Find companies:
Opus Bank
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
13 reviews

Opus Bank Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing company
Senior Financial Services Representative (Current Employee), La Jolla CA 92037June 13, 2014
Pros: growing company, opportunity for promotions.
Cons: hard to take time off due to very small staff.
Morning reports, operations in general. Wire transfers, deposits, holds. Open accounts, submit all docs for account.
I have learned a lot with Opus bank, specially the sales part of the job.
Co-workers are fine, very small office so not much going on
The job is not hard just demanding due to the fact that the bank is so new we spend a lot of time cold – more... calling, sending letters, networking to get Opus Bank name out in the communities.
I get to meet a lot of professionals at the networking events. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay, poorly managed
Senior Client Service Representative (Current Employee), Redondo Beach, CAJune 2, 2014
good pay for what the job is, upper management is very sloppy, constantly changing policies procedures, no proper training etc.. its an easy job for a part timer. It works while I'm in school but I would never consider it as a full time career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coversion
Client Service Representative (Former Employee), San Dimas, CAMay 15, 2014
Pros: worked with family, great communication, great clients
Cons: interrupted lunches, short staffed
Before I worked for Opus Bank it was California Bank and Trust. Although I can ajust to change well this particular bank was not for me. When we were CB and T we had a nice balance of work/home, meaning there was enough staff to cover anyone who needed time off or called in sick without adding stress to the person requesting off. I was able to handle – more... the extra work load, that was not the problem. The problem was when my child was sick and I could not leave work because of the under staffing and therefore resulted into me having to bring my son to work and rest in our breakroom. I will do whatever it takes to get the job done and do well, but that is unessary. As for the work environment it was like we were family, we took care of eachother. I do miss my fellow team mates but I do not miss working for Opus Bank as a company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive learning experience
Client Service Representative (Current Employee), Seattle, WAJanuary 2, 2014
Pros: closed on saturdays! not too much foot traffic but able to get all work done at a timely manner
Cons: we have our extremly slow days.
I have had a few years of banking experience and was always very knowledgeable when it came to business and finance. But working with this company, I continue to learn and grow everyday not just by my peers at work but also with all the great clients that I get to work with. This is a place where you can either work alone or as a team and they always – more... continue to train and help you go above and beyond. This job has made me go from an interest to Business and marketing to a passion. Its a great company and I have nothing but great things to say about it. If I had only one negative thing to say maybe it would be the horrible traffic driving to downtown every morning. But usually the rest of the day gets better! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In General, positive & productive work environment.
Contractor for Corestaff Services (Current Employee), Redondo beach, CADecember 22, 2013
Pros: friendly atmosphere.
Cons: no room for advancement.
Worked with a good team including management. Positive & productive office environment. Unfortunately upper management was not interested in continuing or direct hire of office clerk/scanning positions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run for the hills
Management (Current Employee), IrvineOctober 22, 2013
Cons: everything
I would rather be at the dentist getting my teeth drilled. Management is young and very uneducated and unprofessional. No work life balance. From the top down, unprofessional and everyone there looks for work and wants to quit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Place to Work
Ex-Employee (Former Employee), CAOctober 14, 2013
Pros: zero pros
Review Opus Bank prior to applying, terrible place to go to everyday of the week.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an OK experience
Staff Accountant II (Former Employee), Irvine, CAAugust 24, 2013
Coworkers were great to work with. Met a lot of great people.
The management style was different.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run
Loan Administration (ex-employee) (Former Employee), IrvineJune 7, 2013
Pros: can't think of any
Cons: entering parking structure in morning
In agreement with last post. Daily work was hitting a brick wall with the smallest tasks. Day to day frustration caused by excessive micro-management. End of month crunch was working through lunch and until 10pm to 11pm, with no appreciation, to close 90% of loans in last week. Files piled in mounds on floor due to no time for post funding due diligence. – more... Do not quit a half decent job for a position with Opus. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Place To Work!
Manager (Current Employee), Irvine, CAMay 13, 2013
Pros: headquartered in irvine
Cons: everything about the company
From the highest level of management all the way down to the botton this is a bad bad place to work. Terrible incentives, terrible benefits, terrible work life balance. They expect you to work 12+ hours a day & weekends with no incentives, no extras not even a thank you. I don't mind working hard and going the extra mile - but for what?! Everyone and – more... I mean everyone goes about their daily business while secretly looking for other jobs, it is not good. It's kind of odd too how people in the office are quiet and whisper to each other because of the open concept work environment. The "no cube" idea is a bad one and not the only bad idea the CEO came up with. The majority of the employees that have worked at Opus for at leas 6 months know what's going on and want to get out. Opus Bank does a terrible job of keeping their employees happy and doing the right thing to maintain a good or even decent work life balance. Things may seem hunky-dory when you walk in the door but believe me it is not. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, pleasant environment.
Client Service Representative (Current Employee), Burlington, WAMay 10, 2013
Pros: long lunches, great pay, pleasant environment
Cons: "banking hours" make it hard to have 2 jobs. part time only.
Awesome place to work! No drama, work stays at work, relaxed environment kinda place.

January 2, 2014

Things have changed since I reviewed this place.... Not so great. Lot's of drama, and they don't "have it together".

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opus is a new Start up bank
VP/Business Banking Manager (Current Employee), San Pedro, CAFebruary 6, 2013
Pros: good people work there
Cons: benefits, communications
They are going through alot of internal changes until they can figure out there way of structure.