On The Border Mexican Grill Employee Reviews

Found 15 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just like any serving job
Hourly Manager (Former Employee) –  Woodbridge, VAJune 27, 2016
The managers will offer management positions and transfers to other stores if the employee works hard. Other than that it is like any other serving job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only good for Weekends...
Server (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, ARJune 6, 2016
This is not a job you want to do all week, if anything request only weekends or days closer to friday and Saturday as that is when one makes the most money. Co-Workers are rude and belligerent, managers don't care and are only looking to get their paychecks and get out, clientele is bad as well. Like I said, take this job as a weekend job Thurs, Fri, Sat and Sun thats when the most money is made.
Pros
half-off food for employees, hot female customers (for men)
Cons
See above for all cons.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for teens who want a simple first job.
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Gastonia, NCJanuary 4, 2016
As a hostess you greeted and sat customers in a strategic manner. I had to be careful not to crowd one server. I clean tables and swept the floors. most enjoyable part of the job was the atmosphere(good music, nice customers). Hardest part of the job was getting enough hors to support myself.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Server/Bartendere
Server, Bartender, Trainer (Current Employee) –  Rapid City, SDOctober 20, 2015
Great place to work while going to school. The management was really great about working with my school schedule to ensure that I get great hours at work with school work coming first.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very gratifying experience.
Server/Waiter (Former Employee) –  Leawood, KSMay 27, 2015
The food is amazing and the team was very fun to work with. I took pride in providing excellent service to my customers and acquired many regulars who would dine in and ask specifically to be seated in my section.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
eh
Cook/Prep/Dishwasher/ Server (Current Employee) –  Loveland, COMarch 31, 2015
just ok. sometimes the staff is so low that they make people work more than they might otherwise want. The management team is also good but sometimes they seem to care more about themselves
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team environment
server/bartender (Current Employee) –  Edmond, OKSeptember 18, 2014
A day at work is what you make it you learn a wide variety of skill sets throughout your time here.
Pros
great co workers
Cons
Dont value staff as much as they should
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work enviorment and enjoyable work staff
Bartender (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZSeptember 6, 2014
I enjoyed working in the Food and Beverage business. It is a fun atmosphere where I was able to meet new people everyday. I enjoyed working in the bar where I can be interactive with guests and also get to watch some sports on the television from time to time. I worked well with my coworkers and had a great management staff. The hardest part of my job was probably during the rush when it gets very busy all at once, but that also made it a little bit more fun also.
Pros
healthcare benefits
Cons
we did not get a discount on food
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I've never been so tired
Waiter (Former Employee) –  Midland, TXFebruary 26, 2014
If you NEED a job right NOW this is great you will get working right away if your even slightly good at waiting tables you will be scheduled doubleshifts most of the week you will come home tired and if you don't smoke now you will by the time you leave. management changes about every couple months so if you start out with a great manager dont hold your breath they wont be there long if you have a bad one dont worry they wont be there long either if you open your shift you close your shift so the first person in has the longest freaking day ever. the other waiters are awesome and somehow even after working from 9am to 1 am i would still find the energy to party with them looking back only God knows how
Pros
coworkers
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
staying busy, freindly work enviornment
Server/Shift leader/ Bartender (Former Employee) –  Buford, GAJanuary 24, 2014
serving guests, cleaning, restocking, opening and or closing the store would be a typical day working. managers are great and fun to work with. the hardest part of the job is finding something to do to stay active when it is slow.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job Environment for people who love what they do.
Host / Host Trainer / Server (Former Employee) –  Guaynabo, PRAugust 15, 2013
Perfect job to gain experience in the food and beverage industry. Love being the trainer and sharing my knowledge.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, fast-paced and intellectually stimulating!
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXJune 30, 2013
Open/close branch
order products from various vendors using ordering utilities:
Ben E Keith, Potato Specialty, coca-cola, roto-router, Ecosure, etc.
Working knowledge of most clerical computer programs
recruit, hire, terminate employees.
Create weekly schedules for staff of 50+
tax information paperwork for new team members
work with in restaurant management team as well as corporate support
experience in inventory
utilize reports involving inventory and labor to efficiently operate multi-million dollar location
Pros
100% company discount
Cons
no breaks, 60+ hrs/wk
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ole
Waiter/Trainer (Former Employee) –  Hicksville, NYJuly 3, 2012
Americanized Mexican food.

Do i need to say more?

Apparently I do. This place is a step above taco bell.
Pros
free tacos
Cons
awful management
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees and 3 guests can dine at OTB at anytime and get 50% off their dinner.
Bartender (Former Employee) –  Charlotte,NCJanuary 6, 2012
I worked at On the Border for five years as a bartender. It's a wonderful restaurant and is fun and upbeat. I learned a great deal about customer service and the importance of teamwork while working there.
Pros
flexible scheduling, great management, fun upbeat atmosphere
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more On The Border Mexican Grill reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 17 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6