Find companies:
Onward Search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
10 reviews

Onward Search Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best recruiters in Chicago
Creative Services Project Manager (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJune 20, 2013
As a long time marketer I have worked with many recruiting firms as a candidate and my experience with the Chicago team has been the best. They are smart, experienced, professional and ethical, sometimes a rare commodity in this field. They specialize in communication and they were with me every step of the way from my first interview through the onboarding – more... process. Two individuals in particular stand out - the regional vice-president and the recruiter that I worked with. Both exceeded my expectations at all times. I recommend the Chicago office of Onward Search without any hesitation. If you are seeking a job in creative services in the Chicago area they should be your first stop. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Onward and Upward!
Regional Vice President (Current Employee), Chicago, ILApril 23, 2013
Onward Search is a great place for people who have the drive and an entrepreneur spirit. If you’re looking for a place to make a big impact and work hard this is the place to do it. Onward also takes extra time and care when working with their freelance talent. This is a very rare quality in most staffing firms but you won’t feel like a number when – more... you work with Onward Search. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great entrepreneurial organization that provides unlimited professional development opportunities
Vice President (Current Employee), Boston, MAApril 23, 2013
Pros: fun start up environment, great work/life balance, growth opportunities galore!
Cons: start up environment may not be for everyone. recruiting and staffing is a tough business.
I have worked for Onward Search for several years and have played an integral role in not only shaping the organization but developing and mentoring internal employees. Onward has a start-up mentality in which everyone is expected to take ownership and responsibility for driving business and promoting the brand. Individuals who are passionate about – more... the staffing industry and enjoy building strong client relationships are the type of people who not only succeed at Onward Search, but are also promoted, quickly. If you want to work for a flat organization that offers no growth and expects nothing from you- dont work at Onward. If you want to be told by your boss that you "wow'd" him or her, come work at Onward Search. Ive seen the best and most productive people in staffing work at Onward and move up quickly through the ranks. Onward promotes from within and also supports a strong work/life balance. I work hard, am very good at what I do and my company takes very good care of me. I have earned the role I am in now and Onward respects me and relies upon me to help lead their business. In return, the company works hard to keep me very happy and is very successful in doing so. Onward insures that its top staff is well taken care of on every level. The only thing you have to do at Onward is love what you do and work hard doing it. Pretty easy if you think about it, huh? Disgruntled ex employees just want to point the finger at something or someone else rather than take a moment to reflect upon why they no longer work at Onward Search. I havent seen a top performer leave the organization yet. I will however, admit that in the past, Onward had been too quick to hire and had a "sink or swim" mentality and kept the swimmers. Fast forward to today and Onward Search has done a fantastic job putting a training and development plan in place for all employees to insure everyone has the opportunity for professional growth and promotion. Is everything perfect at Onward Search? Of course not. Does Onward recognize its weaknesses and work hard to strengthen and develop them? Absolutely. At the end of the day, Onward Search is a staffing firm and a staffing firm is a sales and service organization. Its not right for everyone but it is perfect for me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment and coworkers
Sourcing Specialist (Current Employee), Chicago, ILApril 10, 2013
Pros: great environment with hardworking and mature coworkers.
Cons: none!
I've read some of the nasty reviews, which may or may not be valid. We'll never know! What is clear however, is they all seem to come from disgruntled past employees who of course are usually the "victim's". We'll never know the validity of their claims, if they're true and what the "other side of the story" was. A.k.a. Lazy Employee's

I work full-time – more... in a relaxing and refreshing environment at one of Onward Searches offices. I do my job as expected and have great work relationships with everyone I work with. There is no form of conflict or drama whatsoever.

With that said, we all work together to provide great results, placements and continued communication with all of our contacts, clients, and candidates.

With this job I was able to obtain insurance (health, dental and vision) and continue building my 401k.

Fairly great benefits given the job requirements, I'd say! All that's asked of me is I do my job and not be a lazy employee. That's what "working" is right? – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good experience
Freelance Creative (Former Employee), Dallas, TXJanuary 10, 2013
Pros: great way to get contract work at a lot of different employers
Cons: no insurance, but that is the norm for this type of position.
It was great getting work through Onward Search. Too bad I moved to an area thety don't have an office because I'd probably already be working. Great service from the people in Dallas and back east.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Negative experience
Recruiter (Former Employee), USANovember 21, 2012
Pros: it's a job
Cons: they call it a job.
I would never, ever work there again.

In my opinion, no job security whatsoever.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job I've ever had, ever!
recruiter (Former Employee), Wilton, Ct.June 28, 2012
Pros: ???
Cons: low commission, this is a call center and nothing more
I was hired as a recruiter at Onward and was told that I would be following up with interested candidates to place in travel nursing positions. I have been a sales professional for over 14 years. The reality was I was given stale (years old!) resumes of people to call. (One person I called told me that she hadn't lived at the address on her resume for – more... over five years)
This is not a recruiting job, it is a call center job! Be advised that new "recruiters" are expected to call upwards of 80 people per day, but also be advised that these are not fresh leads by any means.
Also, the commission wasn't disclosed to me until day 3 of training! After placing one candidate I ended up making a $16 dollar commission.
The management has no problem yelling at employees, by turns being impatient and condescending.
The culture there is that employees are expendible. It says a lot that they are always hiring.
If you are considering working there, I guarantee that they will be evasive about commission, and I recommend asking if the "leads" provided will be within the past year! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great energy and fast-paced staffing environment
Business Development Manager (Current Employee), Santa Monica, CAJune 13, 2012
I would recommend this place to anyone willing to work hard.

Great benefits.

Great commission packages.

TxnByBrth – September 19, 2012

I smell a plant...by either a current manager at Onward Search or an owner. These comments say nothing on which a decision to explore this 'job' could be made. Purposefully vague...

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WARNING!!! Extremly HIGH Turnover
Recruiter (Former Employee), WIlton, CTApril 9, 2012
Onward Search is infamous for aggressively recruiting candidates out of secure positions, with great promises of amazing culture, job security and growth to only let them go with out any warning. I saw them let someone go after 3 weeks who was performing well!! They ARE too good to be true. Simply search Onward Search on LinkedIn for their numerous – more... past employees. – less

About Onward Search

Our purpose is simple: You want more out of your career and we have the passion and expertise to turn your aspirations into reality. – Read more