Onondaga Community College Employee Reviews

Showing all 21 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a great place to work. Caring and supportive staff for attending students
Academic Tutor (Current Employee) –  Syracuse, NYJuly 23, 2015
Wonderful diverse staff that collectively shares in the interests of students and employees needs. Works around the needs of employees and strides to find harmony in the work environment for all.
Pros
Great view of the city, safe and friendly environment
Cons
parking can be a challenge due to space limitations
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always looking over your sholder
Systems Administrator (Former Employee) –  Syracuse, NYJune 18, 2015
Management needs to work in basket making as they have no talent in IT or Higher Education.

Co-works are awesome!
Going home is the best part of the day
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student
Full-Time Student (Former Employee) –  Syracuse, NYJune 2, 2015
I was a student receiving VA benefits that allowed me to focus solely on school rather than working. I learned a wide range of computer skills and found the career field that fits me best.
Pros
Schedule, Income
Cons
School breaks halt pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a fun place to work
Systems Administrator (Current Employee) –  Syracuse NYMay 27, 2015
The place has ivory towers every where. Management believes the college is there for them. Nepotism and cronyism is the way that Onondaga Community College does business.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Night Clerk
Night Clerk (Former Employee) –  Syracuse, NYMay 18, 2015
Interesting job, It helped me gain more experience such as learning how to check people in and out on a specific computer application.
Pros
Benefited to gain experience on desk and security work, Alot of down time
Cons
Late Nights/Mornings
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Place
Adjunct Professor (Current Employee) –  Syracuse, NYOctober 28, 2014
Onondaga Community College is a wonderful institution of higher learning that allows, creativity , growth and support of college students.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Onondaga Community College
Counseling Department - Program Associate (Former Employee) –  SyracuseSeptember 8, 2014
Is a great place to work with a lot of support from the staff. Everyone is friendly and once your job is learned, you get the opportunity to teach it to others.
Pros
free education for employess & lots of support from staff
Cons
zero
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship
Internship (Former Employee) –  Syracuse, NYJuly 4, 2014
Simply it was a really good opportunity. I got to help make the lacrosse championship poster. The graphic design workers were so kind and helpful. The manager was nice and patient while I learned all about what they did and how they ran things for the college.
Pros
learned a lot about graphic design.
Cons
it was only for a few weeks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun getting to meet a lot of students
Orientation Leader (Former Employee) –  Syracuse, NYJune 6, 2014
A typical day at work includes leading prospective students on campus tours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely productive, one of the best experiences I've ever had.
Resident Assistant (Current Employee) –  Syracuse, NYMay 23, 2014
It was one of the best experiences of my life. I really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and enjoyable work atmosphere.
Adjunct Professor (Current Employee) –  Syracuse, NYApril 29, 2014
Its nice to give back to the school that started me on the path of architecture and to be able to work alongside many of my former instructors.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summ
Custodian/Maintenance (Current Employee) –  Syracuse, NYMarch 6, 2014
The job is great ant there are great opportunities. More information will be given in interview
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun play to work
Assistant Tennis Instructor (Former Employee) –  Syracuse, NYMarch 5, 2014
A typical day at work would be calm and productive. My co-workers worked as a team to get tasks done.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good academic environment
Adjunct Science Instructor (Former Employee) –  Syracuse, NYFebruary 19, 2014
Excellent academic environment with motivated students.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Regular college life
AAS student (Former Employee) –  Syracuse , New YorkJanuary 16, 2014
Allways spending time in classes , and labs . great teachers , great labs , and an excellment tutoring program
Pros
great teachers
Cons
long walks to classes
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great school
student (Former Employee) –  Town of Onondaga, NYJuly 3, 2013
excellent education
great professors
great learning environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great way for youth to empower themselves
Full Time Student (Current Employee) –  Syracuse, NYMay 1, 2013
OCC offers many interesting degree programs for all ages
they also have in my opinion the best support services for any student. such as writing center. there are also many fun clubs and activities for every one to engage in, such as the newly built YMCA center.
Pros
excellent support and low tution
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good place to work
Administrator (Former Employee) –  DevelopmentOctober 10, 2012
Lots of great people work here, all with a purpose to help provide one of the best educational experiences for those who come here to learn. College is currently seeking a new president. If you like working with students this could be the perfect place for you!
Pros
modern campus, great colleagues, one of the fastest growing, top-rated community colleges in the nation
Cons
department & division changes occur frequently, many recent moves and terminations, particlarly in the new affiliated enterprises division.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good and also fun to work
Lab Assistant, Architecture Department (Former Employee) –  Syracuse, NYMay 31, 2012
My boss was good to work for and always had something for me to do.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and diverse atmoshpere
Department Aide (Current Employee) –  Syracuse, NYApril 9, 2012
I love my job. I love how versatile the staff is and the attitudes people have that work with me. I can literally not like what is being talked about in one room and then go in another room and decide if I want to be a part of this conversation or the one I was before. I love that everyone is always open to criticism. I haven't gotten to an advancement position in my job to tell you enough about it. I have learned so much information. I find that students have so much that they need help with you have to talk them through the process and in the end, its the details of how you handle the subject that help the student feel better about everything.
Pros
very flexible with your schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 21 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture