Find companies:
ONWARD HEALTHCARE
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
30 reviews

ONWARD HEALTHCARE Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
CDL B Driver (Current Employee), Cherry Hill, NJMay 14, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: short breaks
would reccommend to another employee,very respectful to employees and value their opinions
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organized and extremely helpful employees.
❸ Sterile Processing Technician II (Former Employee), Nashua, NHMarch 13, 2014
Pros: great locations, great environment, great people.
Cons: some lag time in between assignments, but it isn't necessarily the company's fault.
Everyone that I have been in contact with through this company has been nothing, but helpful. They informed me of the many possibilities that may be granted and it always feels like they are genuinely looking out for my best interest. It is a great company to do business with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very dangerous place to work
Respiratory therapist (Former Employee), Edinburg TexasJanuary 15, 2014
Cons: slave labor, dangerous for licensure
Completely disorganized. Never received the stipend promised to pay for housing. Had to break contract due to unable to pay for rent. Management at hospital disorganized unable to talk to director because never returned phone calls or voice mail. Way understaffed and dangerous to work at. Feared for license. Last day I worked were 3 therapist for 275 – more... units of service. Was oriented by another traveler to critical care areas and she was not there any longer that I was. Unless you want to work for $15.00 an hour and worry about if you have money for rent and your license then head to south Texas and work like a slave. Certainly slave wages. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great availability and quick responses
Speech Language Pathologist (Current Employee), Attleboro, MADecember 5, 2013
Always communicating via email and phone calls, quick responses to issues and know they are looking out for my best interest.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive recruiter, excellent compensation package
SLP (Current Employee), Spartanburg, S.C.October 13, 2013
I prefer a SNF position to the school setting because I am working 12 hours a day to keep ahead of documentation deadlines.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
ICU Staff Nurse (Current Employee), Fort Wayne INSeptember 23, 2013
Pros: good pay and jobs
Cons: expensive benifits (240/wk family benefits) and long wait to get into 401k
I have worked for Onward for about 1 1/2 years now and my recruiter Erika Lauri is one of the best in the business that I have encountered over the last 13 years of traveling. The only downside the company has is their benefits are expensive and you have to work a 1000 hours before you can get in their 401K program.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Traveling therapy
PTA (Former Employee), Wilton, CTSeptember 12, 2013
It was the best thing I ever did, traveling for work. My recruiter was awesome and extremely helpful finding me jobs and keeping me employed with more then enough compensation. I recommend this company to anyone that wants to travel the country and get paid to do it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely stressful environment that discriminates
Compliance Analyst (Former Employee), Wilton, CTAugust 19, 2013
Pros: fast paced environment
Cons: management style was horrible, never giving credit where credit is due, health benefits were too expensive
Busy day from start to finish. No type of organization with the company. The management style was poor and they played favorites constantly. No work/life balance. If you had a family to take care of or a sick child you would easily get reprimanded for choosing that. One thing i did enjoy was the challenge. It was a fast paced environment where you are – more... never looking for work. The days flew by. But at the end of the day you never got any type of pat on the back for the great job you did. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good atmosphere and someone always willing to help
Recruitment Specialist (Former Employee), San Diego, CAAugust 9, 2013
Pros: fun but business oriented environment
Cons: not enough training to develop skill
Onward Healthcare is a lax place where you can choose your hours between coming in between 7 a.m. and leaving around 7 p.m. That is great considering we all have things to do before and after our work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Liars! Get everything in writing!
Travel Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Kearney, NebraskaJune 20, 2013
Pros: zero, nothing, terrible terrible company
Cons: listed in my review
You will be promised everything and if it is not in your contract, you will not get it period. They will try to take ever penny they can. My assignment went to scrub colors and I was promised to be paid, but it was not in my contract. They require a physical every year, so put it in writing that they pay for it. I was told on the phone they would pay, – more... but $350 later they said it was not in my contract. Of course when I call there now they will not return my calls. I will tell every nurse I know not to travel with this company! My recruiter was nice and would call me back in a heart beat, then they fired her. They did not give her, her last pay check and I had to call and fight for mine. Please skip over this company when looking for travel nursing jobs. This experience soured me on traveling nursing, I am now going to take a permanent position and stay put. Please beware they will not pay you everything you have coming. The pay is only $20/hr. My new permanent position pays more per hour and that is even with the travel benefits added in! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not too bad of a company
PTA (Former Employee), New YorkMay 12, 2013
Pros: pay, travel reimbursement
Cons: not many available jobs, job search on their website is lacking
I've worked with them for about a year now and don't really have too much to complain about. Overall, it's a pretty good company. They do seem to have a high turnover for recruiters, as I've been switched a few times. It's been hit or miss with that too. Some of the recruiters are good and others just seem like airheads. Pay is good and they have kept – more... their word on what I would get. But it is always good to review your contract before hand just to make sure. I did have some errors on a few while reviewing them, but they were quickly corrected and sent out again to sign. They don't always seem to have as many jobs as they claim to have though. Sometimes they bombard you and rush you into things and other times there is literally nothing going on anywhere. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BAD,BAD,BAD,BAD practices, BEWARE NURSES!
REGISTERED NURSE (Former Employee), VirginiaApril 2, 2013
Pros: hype and talk...you keep your eyes open at all times, beware.
Cons: all of the above better beware, seriously!
Poor, contract. Very low salary and not disclosed until the week you are to travel. Remember you have 72 hours to back out!

Make sure the rate is in the contract, otherwise...no benefits!

You may NOT get your LAST few pay checks so join at your own RISK....BEWARE of the DECEPTIVE COMMUNICATION about your salary and the terms you take...read other – more... reviews. Google, it!

I would recommend a better company...BAD one, so Beware NURSES! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dissatisfied
RN (Former Employee), Cherry Hill, NJMarch 13, 2013
Pros: money
Agency sent me to a mobile van to do assessments, did not specifically state what was the job entailed, difficulties with other workers when double checking process of operating equipment, worker went behind my back and called company, and said I didn't know how to operate machinery. Bottom line is all this specific equipment is different, and how could – more... one be wrong for asking someone to ensure better patient care. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Hard, Play Hard
Director (Current Employee), San Diego, CAMarch 10, 2013
Pros: fun people, opportunity, clear goals, lead by example
Cons: decent comp packages, outdated recruitment technology
OH has great ethics, values and values each of their team members. Recruiting positions are certainly the most challenging position within the organization especially now that the travel nursing industry has become more healthy and competitive. OH provides opportunity to those who work hard, work well with others and can build lasting relationships – more... with their clinicians. Although there is high turn over within those ranks, the comp can be lucrative. Management is truly interested in providing a quality service and creates a vision of expansion clearly. I would suggest working with the OH team if you are ambitious and have high energy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SLP offered travel contract that was't worth the paper it was written on
SLP (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TxJanuary 18, 2013
Cons: low salary/ridiculous contracts
IF you're going to travel with this company, Be Ware. They are out to get you. A traveler should read the contract thoroughly and have it reviewed by an attorney before you sign. Its a good thing that I have a legal background and fully understood the slippery slope that I was not willing to take. The recruiters are very ambiguous and promise you a – more... salary that is not listed in the final contract. Also this contract places all of the risks on the employee and none on the employer. IT also includes a clause that says Onward can change your compensation package at will without consulting you -The employee. The H_ll you will. I refused to sign this contract and the better for it. – less

Heavenknows – March 30, 2013

I needed work. They do not tell you the actual rate until the contract dead line. LOOK OUT RN BEWARE! I got actually $20.00 per hour. Look out!

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Place to work
Staff Speech-Language Pathologist (Former Employee), Easton, PADecember 27, 2012
Pros: helpful
Cons: not enough placements in the areas that i wanted.
Very professional staff to assist with placement. ALways available and willing to help when needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High turnover
Recruiter, Allied Health Division (Former Employee), Wilton, CTNovember 28, 2012
High turnover – with associates and management
Your calls are calculated and monitored and sent out on a daily report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful staff
Medical/Surgical/Telemetry Travel RN (Former Employee), New York, NYOctober 26, 2012
Pros: good pay
Cons: dis-organized document management
very supportive and people-oriented. they take good care of their nurses. the only setback is the paper work which sometimes is dis-organized.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work with great people
Recruitment Specialist (Current Employee), San Diego, CAOctober 22, 2012
Pros: laid back
Cons: n/a
Great place to work and a great place to get treated as an equal
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed for this travl agency
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Wilton, CTSeptember 29, 2012
Every job this company sent me to was a great learning experience and with each and every assignmentI left with more knowledge