Oppenheimer & Co Employee Reviews in United States

Found 19 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced financial firm, excellent environment
Investments Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Florham Park, NJSeptember 28, 2015
Busy financial office. Fast paced environment with constant potential to grow and develop new skills.
Assisted lead STOCK Broker with daily routines and handled challenges as needed.
Great compensation and benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed the experience into the financial industry
Associate Jr. Broker/Banker (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 5, 2015
This was my introduction into the Financial Industry and I loved it, The long hours, the clients, the money. It taught me and a young age the importance of hard work, and the ability to make your own destiny.
Pros
Entrance into Financial Industry
Cons
My department and senior broker was closed down.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people, okay company
Intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 16, 2015
Friendly environment among employees who are always willing to help is they have the time. Upper management is also very friendly. High pace dynamic work days, especially on tax season.
Pros
friendly employees
Cons
short breaks, poor benefits, small chance of advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you value security over upward mobility, this is the place for you.
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 6, 2012
The company is run like a mom & pop shop where the CEO has his hands in every department and is personally invested in the way things run. Very few modern changes in the past 10 years. Each department seems to have their own culture and morale. My co-workers are friendly and occasionally social, internally and interdepartmentally. It a financial institution so the hardest part of the job would be having to deal with the volitility of the current market and putting work and life in perspective.
Pros
no lay offs in quite sometime
Cons
compensation & benefits are mediocre at best
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Company good people
Wealth Management Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 8, 2015
Worked there for only a short period of time ( a few months), took another opportunity. Worked out of the Florham Park office in NJ and the nyc downtown office. Both have their own unique perks. The branch manager in Florham is a great guy and very down to earth. The office atmosphere however is a very dull and boring one to say the least. Everyone has there own office and stays in there. Overall i liked Oppenheimer and would've stayed if i had not taken the other opportunity.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people to work with...
Executive Director (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 22, 2015
reasonable work environment, but little direction from management. workers had hard time relating to management as they acted very aloof.
Pros
fellow workers
Cons
uncaring management
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average financial services position
Registered Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJuly 14, 2014
Nothing overly impressive or overly disappointing. Appropriate compensation for the work expected.
Pros
flexible work hours, 401k, health benefits
Cons
no official break times
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to get Experience
Wealth Management Intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 28, 2015
Oppenheimer was a delightful firm to work for. I learned a lot from the FA that I assisted on a day to day basis. HE was very keen on teaching me what he knew, and passing along wisdom through my tenure there.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment
Anti-money Laundering Analyst (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJune 5, 2015
My day consisted of executing various types of trades for the sales force.The company was very supportive with regards to job advancement.
Pros
great co workers
Cons
limited resources
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work place
Office Clerk (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 28, 2012
A typical day at Oppenheimer & Co . Making checks paid-out in customers accounts.Checking for problems in customers moving stocks and cash in customers accounts. Contacting New York about problems in customers accounts. I learned how to communicate with different peoples and to get customers problems take care of. Management was about getting what ever they could get for themselves. My co-workers very good people. The hardest part of my job was being able to communicate with the management.The most enjoyable part of the job was working with group of co-worker who were nice people and brokers who nice people.
Pros
health care, free lunches, gifts, bonus, pay increase yearly
Cons
management not diverse enough
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Back office role - never goes anywhere
Representative (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 9, 2014
Worked in back office role, manager would leave work for 2 hours to work out everyday. If you came in 5 minutes late, she;d yell at you, even though you worked through lunch and got in most of the time around 7 and left well after 5. I would not recommend any back office role unless you like to do the same repetitive thing for the next 40 years.
Pros
people were nice, no real back stabbers, lots of drinking after work
Cons
bad managers, incestual aspect about promoting.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place Activity
Network Support Administrator (Current Employee) –  Troy, MIOctober 27, 2012
A typical day of work at Oppenheimer for me is to support the end users both onsite and offsite as i travel to different branches every other day. Also i am responsible for the network functions including our 2003 and 2008 servers. I have leadership skills while working at Oppenhimer as well a understanding of the stock market. The co-workers i have at oppenheimer are great hard working people. The hardest part of my job is not being able to grow in the field of technology. The most enjoyable part of my is problem solving problems and helping the users be productive.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Financial firm with possibities for growth
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 16, 2012
Multi position employee.
Started as reception. Telephone customer service.
Back up as cashier and booking.
Reconciliation.
Backup also in mailroom, trade order room and technical liason.
Assisted 3 broker with customer care.
Viewed accounts, sent wires, journals & checks.
Paid office bills and assisted in new hire orientation and account transfers.
Pros
ability to learn various positions
Cons
learned as much as possible until it halted
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Old School stock shop
Financial Advisor, Private Client Division (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 26, 2014
Big focus on selling stocks, now trying to transition to Wealth Management and Planning.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Autonomy to start your own projects
Equity Research Associate (Current Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 23, 2014
Must be self motivated to start and finish your work done on time as well as to come up with your own creative ideas.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Client Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Hauppauge, NYJanuary 13, 2013
A typical day at work would be to support 3-4 financial advisors. I learned alot about the financial markets and how to work under pressure. My co-workers were all about team work and I enjoyed the high energy of the job.
Pros
luncheons and half days on fridays
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
quality firm
Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth, NHOctober 9, 2012
Excellent firm, reseach, atmosphere. No meant for broker stating up.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and productive work enviroment
Investments Intern (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJuly 9, 2012
Very smart and driven employees. Entrepreneurial spirit throughout the office.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2

See more Oppenheimer & Co reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 20 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture