Find companies:
Olive Garden
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,559 reviews

Olive Garden Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Host
Host (Current Employee), DORCHESTER, MAJuly 3, 2014
I am the first person the guests see . I greet them and then bring them to where they will be eating
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work if you need flexibility.
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Virginia Beach, VAJuly 3, 2014
Pros: its a well known resturant so even in slow seasons its busy
Cons: unreal expectations
OG was a good place to work throughout college and beginning job search, but the companys changing and it's making it difficult for hourly team members.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Host
Host (Former Employee), Poughkeepsie, NYJuly 2, 2014
Responsibilities were greeting the guests with bright smiles and welcoming vibes and ensure that the family environment made them feel at home. Others were seating tables, keeping the lobby area presentable, and helping other employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to work and meet new people
Waitress (Former Employee), Surprise, AZJuly 1, 2014
Pros: 25% off a meal with you and your family all darden restaurants
Cons: you're not garenty any percent of the checks
I really enjoyed myself work for Olive Garden. Checking in, normally was easy, having your tables sat was overall in a time appropriate manner. The guest were nice and friendly, not too many bossy people. The back of the house ran pretty smoothy. The environment was overall pleasant, people working together and getting the job done. The hardest part – more... about working, in my opinion, is when you have been triple sat and attending everyone's needs in a timely manner. The most enjoyable part is when it goes smoothy for you, orders in correct, food coming out in a timely manner, everything working out for you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OG
Line Cook (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALJuly 1, 2014
Pros: good managment
Cons: heat
Olive Garden was an okay place to work. The environment is fast paced and hot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a really fun but stressful serving job
Server (Former Employee), Montebello, CAJuly 1, 2014
Unlimited soup and salad is not the business when you are a server. The job was really busy on the weekends and the managment staff was great.There was also great benefits and really nice perks like 50 percent off employee meals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Energy and productive environment
Waitress/Server (Current Employee), Brea, CAJuly 1, 2014
Pros: discounts on food
During my work experience at Olive Garden i have learned a higher quality of service which i have learned from a strong influential staff and management team. All of my coworkers are highly productive and knowledgeable of our restaurants standards. One of the most enjoyable parts of my job is seeing that my guests are happy and enjoying themselves. – more... It gives me a sense of accomplishment when i know that i am doing my job right and allowing people to feel comfortable and taken care of. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Busser (Current Employee), Virginia Beach, VAJune 30, 2014
Great place to work. Very flexible with scheduling. Able to work with you when life happens.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a decent place to work
Server (Former Employee), Flint, MIJune 30, 2014
Served guests and learned about new foods and wines. Overall this was a decent place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace enviorment
Server (Current Employee), Canton, OHJune 30, 2014
Pros: always busy
Cons: no benefits
Opens at 11 closes at 10 Monday-Thursday 11-11 Friday,Saturday and Sunday.
Management- always there to help and assist you anytime you need.
Coworkers- a very diverse crowd, everyone works well together
Hardest part of the job- Money is not guaranteed neither are hours.
Most enjoyable part of the job would have to be its never the same thing everyday, – more... different people everyday, it's sort of like a surprise. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Server (Former Employee), Pembroke Pines, FLJune 30, 2014
 Take and deliver customer orders
 Maintain tables
 Guest satisfaction
 Performing side work tasks, and some cleaning.
 Handling cash and credit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work but gone down hill anymore
Server (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAJune 29, 2014
loved it when I begin working there! the training and the fellow trainees were amazing! the fellow staff and workers were all fun to be around and very personable, however, the management failed to thrive. there was a new manager every other month and each one was mean and stricter as they came.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work place
Server (Former Employee), Manhattan, KSJune 28, 2014
The managers were very capable. I enjoyed working there and the pay was decent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Atmosphere
Hostess (Former Employee), Logan, UTJune 27, 2014
Pros: great team, discounted meals, flexible work schedulde
Cons: not enough work hours of advancement opportunities
It was a great company to work for. I worked well with the team and enjoyed what I was doing. Working to make people happy and give them a great experience through my customer service was very rewarding. I only wish I had more working hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Olive Garden
Dishwasher (Former Employee), Saint Petersburg, FLJune 27, 2014
It was a busy day everyday it was never slow in this business.
I learned how to work at a fast past.
They made sure everybody was like family.
Coming into work and everything is backed up.
It was dinner time because it was the busiest.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Job
Hostess and To-Go Specialist (Current Employee), Orlando, FLJune 26, 2014
Usual restaurant job. It has its ups and downs. Management is always back and forth some are great others are can be rude and disrespectful. Co-workers have always been awesome though. I have truly met some friends for life working there. Hours can be pretty flexible if you go to school etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-pace, up beat work environment
Waitress (Former Employee), Middletown, OHJune 26, 2014
The most enjoyable part of being employed at the Olive Garden was of course the fast pace and up beat work environment and the attitude all the management staff had towards their employees. The managers trusted their training system therefore had faith that their employees did well and it resulted in a very productive work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its ok for a first job
busser (Current Employee), Hixson, TnJune 26, 2014
it is not the best job in the world but it is in no way the worst.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent?
Steward (Former Employee), Irondale, ALJune 26, 2014
Pros: great company (darden)
Cons: food specials
Olive garden was a good company to work for I guess. The particular one I worked for however was very unprofessional. The pay was awful as a server especially during the day for lunch because of soup & salad lunch special. You will bust your but on runs for bread, soup, & salad and the bill will be around 12 dollars for a table for two. Dinner time – more... was better. The environment was messy and the managers were usually involved in the problems between employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fast paced environment
Server/Sales (Former Employee), Schaumburg, ILJune 26, 2014
Pros: free pasta, salad
Busy restaurant with established system, efficient and practical systems

About Olive Garden

Olive Garden is the leading restaurant in the Italian dining segment, with 469 restaurants, more than 56,000 employees and $1.6 – Read more