Ollie's Bargain Outlet Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its okay
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Rome, NYNovember 13, 2017
I was a seasonal employee for thanksgiving and Christmas. It was fast paced. lots of stocking and rearranging. it's a fairly busy store around holidays.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hectic,poor mgmt, no concern for associates
Co Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNNovember 10, 2017
When I first started Ollie's 4 years ago it wasn't bad. New upper mgmt totally ruined the atmosphere for associates. Tripled the workloads with less hours to staff. Insanity runs the place day to day.
Pros
Discount
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrble horrible place to make a living
Store Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Canton, GANovember 9, 2017
During the opening of a new store, store management are REQUIRED to work 33 STRAIGHT days to meet the grand opening deadlines ne, INSANITY.
They plan poorly, very high turnover and pay the base associates peanuts.
Upper management flys around in private jet putting intense pressure on the store team.
Serious OSHA violations in every store.
DO NOT WORK AT OLLIES
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Wilkes-Barre, PANovember 9, 2017
My experience at Ollie's was great. The team was amazing and worked together. I got along with all of my co-workers and everyone was always eager to lend a helping hand when needed. Very friendly and hardworking! The management was very nice, fun, and hardworking!
Pros
Friendly
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and easy paced job
Lead Cashier (Former Employee) –  Ithaca, NYOctober 25, 2017
I would wait on customers.The management was friendly and helpful. I would set up displays as directed.I would check food for out of date to insure freshness
Pros
very friendly atmosphere
Cons
not much advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ollie’s in New Castle PA
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  New Castle, PAOctober 21, 2017
Terrible so much drama main manager is always involved in the drama.They need to get new management in the place. They don’t give holiday pay and the hours are not consistent-new castle pa
Pros
Discount
Cons
Pay hours and management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cut-throat and unapologenic
freight flow supervisor (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NYOctober 19, 2017
there is a use it or lose it policy with paid time off and you can't use it in your last two weeks. if you give a two week notice they will most likely let you go. management is too opinionated to be non-judgmental putting your job at risk at any moment
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Company
Assistant Team Leader (Former Employee) –  New Bern, NCOctober 18, 2017
Had a great experience working here. As a manager, I had a good work/life balance. My store team leader was very hands on and led by example. The pace was somewhat relaxed, it really depended on freight flow.
Pros
Work/life balance, good pay and benefits, team members, management.
Cons
Some of the corporate management could use attitude adjustments.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the worst.
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee) –  Rockingham, NCOctober 15, 2017
Typical retail job. 15 or 30 minute unpaid break depending on how long you work. Learned customer service and register skills. Okay management. Coworkers are the most enjoyable part by far. Not many chances to advance. Barely about minimum wage pay.
Pros
Great cowkers, personal work environment
Cons
Low pay, almost no benefits, short and unpaid breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fast paced
Currently performing as Customer Service Associate (Current Employee) –  Pulaski, VAOctober 13, 2017
great place to work managers care about employees hours are flexible granted time off when needed always fun environment to work with... just need more hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Place to Work
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Matthews, NCOctober 12, 2017
Management was poor and lacking in terms of structure. Part-time Sales associates had better managing skills than the temporary and permanent managers. The coworkers were the best part about the job, but it started to become intolerable once people realized their worth and quit. I don't recommend this as a first job, nor as a career. You're better off cleaning farm troughs than working here.
Pros
Coworkers
Cons
Short breaks, terrible management, poor scheduling, bad work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Truck Unloader (Current Employee) –  Ypsilanti, MIOctober 10, 2017
great place for part time if you just want a few hours a day, but when your full time you can get as many hours as you need that is unless the store go over hours than you may not
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work with little pay
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Parkersburg, WVOctober 9, 2017
Typical day at Ollie's was hard work fast paced with normal work related drama. The customers are who makes the day better. The managers did what they could to help out. They also was willing to work with us on our schedules. The hardest part of the job was the holidays but it was fun. I liked coming in to work and no matter who was there we would tackle everything as a team!
Pros
Discounts
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place and easy place to work
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Wilmington, NCOctober 9, 2017
it is a fun place to work and it is a easy place to work i wish i can go back, i don't want to because they only started giving me one day week and they wouldn't give me any more days to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical week at Ollie's
Store Associate (Current Employee) –  Duluth, GAOctober 7, 2017
Some days involve pricing merchandise.
Other days stocking and restocking merchandise.
Operating the P.O.S. system.
Customer service.
Store upkeep and maintennance.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
part-time scheduling
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sometimes fun but stressful environment
Sales Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Newark, OHOctober 6, 2017
a lot of chiefs in management, they tell you one thing that cant be done and then they make exceptions for others. No real opportunity to advance in the store. No one is on the same page when it comes to projects.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Monroe, MIOctober 6, 2017
Always short handed, underpaid for the work required to do, regularly required to over-lift, poor communication, and lazy coworkers. The store can't manage to keep most new hires for more than a month. Keep looking.
Pros
Guaranteed breaks
Cons
Underpaid
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You have no life, and a poor store manager at a few of the stores. Room to advance with proper mentor.
Hired for seasonal help (Current Employee) –  Lexington, NCOctober 4, 2017
The company its self is not so bad. There has been an abundance of change in the company since I have been employed. It started as its own corporation and is now public.
Pros
Pretty good benefits, and room to grow.
Cons
Unrealistic expectations for employees, and poor store managers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Uniontown, PAOctober 4, 2017
I like work there, it's easy for me working there ,because the schedule is flexible. The Place it's really easy to find, Working there is good, at the begining it's a little Hard but after 1 or 2 weeks is a easy work
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hectic mostly,friendly co-workers,low raises
carpet/furniture supervisor (Former Employee) –  Jessup, MDOctober 2, 2017
I first started as a porter working part time.After a few months I took over carpet and furniture full time with a dollar plus raise.It was pretty good at the time but yearly raises are minimal especially for what I did.Unloading trucks every other day.
Pros
discount
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Ollie's Bargain Outlet. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 458 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.0
Compensation/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
2.9
Culture
3.0