Onondaga Community College Employee Reviews

Showing all 27 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy work
Mathematics and Physics Tutor (Current Employee) –  Syracuse, NYJanuary 26, 2016
the Job was great. I enjoyed working with people because i learned from there. I learned how to deal with customers, how to stay calm in difficult moment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Studying and hardwork
RN enrollment (Former Employee) –  Syracuse, NYJanuary 8, 2016
I go to school in the morning and start my classes. Learning how to become in RN. Loved my classmates as well as my instructors. And I also love learning new things.
Pros
Alot of help offered
Cons
To many Classes
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fine work establishment
Biology Tutoring Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Onondaga County, NYNovember 8, 2015
Very flexible work experience, good balance with studies and general living. Coworkers are extremely friendly and understanding, helpful in situations needing adjunct knowledge in certain areas of tutoring.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every day was different, fast paced and busy.
Program Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Athletic Department-SRC CenterOctober 5, 2015
Everyday was different which was nice. Learned about all the different event that the SRC event center on the OCC campus hosted and saw how they where able to transform the center from one event to the next quickly. The facuility for the athletics is top of the line.
Pros
Working with the coaches and athletes
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good working environment with the staff and colleagues in other departments.
Events Assistant (Former Employee) –  Syracuse, NYSeptember 16, 2015
It was a great office to work in. I was never doing the same thing every day. I was able to work at my desk as necessary and work events in different buildings/on campus. Although it was a part time job, I did learn about about scheduling and running events.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and Productive
Housing and Development Corporation Custodian (Current Employee) –  Syracuse, NYSeptember 4, 2015
A typical day in the college resident halls can be surprising. Besides cleaning and work orders an emergency call can be brought to my attention at any given moment.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a great place to work. Caring and supportive staff for attending students
Academic Tutor (Current Employee) –  Syracuse, NYJuly 23, 2015
Wonderful diverse staff that collectively shares in the interests of students and employees needs. Works around the needs of employees and strides to find harmony in the work environment for all.
Pros
Great view of the city, safe and friendly environment
Cons
parking can be a challenge due to space limitations
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always looking over your sholder
Systems Administrator (Former Employee) –  Syracuse, NYJune 18, 2015
Management needs to work in basket making as they have no talent in IT or Higher Education.

Co-works are awesome!
Going home is the best part of the day
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student
Full-Time Student (Former Employee) –  Syracuse, NYJune 2, 2015
I was a student receiving VA benefits that allowed me to focus solely on school rather than working. I learned a wide range of computer skills and found the career field that fits me best.
Pros
Schedule, Income
Cons
School breaks halt pay
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a fun place to work
Systems Administrator (Current Employee) –  Syracuse NYMay 27, 2015
The place has ivory towers every where. Management believes the college is there for them. Nepotism and cronyism is the way that Onondaga Community College does business.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Night Clerk
Night Clerk (Former Employee) –  Syracuse, NYMay 18, 2015
Interesting job, It helped me gain more experience such as learning how to check people in and out on a specific computer application.
Pros
Benefited to gain experience on desk and security work, Alot of down time
Cons
Late Nights/Mornings
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Place
Adjunct Professor (Current Employee) –  Syracuse, NYOctober 28, 2014
Onondaga Community College is a wonderful institution of higher learning that allows, creativity , growth and support of college students.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Onondaga Community College
Counseling Department - Program Associate (Former Employee) –  SyracuseSeptember 8, 2014
Is a great place to work with a lot of support from the staff. Everyone is friendly and once your job is learned, you get the opportunity to teach it to others.
Pros
free education for employess & lots of support from staff
Cons
zero
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship
Internship (Former Employee) –  Syracuse, NYJuly 4, 2014
Simply it was a really good opportunity. I got to help make the lacrosse championship poster. The graphic design workers were so kind and helpful. The manager was nice and patient while I learned all about what they did and how they ran things for the college.
Pros
learned a lot about graphic design.
Cons
it was only for a few weeks.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun getting to meet a lot of students
Orientation Leader (Former Employee) –  Syracuse, NYJune 6, 2014
A typical day at work includes leading prospective students on campus tours.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely productive, one of the best experiences I've ever had.
Resident Assistant (Current Employee) –  Syracuse, NYMay 23, 2014
It was one of the best experiences of my life. I really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summ
Custodian/Maintenance (Current Employee) –  Syracuse, NYMarch 6, 2014
The job is great ant there are great opportunities. More information will be given in interview
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun play to work
Assistant Tennis Instructor (Former Employee) –  Syracuse, NYMarch 5, 2014
A typical day at work would be calm and productive. My co-workers worked as a team to get tasks done.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good academic environment
Adjunct Science Instructor (Former Employee) –  Syracuse, NYFebruary 19, 2014
Excellent academic environment with motivated students.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Regular college life
AAS student (Former Employee) –  Syracuse , New YorkJanuary 16, 2014
Allways spending time in classes , and labs . great teachers , great labs , and an excellment tutoring program
Pros
great teachers
Cons
long walks to classes
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 27 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture