2014
Your typical restaurant chain. Full of off beat characters. Sketchy work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Cook (Former Employee), Bradenton, FLApril 8, 2014
Is ok place to work, changed for moved to Sarasota, always with a lot work in season, but they reduce your time/ hours, went the season end.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Educational Workplace
Server (Current Employee), Gainesville, FLApril 8, 2014
Pros: discount on food
Cons: short/no breaks, staffing issues
I enjoyed working at Olive Garden because it provided me with the opportunity to work in a fast paced environment, which improved my ability to multitask and my communication skills. We typically work 4-10 hour shifts, and we work with guests, employees, and managers all day, answering phones, running food, and dealing with any customer interaction – more... for our specified section. Depending on volume, it could become difficult to manage a 6 table section with 30 people, but after working there for 3 years I have come to revel in that challenge. In some instances, like this one, I work better under pressure and enjoy overcoming obstacles, though another difficulty presented itself when managers would not schedule enough individuals for a shift. Those employees working would have to manage 3 jobs instead of one, and even though it made things very hectic, I've only ever received guest compliments. My favorite thing about Olive Garden was the relationships I was able to create, I love working with and learning about people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced but easy job
Host (Former Employee), Fredericksburg, VAApril 7, 2014
greet/seat guests
maintain areas
assist other employees
co-workers were friendly
easy job
got hectic on busy nights/holidays
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place, to forge many life long Bonds
Server/Bartender (Former Employee), Mesa, ArizonaApril 7, 2014
Pros: always busy
Cons: the large turnover ration, usally ment you were working with a large number of people, that did not know what they were doing.
Like most restaurants, I am sure they all have their share of fantastic, bright, and wonderful employees, and the Olive Garden, was no different. The pace everyday, was very quick, and easy to groove to, allowing you give a lot of attention to your guests, which is where everyone gets their income in the Food/Bev industry. All in all, my only complaint – more... about this establishment, is that it was 30+ miles away from my house. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Realtor
Server (Former Employee), Miami, FLApril 6, 2014
Pros: own boss
Cons: market conditions
Knowledge of Real Estate market
Negotiation of sale/listing contracts
Staff/Management cooperation and functionality
Customer Service
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun work place with great people
Server (Current Employee), Jonesboro, ARApril 4, 2014
Pros: good food
Cons: healthcare
a typical day at olive garden is u go to work, clock in, get chatted in by a manager, check your section to make sure it is nice and clean and ready for guest. In the mean time go around and make sure everything is ready for the day. After you have checked those things off you can visit with other employees to see how they are and if they need any help – more... from you, by then you should already have guest seated, because at Olive Garden, we are always busy and there is always something to do, but over all Olive Garden is a nice work environment and good money as well. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Olive Garden

Olive Garden is the leading restaurant in the Italian dining segment, with 469 restaurants, more than 56,000 employees and $1.6 – Read more