Ophthalmic Consultants of Boston Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 11 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A caring company!
Medical Transcriptionist (Former Employee) –  Boston, MADecember 29, 2015
I was a Medical Transcriptionist for OCB. Due to a chemical sensitivity condition I suffer from, I began experiencing asthma-like attacks in the office. The management and HR team at OCB were so accommodating regarding my condition. When unable to control co-workers wearing perfumes I was sensitive to, they trusted me to work from home for them which I did happily for the next year-and-a-half. It was sad to leave OCB due to lack of work as dictations programs took over. But I will always remember OCB fondly for their kindness and respect.
Pros
Accommodating of disabilities, respectful, great people, great hours, fun location
Cons
Co-workers wearing perfumes
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Underpaid staff, terrible upper management
Rather not say (Former Employee) –  BostonJanuary 19, 2013
All non upper management staff are terribly underpaid. Don't expect a raise if you work hard.

Everyone is overworked and underpaid.
Pros
doctors
Cons
quality of upper management
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and growing Company
Senior Practice Director (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJune 14, 2013
Enjoyed the culture of a large organization and the ability to continue to learn and thrive in the healthcare industry
Pros
position advancement
Cons
commute
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working with caring staff
Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Beverly, MAJuly 8, 2013
Providing excellent eye care as efficiently as possibly.

I enjoyed going out into the community promoting good eye health and educating seniors on various diseases and treatment options. I also enjoyed marketing the practice to potential and current referral sources.

I was very fortunate to have very caring and reliable staff to work with. We worked well as a team and this proved especially helpful with the large number of changes that constantly came down from upper management. It never impacted the care that was delivered to the patients.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a great job at first but management changed and the weak economy caused alot of cut backs
Certified Ophthalmic Assistant/ optician (Former Employee) –  Boston, MADecember 13, 2012
i loved working with patients. We worked hard. My co-workers worked hard. the hardest part of the job was the lack of communication from management. the most enjoyable part was giving patients very good care
Pros
nice lab coats
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great staff and management
assistant (Former Employee) –  Boston, MADecember 19, 2012
fantastic place to work, great staff and work environment. had a great experience working for this company
Pros
great management
Cons
commute
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ophthalmic technician
Ophthalmic technician (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJune 12, 2013
Great learning opportunities.
Amazing and very skilled doctors.
Very respectful work environment.
Pros
great access to care, discount glasses, flexible schedules
Cons
short breaks, a lot of management, no tuition assistance
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Clinical Research Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAFebruary 11, 2015
Such a great learning and working environment. Would recommend to any one to work here. Brilliant physicians to work and learn with.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for
Billing Representative (Current Employee) –  W Yarmouth, MAOctober 7, 2014
Daily job functions include verifying patient eligibility for upcoming appointments, answering phones and addressing patient billing questions, and working insurance denials.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping others
Patient Care Representative (Former Employee) –  W Yarmouth, MAMay 31, 2012
Very busy, fast-pace office. Answering 70-100 calls daily, scheduling multiple appts. Working the front desk was fun putting faces to the names I would speak to on the phones.
Pros
music at my desk
Was this review helpful?Yes1No

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Ophthalmic Consultants of Boston. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 11 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture