Opelousas General Health System Employee Reviews

Showing all 15 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work as a Consultant
Cerner Classroom Trainer (Former Employee) –  Opelousas, LAAugust 13, 2017
As a Consultant I worked with Opelousas Health Systems during their effort to implement Cerner software system. My role included training and at-the-elbow support
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent benefits
Worker bee (Current Employee) –  LouisianaJuly 8, 2017
This organization has a culture that supports poor performance and discrimination. Non-executives know their place and are treated accordingly. The physicians are not allowed to have input into quality clinical decisions, and the top leadership is invisible. As soon as they hire someone to make a change, they are quickly removed for making those changes. It is oppressive and unacceptable.
Pros
Nice co-workers
Cons
CEO mismatch
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Cerner Classroom Trainer (Former Employee) –  Opelousas, LAJune 1, 2017
This was a contractual assignment and like most contractual assignments, a typical day at work includes preparing for my training classroom and participants.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dangerous place to work
Nurse (Former Employee) –  Opelousas, LAFebruary 18, 2017
A very dangerous place to work as a nurse, under staffing does jeprodize your nursing liscense, patients, and proper orientation when pulled to different units seems to be a problem
Pros
People are very helpful
Cons
Doctors do not respect nurses and upper management does not care if your liscense is jeopardized
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good balance between work and home
health information management clerk II (Former Employee) –  Opelousas, LAFebruary 1, 2017
Day to day job was comfortable, generally friendly staff. Hardest part of the job was making sure patient information was not given to the wrong parties.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Place To Work
LPN (Former Employee) –  Opelousas, LADecember 29, 2016
This hospital is definitely not for the faint of heart. It is always busy and staffing issues can create a dangerous work environment. Upper management is completely disconnected and unconcerned.
Pros
co workers
Cons
staffing, work load
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great teaching hospital
CNA - Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Opelousas, LADecember 3, 2016
Opelousas is a great teaching hospital. The nurses were always excited to show me new things and explain everything in depth. They were very team work oriented and always happy to help. They never made you feel like anything less than apart of the team. I couldn't ask for a better place to learn about medical.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You can make a difference here with skills and abilities
Director of Materials (Former Employee) –  Opelousas, LAApril 4, 2016
With the right mix of leadership and ability you can make a difference in other people's lives and clinical outcomes.

OGHS was a rewarding experience in helping others.

Providing the lowest cost materials and always being available is a challenge but that can be accomplished with teamwork.
Pros
flexibility in planning and execution
Cons
healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Human Resources
RN (Former Employee) –  OpelousasOctober 7, 2014
Their own staff is addicted to drugs, they need to do more drug testing especially in Human Resources.
Pros
Medical Home
Cons
Pay sucked
Was this review helpful?Yes 43No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away from Lily Pad Pediatrics
receptionist (Former Employee) –  Lily PadSeptember 21, 2014
Was good until that man..I mean woman took over..Doctors r incompetent and talk about patients and the parents..Pay is horrible..10.00 and hour..workload is horrible
Pros
A paycheck
Cons
horrible pay..messy doctors
Was this review helpful?Yes 36No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Opelousas, LAJanuary 25, 2014
The department that I worked in for that short time was a bit overstaffed so the work day was very slow, but the work load was manageable and my supervisors were very polite
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Summer Employee (Former Employee) –  Opelousas, LASeptember 3, 2012
Very caring environment. Loved my supervisor and the employees that I came in contact with
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Materials Management (Former Employee) –  Opelousas, LAMay 21, 2012
Stocking items, customer assistance, and cashiering. Cash handling as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardwork, Dedication and occasional fun.
LPN-Med/Surg (Former Employee) –  Opelousas, LAMarch 11, 2012
I loved working there. I was sorry that i had to resign need to complete my Associate nursing degree.
Pros
work with great staff.
Cons
getting off of work on time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 7Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Opelousas General Health System. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 15 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.3
Culture
3.2

Opelousas General Health System Reviews by Location