Olympic Steel Employee Reviews

Showing all 80 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get ready to work.... alot
Operator (Former Employee) –  Bettendorf, IA 52722August 11, 2017
You can never do enough, for 11 dollars and hour. The management is always pushing you to do more. they have a super high turn over rate for a good reason. its not a career place. They will wear you out, spit you out and replace you.
Pros
no hard hats
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
maintenance
Maintenance Electrician (Former Employee) –  Riverdale, IAAugust 9, 2017
working is like going to school to be bulled by the management. they would tell you had to work overtime at the last min or work you 7 days a week for months without time off and when you would complain they would tell you if you don't like it you can leave.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
General Labor (Former Employee) –  Siler City, NCJuly 17, 2017
good place to work. long hours. good benefits. management has some issues but what company doesn't. would recommend to anyone. good group of ppl to work with.
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
close to home
Maintenance Electrician (Former Employee) –  Winder, GAJuly 12, 2017
This position had less pay then was average for the position but was close to home and hours were good. Small plant with reasonable flexibility to flow between jobs within the plant.
Pros
Close to home
Cons
poor insurance plan
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace workplace
Warehouse Lead Man (Current Employee) –  Winder, GAJune 19, 2017
A typical day at work is a fast pace work in inviroment. Decent management and the work place culture can improve. Hardest part of the job is communication between management and employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OEM Fabrication Supplier
Quality Manager (Current Employee) –  Siler City, NCJune 12, 2017
Never a dull moment dealing with large named Manufacturer's. Employee's proud of the work that they do and willing to put in the extra effort.

Involved in the community and promotes self improvement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
None
Foreman/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Siler City, NCJune 1, 2017
Not a bad place to work. To many "cliques" and brown nosing to advance. Regonition of efforts are hit and miss. Way to much brow beating of good employess and bad employees seem to be held to a lower standard instead of being force to do their job.
Pros
Great place to begin a carrer in the steel industry
Cons
Some of the management should not be management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work was fun to goto
Shop Helper (Former Employee) –  Bettendorf, IAMay 31, 2017
learn new jobs .heaip.others peple do job seft.learn oper. crane saveand prod.good place learn new jobs com. cared about workeri iwas laid off oper.dift.mech
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits
Welder/Fabricator (Current Employee) –  Siler City, NCMay 10, 2017
With the rising cost of health insurence today I can say I am very pleased with the weekly cost of the family coverage for health, vision and dental at this employer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great Company to Work For
Quality Associate Sr (Current Employee) –  Bettendorf, IAMarch 22, 2017
As with any job there have been ups and downs. However, Olympic Steel over all cares about their employees. I have worked for this company for 13 years and love it. I am proud to say my co-workers are my "work family" and we support each other in times of need.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical warehouse environment
Shop Helper (Former Employee) –  Bedford Heights, OHMarch 15, 2017
The job isn't too stressful. The pay isn't very good. Supervisors don't really know too much about the job. On a typical day, you operate overhead cranes and log the information into the computer system
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work Environment
Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Bedford Heights, OHMarch 14, 2017
Local routes fit the family lifestyle. Hardest part of job is dealing with inclement weather conditions. Most enjoyable part is the driving and developing working relationships with customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Place
Process Engineer/CNC Laser Operator (Former Employee) –  Siler City, NCMarch 13, 2017
Management has no clue, how to run a company from top to bottom. Lay off twenty folks one week, and then twenty the next; while management gets their bonuses. Not the safest environment for uskilled.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
3rd Shift Lead (Former Employee) –  Plymouth, MNMarch 7, 2017
6 Machines which myself and two or three other people had to keep running. Management was always there for you and training came from me or anyone that knew what they were doing. Having to work mandatory overtime all the time was probably the only issue i had there. Left the company with good standing.
Pros
4 tens was always nice, i was in charge of the shift and the bosses liked me.
Cons
Mandatory overtime got hard with a family to take care of.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This could be a great place to work if it was more organized .
Truck Driver Class A (Current Employee) –  Plymouth, MNMarch 5, 2017
Low wages and low pay raises . Management doesn't use the company trucks wisely. Far too many loads that could be on company trucks are instead loaded on outside trucks.
Pros
Nice hours
Cons
No real pay scale
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work,
Machine Operator cnc (Former Employee) –  Chambersburg pa.usa.February 20, 2017
Was a great experience,i lerned a lot, how to use a numeric control, forcklift ,caliper,overhead crane,a few milling centers, vf6,vs-3 lathe
Pros
Good pay salary
Cons
Long hours work
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible moral . Management is disrespective . I wouldn't send my worst enemy to work here
Welder (Former Employee) –  Chambersburg, PAFebruary 16, 2017
I cannot stress enough . Do not work for these people. The Management from top to bottom is corrupt. They protect their own. High turn over rate.. Low moral and deplorable working conditions
They only care about the bottom dollar. Quality is sacrificed for production. They have no respect for the employee. I was cursed at and berated daily for over a year.
The insurance is average. The pay rate is very low for non management positions. OT is mandatory .
Pros
None
Cons
Too many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away from Olympic Steel
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIFebruary 14, 2017
Some management should not be there and there is a high turn over jn Inside Sales. Ask yourself why. The minute someone leaves your work load doubles. The most enjoyable part of my job was my co-workers.
Pros
co-workers
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Press Operator (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIJanuary 23, 2017
An overall impressive learning as well as working experience. The co-workers have a great amount of team related fields for growth within the company
Pros
Fast paced work environment
Cons
Not enough women
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
one shift verse's the other, nobody got along well
Crane Operator/Rigger (Former Employee) –  Roseville, MIJanuary 23, 2017
We come in, start working, loading trucks ,putting up orders. There
was only two people per shift, I liked third shift, not many trucks to
interfear getting the work done. Trucks would come in early in the morning to get unloaded, no waiting. I was the lead on the shift. The
other people were usually from the workhouse and didn't want to do
anything, so I got used to doing it myself.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Olympic Steel. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 80 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
2.7
Culture
2.9

CEO Approval

60%
30 ratings
Add your rating