Find companies:
OneBeacon Insurance Group
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
13 reviews

OneBeacon Insurance Group Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Sr. Administrative Assistant - Finance (Current Employee), Minnetonka, MNAugust 8, 2014
Growing company, great upper management! Walking paths, ponds, wildlife....hard to imagine you are at work!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
boring place to work at
Senior QA Engineer (Former Employee), Foxborough, MAJuly 15, 2014
Pros: people
Cons: management
nothing exciting going on here... however made many personal and professional friends
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Maybe concentration on specialty will work for them
Technical Specialist (Former Employee), Canton, MAJune 28, 2014
Pros: good working environment
Cons: once it went public, all decisions were based on immediate profit.
OneBeacon was a fairly nice place to work. The people were great but they decided to stick to only specialty products and got rid of all the traditional lines of business.

I don't know if this helped their bottom line, but the company is a mere shell of its former self,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Claim Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Canton, MANovember 21, 2013
The environment is great! Management treats you with respect and are a;ways willing and available to help.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
-Onebeacon Insurance Automation Tester Salem-Virginia
Automation Tester (Former Employee), Salem, VAOctober 2, 2013
-ONEBEACON INSURANCE company provides the insurance to more commercial and special kind of insurance in America. They also have experty in real estate ,terrorism types of Insurance. They provide the details in their insurance coverage . Onebeacon gives easy to access to professional and business class whenever they want connect the internet to check – more... their coverage and premium. Their application are more based on the ,@SUIT,.UMS, @ EAS and POLARIS. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great!
Claims (Current Employee), Canton, MAAugust 2, 2013
Great place to work and learn.
Supportive management and collegues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management can't get out of their own way
Underwriter (Former Employee), Farmington, CTMay 10, 2013
Pros: people i worked with were wonderful. all of them put 100 percent in.
Cons: management has a superior complex
Horrible management that has the, "Do what I say, not what I do attitude." They also spent millions on a computer systems that is absolutely horrible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
handled auto claims, made contact with our insured and property owners , set up to have damaged vehicles and property seen, issued payments as needed
Claims Rep (Former Employee), Williamsville, NYFebruary 4, 2013
Pros: lots of contact with policy holders
I would get information on automobile accidents involving our policy holders. Make contact take statements, make arrangements for damaged vehicle or property to be seen. Then issue payments according to estimates.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the Best Specialty Insurance Companies to work for!
Marketing (Current Employee), SoutheastDecember 14, 2012
Pros: great team members, employees valued by management, feels like a small business environment
Cons: some fallout from the changing business model to a specialty insurance compamy
Coming to OneBeacon from my last employer was like a breath of fresh air!

Employees are valued and opportunities abound in Specialty units. (commercial middle market & personal lines were sold off to become a true Specialty Insurance Company - so those ex-employees will most likely have a different opinion).

Flat corporate structure in my business – more... unit with little to no micromanagement. Everyone is valued for what they bring to the organization - and all employees are expected to "think like an owner".

Great work/life balance and good pay and benefits. It's fun to come to work again after suffering under the draconian environment at another insurance company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had so much potential
Consultant (Former Employee), CantonDecember 4, 2012
Pros: i really liked many of the people with whom i worked
Cons: stuck in the past and cannot get up
I was a consultant there, 2003-2008. - Poorly managed. Product line shrunk as chunks of the business were sold off in order to stay alive. (Line is personal lines such as homeowners, etc.) Typical insurance company where too many people stayed too long and were too comfortable. Many of the good people left, because they could (common story). Don't get – more... me wrong, there were people who remained who worked hard but all too often no new ideas were presented by them or by management. In today's world if you stagnate you die - and so this is the story of One Beacon.
Insurance has for years been insulated. Downward pressure by out of control product prices mixed with some deregulation is now rocking this once insulated industry. Newcomers as well as established companies exploiting new technologies, processes and methodologies are setting a pace which companies such as One Beacon are incapable of matching. One Beacon's failure is wholey due to poor management - period!
I tried to changed things while I was there but it was like trying to teach a caveman about aerospace; management is conceptually incapable of understanding today's ways. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Staff but poorly managed
Applications Manager (Former Employee), PhiladelphiaSeptember 5, 2012
Cons: upper managment too disconnected
Lots of good ideas, but no one willing to implement or follow through. President etc. more concerned with the bottom line than people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent management and team environment that kept employees busy.
Programmer/Analyst (Former Employee), Foxborough, MAJune 21, 2012
Pros: a wonderful cafetaria, great benefits, a lot of room for advancement.
Cons: contractors were constantly streaming in an out, management hopped around with employees and different groups.
The work was more challenging and the programming involved taughter me a great deal of matters having to do with the entire life cycle of an IT program from inception up until its migration into prouction. Learned how to manage small teams and oversaw development of over 90% of the project.