Find companies:
Omnicare
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
351 reviews

Omnicare United States Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, livly, educationally stimulating
PHARMACY TECHNICIAN EXTERN (Former Employee), Sanford, FLMay 3, 2015
Omnicare is a commercial pharmacy, and is fast paced. Orders come into the pharmacy, and or delivered, and returned. Many of these returns have to be put back on the shelf. HIPPA regulations require that all patients have a right to there privacy, and this must be protected. The pharmacy intern must adhere to these regulations, and by doing so must follow certain guidelines. All returns that have a name and or prescriptions label must be removed, and covered before the prescription is put back on the shelf.

Orders, also come in by fax and or prescription, and also must be de cyphered. The pharmacy technician must interpret the script, and print out a label for the prescription before it is sent over to the pharmacist for delivery. The :Pharmacy Technician will than find the prescription on the shelf. He than finds the medication, peels off the printed label and carefully puts it on the medication. He must be careful not to cover the numbers, or other identifiable marks, and or company manufacturers name.

In conclusion, the management was very helpful to me, and I learned a lot about the operation the pharmacy, and the delicate intricacies that enable the pharmacy to run very smoothly, and efficientlty.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible place to work
pharmacy tech (Former Employee), Weston, FLApril 30, 2015
This is the worst company I have every worked for. Starting from the management there is no structure. The turn over rate is very high and there is no job security.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working there
Regional Marketing Associate (Former Employee), Covington, KentuckyApril 27, 2015
Pros: Great health insurance
The reason I left that job is because of Hurricane Katrina. The storm destroyed many of the nursing homes, and businesses that I called on for over a year.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN FRIENDLY ATMOSPHERE
Certified Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee), West Chester, OHApril 17, 2015
Pros: Co-workers, Pay
Cons: Healthcare Benefits, Parking, room for growth
A typical day at work is looking forward to going into to work and starting your day with all your eager co-workers. Workflow was hefty some days, but manageable, sometimes a bit chaotic when switching from one task to the next, when one department is short, but always keeps you on your toes. Management is always approachable and realistic in the goals that are set for the employees. The best part of the job is working with a great group of people who are always willing to lend a helping hand. The hardest part is leaving your job after 4 1/2 years and starting over.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun company
Externship student (Former Employee), cerritos, caApril 15, 2015
was only there as a extern. seems like a good company to work for. lots of it workers have been there for years. was fun while it lasted
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place To Work
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee), Griffith, INApril 13, 2015
I loved working for Omnicare. The staff is very friendly and welcoming. The company offers great benefits. Also, they provide you with great training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great learning experience and laid back environment
Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee), Tampa, FLApril 8, 2015
My typical day at work is very fast paced. There is A LOT of work that needs to be done in a short amount of time but there is a lot of people to get it done. I have learned countless things during my employment here and I would honestly recommend it to any entry-level technician. The hardest part of the job is realizing there is not much room for growth. The best part would definitely be the laid back environment with some of the greatest co-workers I've had.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome company to work for
Billing Assistant/Revenue Qualifier (Former Employee), Cerritos, CAApril 7, 2015
Pros: co workers made work like home
Cons: not a lot of room for growth
everyone at omnicare greets you with open arms and is so willing to train and help you learn as much as you can to grow. the work day was always very busy with a lot of demographics to change for patients moving in and out of assisted living facilites. i learned so much about billing insurances and submitting claims online and through mail. how to run eligibility for various insurances. the hardest part about the job was closing out each month when we would work 12 hours for 2 days, but after we met deadlines it was always worth the hard work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy the work
Picking Technician (Current Employee), West Branch, MIApril 6, 2015
It's a good job. Wonderful people and a great work environment. Managers are understanding and helpful and the Pharmacists are great too. Starting wage is a bit low considering the work you do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
insurance filing
Pharmaceutical Billing (Former Employee), cincinnati, OHApril 2, 2015
Pros: Patient contact
Cons: Manager was too abrasive
Collected patient information submitting medical costs to insurance carriers and Medicare/Medicaid.
Management was very difficult.
Co-workers were nice
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
collection specialist (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHApril 1, 2015
Awsome atmosphere and company. there is a passion for their customers and clients. They care about process and procedures.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management
Billing Supervisor (Former Employee), Allentown, PAMarch 31, 2015
Absent Senior Management and no clear directions given. Co workers were supportive. More work given but not compensation and no tools to use to reference the correct procedure.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok job if you like being on Phone all day
Benefit Case Manager (Former Employee), Louisville, KYMarch 30, 2015
Pros: Bagel day on thursdays
Cons: no team support
This is a call center (a third party)make no mistake about it. A typical day at work consist of cold calling Patient's insurance companies and pharmacies to obtain benefit information for doctors all day long, phone call after phone call, after phone call. The hours are long, the working environment is stressful, the building is cold, you must wear lots of clothes, gloves and stay in your coat in order to make it through your shift. You have half hour for lunch, must earn your sick and annual time and if you have a doctors appointment, etc., better forget it. If you miss work you get points, eight points and your out. Lots of favoritism, lack of team support, lots of little clicks, and no support from management. The most enjoyable part of the day----walking out the door.....

Oh, a high school education will do. If you have a Degree of any kind, you are wasting your education working here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people to work with, low pay, bad mgmt, Good learning experience
picking technician (Former Employee), West Chester, OHMarch 27, 2015
Pros: great employees
Cons: bad mgmt, low pay
If you want to learn how the pharmacy field works, this is place to start.
Good people work here, not so good management and the pay is not so great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and happy place to work. Everyone treated you as family
Contacted the bookkeeper (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTMarch 23, 2015
Reviewed private pay patient billing statements for correct and accurate charges.
Reviewed facility unbilled charges for correct and accurate charges.
Responded to written customer inquiries regarding account status within forty-eight hours. Researched customer’s accounts and documented follow-ups appropriately.
Mailed statements to long term care facilities, patient homes, residents, or responsible parties.
Reviewed Hospice accounts to ensure proper documentation was obtained and applied in the system.
Made certain that at all times my effort was made to validate information regarding an account and discussed with the patient or responsible party only.
Worked with residents, patients, facilities, and family members regarding charges on accounts, complaints and collection activity.
Contacted the bookkeeper at the long term care facilities to attempt and reconcile charges.
Referred accounts to collection representative at the pharmacy for all overdue balances in excess of 30 days.
Worked and partnered with other internal departments to resolve issues.
Followed all applicable government regulations including HIPAA.

Hardest part of the job was end of month billing. we had to pull reports to make sure patients accounts were billed correctly.
Co-workers were easy to work with and everyone was like a family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poorly managed company
staff pharmacist (Former Employee), North Little Rock, ARMarch 18, 2015
Pros: laid back atmosphere
Cons: poorly managed
This place sold the Little Rock location in 2004. This company was being ran by a family member of a competitor, therefore this person, i feel was not really trying hard to make this company prosper. He left the company in about 2002, and another inexperienced manager ran the sinking ship until it was sold to a competitor.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice job
Lead Certified Pharmacy Technician II (Current Employee), Murfreesboro, TNMarch 18, 2015
I like my job. I have a great boss and coworkers. Pharmacy is the same everywhere. I don't like being in a work room with no windows.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee), Florissant, MOMarch 17, 2015
Pros: advancment
Cons: short breaks
my co worker are nice to work with you have the opportunity to advance with then the company. you can earn trophy at the end of year for job well done which Is nice to be reconized for good job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional work place
Medical Records Technician (Former Employee), King of Prussia, PAMarch 17, 2015
Pros: nothing good to say
Cons: not a good work place
Management was very unprofessional. They call employee to take smoke breakers. Nothing you send was very held in confidence , management was worse then employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing workplace with plenty of room to grow
Billing Revenue Qualification (Current Employee), Allentown, PAMarch 4, 2015
My typical workday included census processing, insurance setup, contacting facilities and maintaining a great relationship with my assigned facilities. i learned a great deal of medical terminology and how to set up insurance for patients. This was an amazing work experience.

1 2 3 4 5

About Omnicare

Omnicare, Inc., a Fortune 400 company based in Cincinnati, Ohio, provides comprehensive pharmaceutical services to patients and – Read more

Omnicare Salaries

Pharmacy Technician
$12.25 per hour
$27,000 per year
Data Entry
$28,000 per year
$15.00 per hour
Order Entry Clerk
$14.28 per hour