Omega World Travel Employee Reviews

Showing all 18 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working here
Travel Agent (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, NCDecember 3, 2016
Loved working with NIS, had regular agents that I dealt with on a daily basis. NIS agents were great, training was good. Very helpful coworkers. Friendly atmosphere.
Pros
Consistency
Cons
Dress code
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The travel envirornment is always changing, everyone was wonderful to work with.
Settlement Agent (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, NCOctober 13, 2015
I worked for Omega World Travel for 10 years, I enjoyed every part of my job, during the time I was with the company I changed positions several times, I was willing to learn all aspects of the accounting part of the travel world. I would have loved to work virtually if it was available.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average Company
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, NCSeptember 24, 2015
Omega World Travel is an average company. I handled the bank reconciliations and credit card activity. At times, we were requested to stay late and would pay overtime. However, when it came to pay the overtime, we were told to cut the hours.
Pros
Good Working hours
Cons
Not giving employees what was promised
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst place I have ever worked for
Customer Information Specialist (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, NCAugust 8, 2015
The company is so cheap they would not buy any paper for a short period of time. We had to raise money on our own to have a holiday party. I was shocked when they did buy new computers. They would only buy a certain amount of Mircosoft Excel programs for only particular people. The rest of the employees had only trial version of Excel and really limited the capability of the success of the company. Very unorganized and almost difficult to work with the other locations to get information. Management had favorites that would get to go out to lunch and not make up their time like the rest of us had to. No breaks other than your state mandated 30 minute lunch break.
Pros
Training classes that were free from the local college
Cons
PAY, no team work with other sites and politics
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travel
Accounts Payables /Receivables (Temp) (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville North CarolinaJanuary 4, 2015
Omega was a temp position. I reconciled their payment to the customer travel fare and I collected charge backs on credit cards payment.
Pros
It was a new experience working for the travel industries.
Cons
Short Time
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
TRAVEL CONSULTANT (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, NCNovember 9, 2014
there is no room for growth, the company downsized so much that everyone is doing 2-3 different jobs. The most enjoyable part of the job was making my clients happy and keeping them satisfied, and keeping their credit card statements reconciled.
Pros
hotels would provide lunch sometimes
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Developed and maintained account alliances with corporations.
Customer Service Corporate Travel Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNApril 4, 2014
Supervised inbound calls, booked and maintained airline reservations.

Trained corporate sales/ customer service team.

There is more than one way to accomplish a common goal.

My co-workers were very diverse and each person brought something special to the team.

Pleasing a customer while staying inside their companies guide lines.

Hearing how pleased the customers are with our work and performance.
Pros
Work hours and compensation
Cons
The travel industries constant change.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Fredericksburg, VAMarch 5, 2014
I had sever different positions with Omega Travel and each one was a challenge
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clients are great and company could be too, sometimes!
Lead Travel Counselor (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VASeptember 7, 2013
I worked here for quite a while and I really enjoyed my job and my clients. But this company does tend to want to overwork you and not pay you for it. Also, in my opinion they do not like to give credit where credit is do. I spent many a day coming in early and staying late and could never advance myself past Lead Travel counselor. They made promises for advancement that never came to fruition.
Pros
Every month they did " honor " their employees with a luncheon.
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Accounts Payable /Travel Consultant (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, NCJuly 19, 2013
The most enjoyable part of this job was working with great people in a customer service environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Travel Agent/ Debit Memo Agent (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, NCJuly 12, 2013
I enjoyed working others. I learned how to book a reservations, debit memos, phonetic spelling for airports. love my job
Pros
hour lunches, pay, benefits
Cons
mgmt
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
one of the best places to work in Jacksonville
Accounting dept (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, NCDecember 18, 2012
the people you work with make this place worth it as management is so penny wise and dollar short and one day they are going to run it into the ground due to their short sightedness.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place
Travel Agent (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, NCSeptember 4, 2012
start 8am. long into sabre system to receive calls. durning down time check pnrs for ticketing. review email of clients to process. help co- workers. the thing i learn most was dealing with people. you have to really place yourself in there shoes to understand them.
Pros
great leadership
Cons
had to work some weekend
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent working relationships with my clients.
Corporate Travel Consultant (Current Employee) –  Bethesda MDAugust 23, 2012
The accounts I handle are excellent to work with,and I have a very
good working relationship with all my superiors.
Pros
close to my home.
Cons
healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and nice work place
VIP clients, Lead agent (Former Employee) –  fairfax VAJune 14, 2012
my time at Omega was very rewarding as I was lead agent for two large corporate accounts. manager was very friendly and accomodating,never had problems for time off. I loved working there.
Pros
close to home, friendly place
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Omega gave me the opportunity to enter back into the travel industry
Manager (Former Employee) –  Fort Benning, GAMay 30, 2012
I thoroughly enjoyed working in the travel industry. My subordinates were some of the greatest. We had a lot of work but not enough help. Management was very sympathetic and sometimes helpful.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved this company and the challenges they presented me
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, NCMay 24, 2012
Encouraged by management to grow in professional skills. A teaching atmosphere. The management felt that the more you grew the better work you accomplished. I would be working here today if I hadn't moved to another state.
Pros
learning, growth, encouragement, benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Omega World Travel. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 18 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.6
Culture
3.3