ONR, Inc. / Orthopaedic & Neurological Rehabilitation Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 12 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Example: Productive and fun workplace with ping pong table
Physical Therapist (Former Employee) –  Oroville, CAOctober 29, 2012
Wonderful co-workers with excellent skills and passion for their work.
I was the primary PT @ the SNF but other PT's and/or PTA's also worked there, daily, too. Management supervised 3 other SNF's, so I had limited access to Mngt. Typically, I got my schedule, oriented PT's/PTA's to their schedules, treated Pt's, attended meetings &/or home evals prn, and did PT notes. The hardest part of the job was dealing with 13 different PT's/PTA's the1st 3 months. The best part of the job was patient care-esp. seeing pt's regain their function. I learned to supervise many people in a short time. (I hadn't been told I would be the primary PT @ the SNF!)
Pros
rehab staff with excelent skills and compassion.
Cons
benefits package expensive. mngt not adequately available-also, 4 new rehab mngrs. in 6 months.
Was this review helpful?Yes20No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A True Team
HR, Purchasing & Executive Assistant (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXAugust 3, 2012
Pleasant people, lots of laughs, very little micro-managing, lots of independence
Pros
great benefits
Cons
red tape
Was this review helpful?Yes3No14
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and growth driven agency
Office Clerk (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GADecember 30, 2014
Working for ONR was extremely rewarding, as a government agency they take pride in the advancement of an individual as well as societal growth and advancement in areas of education, science, technology, military, armed forces and many other areas to ensure a better and advancing world.
Pros
growth driven enviornment, opportunity for advancement
Cons
further and higher education necessary for continued growth in many areas
Was this review helpful?Yes1No11
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unethical pressures not recommended
Occupational Therapist (Current Employee) –  desmoine IAMarch 29, 2013
poor management and unethical company expect you to travel for hours with little pay or support
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
poor communication and constant productivity pressure
Was this review helpful?Yes29No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best RDO
Area Manager (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, IASeptember 14, 2012
I worked for ONR and really appreciated evey opportunity for advancement I was given.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No21
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive working environment
Occupational Therapist, part time 20 hour position (Current Employee) –  El Sobrante, CANovember 21, 2014
High quality care by nursing and rehab. Lovely people all around. Staff are friendly and welcoming. Facility is clean and well run
Was this review helpful?Yes2No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lack of part time or full time jobs
COTA/L (Current Employee) –  Tuscola, ILNovember 25, 2012
like working for ONR but their is a major problem with communications between staff and therapists.Childish cliques destory people like my self who dont belong to any specific group.I would give them more stars if they would give me real job
Pros
patients
Cons
back stabbing co workers
Was this review helpful?Yes21No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor business ethics and ineffective management strategies
OTR/L (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, IAJanuary 1, 2015
- False advertising and hiring. I was hired on a full time basis, defined as 36+hrs/week. However, mostly got ~30hrs wk on an average. Several weeks when paid work time was ~20 hrs/wk or less, even though hiring was on full-time basis. Difficult to stay with company if you have financial liabilities (student loans, home mortgage, family expenses etc.). I was unable to consider other employment as I was constantly told that workload will pick up and that I would possibly be needed from 8 am - 5 pm. Left company due to same and poor treatment practices.

- Very productivity oriented. Number of minutes/sessions are not proportionate to pt needs, instead they're geared towards maximum billing, often seeming unethical.
*Therapists are "encouraged" (read - implicitly forced) to schedule Max RUG levels for all new Med A pts irrespective of actual need or pt capacity. I had to make multiple visits in a single day for acquiring full number of minutes for pts with low endurance and poor medical condition.
*When issue discussed with DORs, was told that initially high RUG level would be followed and then decreased if necessary due to pt's inability to maximally participate. Seemed like DORs had limited control over setting these RUG levels and were encouraged to set highest possible levels.
*When I wished to d/c or decrease number of sessions/week due to pt not needing high intervention frequency, I was asked by regional manager to be more "creative" in treatment and continue at higher frequency than was necessary for pt's condition.

- No reprimand for unethical treatment practices.
*
  more... A certain COTA very blatantly displayed poor professional practice (using cell phone while pt waited for treatment in therapy gym and was being billed for minutes, using modalities/equipment like SWD/exercise bike when not best treatment intervention for pt, overcharging minutes, falsifying daily treatment records), and was not adequately reprimanded by management for same. I (and another therapist who also reported similar observations) felt that the company cared more about getting more treatment time by retaining that therapist than adopting ethical patient care practices. This particular therapist is most likely mentioned in an older review by an OT who worked for ONR in the Des Moines area.
* This therapist was demoted once for similar complaints, and then put on 1 week suspension almost 3 months later for repeat complaint by then-DOR. However exact same behavior on return to work, with no further action. New DOR did not seem open to feedback on COTA's performance/practice. As supervising OTR I felt uncomfortable counter-signing documentation as treatment and documentation was not 100% accurate based on personal observation and patient feedback.

- Poor team communication at facility level. Instead of discussing performance concerns at DOR-Therapist level, Regional manager often involved. I was asked to sign a performance improvement plan, without management asking for explanation for low productivity levels. (I spent several weeks completing and forwarding documentation to physicians/MDS coordinators etc from 3-6 months prior to my date of joining. Often only 1 or 2 computers available for completing documentation of 3-4 therapists.)

- Loss of paid work time. Company only pays for pre-decided number of minutes of travel between buildings. Time spent from signing out of computer at one building > reaching car & starting travel, and end travel >signing in at next facility is left unpaid, averaging 10-12 minutes for each building traveled to. Sometimes I traveled to 3-4 building s to get 6-7 hours of work, easily losing losing ~45 mins of travelling time spent for company. May seem negligible by itself, but significant monetary loss when considered over the course of a month.
  less
Was this review helpful?Yes31No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Physical Therapy Assistant (Former Employee) –  Vacaville, CAAugust 5, 2013
Regional director and Human Services were both very accessible and very helpful. I worked with a Director of Rehab and Physical Therapist that both had years of experience. They were both very patient and willing to teach me grow.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No11
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor/unethical business practices
COTA (Current Employee) –  hereFebruary 19, 2014
They fire people who defend themselves against workplace harassment. They employ people who change/alter documentation. bill for services not rendered
Cons
harassment
Was this review helpful?Yes39No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of travel expected with little reimbersement.
Speech-Language Patholgist (Current Employee) –  Des Moines, IAMay 17, 2012
Enjoyed semi-acute setting with the same pts. Enjoyed working in multidisciplinary setting.
Was this review helpful?Yes17No6

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ONR, Inc. / Orthopaedic & Neurological Rehabilitation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 12 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
2.9
Culture
3.0

ONR, Inc. / Orthopaedic & Neurological Rehabilitation Reviews by Location