Find companies:
Omnicare
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
235 reviews

Omnicare Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NOT A FUN PLACE TO WORK!!!!
Medical Records Technician, Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee), Moorestown, NJNovember 12, 2013
A typical work day at this place is not a typical day, If you enjoy working with a bunch of immature high school people then this is the place to work. They will tell you about the core values that need to be followed but most of them do not follow them and they are managers of departments (so sad). The General Manager does not have a clue on how to – more... run the place and will go against you in anyway, shape, or form, He is not good at handling problems. He will run away instead of trying to fix the problem. a lot of the people that work there are very two faced. They will be sweet as pie to your face the next minute you turn your back they are talking about you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long Term Care Pharmacy
Intern Pharmacist/Graduate Intern (Former Employee), Cerritos, CANovember 5, 2013
-Communicate and collaborate with nurses to insure the safety and status of the timed drug deliveries
-Communicate with physicians on a daily bases to receive verbal authorizations to dispense controlled medications
-Interpret and prioritize the order of filling and delivery of medications to nursing homes and rehab centers
-Routing orders to order – more... entry, control, and IV departments: average of 3,000 orders daily
-Order entry and packaging in the IV department
-Daily follow up calls to specific facilities to ensure the quality of customer service
-Management of repackaging orders for delivery – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terribly unprofessional
Order Entry/Triage/Customer Service (Former Employee), Plainview, NYOctober 29, 2013
Cons: short breaks, terrible management
Typical day at work would be doing whatever you are told to be by shouting management. We were treated like robots to type faster faster faster! Either sat in front of a computer and entered new rx's all day or refills all day or answered incoming calls all day or did outgoing calls all day. Sometimes we were forced to do many of those at once and still – more... forced to type faster faster faster WITHOUT ANY ERRORS!....impossible? YES!

I learned not to let that type of management take advantage of you. Also, when H.R. is ALWAYS of the managements side if you make a complaint against someone it is not a good work environment.

Management was the worst part of my 8 year job experience there. My coworkers on the other had were not. They were very understand, kind and considerate. We always looked out for each other and helped one another.

The hardest part of the job was dealing with the pressure of management. The most enjoyable part was getting a pizza party (like little kids) for when we fill a lot of rx's!....big deal! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very demanding enviroment
Billing/Customer Service (Current Employee), Allentown, PAOctober 18, 2013
Pros: plenty of work available
Cons: there is a very small window to use you pto time
Our day begins with making sure that we are ready for any calls from our patients and our nursing facilities. Follow up on any previous days work, such as re-billing third party insurance and also re-billing Medicaid under specific time to ensure proper reimbursement.

I am given weekly and pre-billing reports to complete prior to billing. Verify any – more... insurance changes and make those updates. Once all the reports are completed then we bill our facilities and private pay patients

I believe the hardest part at times of my job is the influx of calls once the patients and facilities receive their statements and making all the changes that need to be corrected, refunded and research in a timely fashion,

Management is aware of all the calls and the possibility of falling behind so they make time available to catch up.

Team work is at it's best. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad if you're not a college student
Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee), Omaha, NEOctober 16, 2013
The coworkers are wonderful and friendly! However, management is horrible. One of them in particular is not a manager I would ever want to work under again. She constantly forgets things and does not keep track of time of requests, and has given me a write up for time off that I "did not ask for" even though I had a copy of the sheet!!!

Also, they – more... are not flexible with college. I really needed time off in the day so I can go to school and work late. However, they refused to change my hours so I have to find another job that is more flexible to my availability. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for the moment
Technician (Current Employee), Annapolis Junction, MDOctober 16, 2013
Pros: fast paced environment
Cons: constant change in management and operation guidlines, no chance of advancement, low salary
Good job with good benefits if you are willing to settled with low pay, the turn over rate of incoming and outgoing employees and increasing challanges. Constant shift in management. No chance of advancement even with further accreditation or education.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Staff Pharmacist (Current Employee), Wakefield, MAOctober 8, 2013
High job security and company is expanding constantly!!!

Friendly co-workers and busy place. A place can take lunch break and no insurance phone calls.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a very good place to work
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee), Nashville, TNOctober 7, 2013
Pros: non
Cons: unfriendly, not helpful employees, unorganized and no structured training
come in entered new admissions, readmits and discharge long erem patients into business specific program and third party billing to insurance

Understanding of insurance and that this pharmacy was business specific for long term car facilities

Management was not very organized or forthcoming with information.

Coworkers were very not friendly or helpful – more... and it was very childish place to work for.

The unorganized way of training and assigning tasks.

There was no realy enjoyable part of the job – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun fast paced
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee), Edison, NJOctober 6, 2013
Pros: loved what i did
Cons: wasnt permanent
a typical work day was very fast paced but great company ,ive learned about all the different drugs and compounding,management was great ,my coworkers we great as well the hardest part of my job i cant say i had a hard part but the most enjoyable part of my job was getting meds out in time
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company to work for
Narcotics Compliance Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee), Wadsworth, OHSeptember 28, 2013
Pros: pay, benefits, great manager
Cons: ran into a slight scheduling error
Very good company to work for, my pharmacist that i had as my daily manager was great at her job and made me feel at home there. The team i worked with on a daily basis was also fantastic
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
you stay busying
Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee), Florissant, MOSeptember 26, 2013
people are nice
always something to do
knowing you help others is rewarding
management is ok
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
System defect
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee), King of Prussia, PASeptember 26, 2013
Pros: company treats
Cons: system
The hardest part of this job is working with a software that always have defect.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job, decent benefits, not so great home life
Data Entry Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee), Raleigh, NCSeptember 23, 2013
The job itself is great, its simple, stress free and pretty laid back environment. I wish I could take this job with me, but my home life suffers from the commute :( I have worked at two differant facilities for this company and almost every person I worked with has been nice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pharmacy Technician
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee), Des Plaines, ILSeptember 20, 2013
• Labeling and filling patient medication
• Experience in PV2 scanning, printing manifest, and packaging
• Separate medication by alphabetical order and patient code
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Providing for the elderly
Purchasing Supervisor/Manager (Current Employee), MarylandSeptember 17, 2013
The best part of the job is what I do. At the end of the day, I am a part of bigger picture that provides medication to the elderly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee), richmond, vaSeptember 17, 2013
omnicare was a great place to work but i left for better oportunities
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Benefits/No Respect for Employees
IV Technician (Current Employee), Portsmouth, VASeptember 10, 2013
Pros: good benefits, good experience builder in ltc
Cons: no respect for their employees, long hours, low wages, favoritism is everywhere, no chance at any kind of promotion unless your a brown noser or family, the management will not solve any problems that is going on, there is absolutely no company culture at all, not a company to be proud of
A typical day at Omnicare is one full of stress, stress, stress. I came from working in huge kitchens so stress and working under pressure is not something new to me. This company brings it to a whole new level though. Their company motto is if you don't like it there's the door! You work very long hours because you're doing the job of at least 2.5 – more... people and are expected to have the work done everyday. You are not going to have any real kind of life outside of this company. The management refuses to actually listen to their employees, who do bring good solutions to some of the problems going on. They skirt around the core problems and instead blame things like you're being too negative. There is no morale with the employees and no clear direction with this company. My co-workers are some of the best people I've ever worked with. Omnicare has a serious problem with their management team. It really does seem like they have no experience in running a LTC company or any company for that matter. Treat employees with some respect. Acknowledge employees are human and treat them as such. You give points for "bad" behavior, but there is no reward for good behavior. Communicate, communicate, communicate. You can't build a team if you are playing employees off of each other. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Feeling in the prescriptions
Pharmacy Technician Extern (Former Employee), Canoga Park, CASeptember 6, 2013
You don't have to deal with any patient. Closed door pharmacy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have a lot more than this . . .
hr coordinator (Former Employee), Richmond VAAugust 29, 2013
Cons: management
I, today *(8/29/13), saw this advertisement for my job, which apparently was posted on 8/13. I was terminated on 8/14, before my probationary period had expired.
While they were completely within their rights to fire me within the 90 day period, I had been misled, outright lied to, and repeatedly given different directions/ instructions.
This company – more... has no affirmative action plan (which is required by law as a federal contractor); struggling to implement a compensation system--which HR doesn't even understand; and cannot formulate a fair hiring procedure.
Take this info for what it's worth. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome chance to advancement
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOAugust 27, 2013
Pros: working with great people, great pay, always challenged with new things.
Cons: working long hours, missing time with my kids.
I started in the reports department with in 2 months I moved up to receptionist, then 10 months later I was promoted to the administrative assistant. I loved the company and the chance to advance so quickly but once i showed what I could do and what I had to offer the company I became very quickly over worked and hardly got to see my kids.

About Omnicare

Omnicare strives to be omnipresent in US nursing homes. The firm is the country's largest institutional pharmacy services provider, – Read more

Omnicare Photos