Orange Coast College Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great time
Veterans Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Costa Mesa, CADecember 19, 2017
Flexible hours, Learned bookkeeping, workplace cohesion. the hardest part of the job was dealing with angry students. the most enjoyable part of the job was seeing the joy on students faces.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment to work in overall, but the compensation was fairly poor.
Data Entry Specialist (Former Employee) –  Orange County, CADecember 18, 2017
Good environment to work in overall, but the compensation was fairly poor and there was hardly any way to advance there. If you are looking for a job to gain experience, this would be a solid option, otherwise I'd stay away.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun campus
Board Member (Former Employee) –  Costa Mesa, CADecember 4, 2017
Orange Coast college provides diverse and great job opportunities for its employees. Working as a team leader helped me develop and strengthen my collaborative skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Study Student
Veteran Affairs Representative (Former Employee) –  Costa Mesa, CANovember 20, 2017
• Utilize various Microsoft programs as organizational tools to create instructional tables and accountability rosters.
• Supporting recently separated Veterans in all aspects relating to the pursuance of their undergraduate degree.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nothing much to say
General library, Library Director Assistant (Former Employee) –  Costa mesa, CANovember 3, 2017
it was long time ago while I was student. It was just reorder take care of the shelf and routine day to day library required tasks. maintaining all library tools ready for use by students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteered as a Teaching Assistant
Laboratory Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Costa Mesa, CAOctober 3, 2017
Teaching Assistant for General Chemistry Lab
- Guided student learning
- Demonstrated lab techniques
- Aided the professor in grading and book keeping
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to teach!
Computer Science Instructor (Current Employee) –  Costa Mesa, CASeptember 21, 2017
I have been teaching at OCC as an adjunce for just under a year. The students are great and the faculty are very supportive and helpful! I've attended Flex Days and have learned a lot! It's just a great atmosphere to teach! Hope I can be full-time someday!
Pros
Totally modern computer classrooms
Cons
Parking lots can be a bit crazy!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely Beneficial work environment
Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Costa Mesa, CAAugust 9, 2017
Orange Coast College is one of the leading community colleges in California. One of the strong aspect of OCC is its strong science courses. I had the opportunity to work in the Chemistry Department and got involved with many professors in doing different activities that made the chemistry lab more interesting and engaging.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job, horrible management.
Writing and Reading Tutor (Current Employee) –  Costa Mesa, CAJune 30, 2017
Don't work at the Student Success Center if you ever want a raise. However, I love my job, I love my students, and the hours are flexible and work around my life. It's just the management that ever makes it insufferable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's good for a work study student
Math Tutor (Former Employee) –  Costa Mesa, CAJune 26, 2017
I am happy to work there. While working there, I do not only help other students to learn math, but also learn many things from professor and other tutors. For example, I knew how to communicate with people, manage computer's issues, and perform clerical tasks.
Pros
Friendly environment
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cool school
Student (Former Employee) –  Costa Mesa, CAApril 23, 2017
cool school. didn't graduate but got work done. not expensive, good soccer team. lots of career options, not overpopulated, great professors, beautiful campus.
Pros
college
Cons
money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn and build a network
Administrative Aide (Current Employee) –  Costa Mesa, CAApril 20, 2017
Good place to expand in the educational system. There is room to move up and you can venture into different areas if you want. Because this is a district school,you can get to know the other sister schools well and help learn from each other.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Computer Lab Assistant/Instructional Assistant
Instructional Associate (Former Employee) –  Costa Mesa, CAApril 9, 2017
Favorite job ever. Asked to become Lab Assistant because I helped fellow programming students during evenings. Tasks were simple, tear reports off printer, wander around lab, help students.

Relaxed supervision. Everyone was very supportive.
Pros
Enjoyable work.
Cons
Not very high paying.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy
Clerical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Costa Mesa, CAMarch 28, 2017
Very busy and fast-paced environment. Helped students get set up to meet with an academic counselor as well as processed paperwork from other schools.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would recommend this employer
Web Multimedia Programmer & Designer (Current Employee) –  Costa Mesa, CAFebruary 24, 2017
I would recommend this employer. Great benefits, good culture.
The most enjoyable part of my job is awesome co-workers. Many employees stay 20-30 or more years.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable work place with understand staff
Teacher Aide (Current Employee) –  Costa Mesa, CAOctober 18, 2016
Working as a teacher's aide within the Sociology Department of Orange Coast College is great experience that compliments my education. Understanding staff and flexible hours allows for a comfortable work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working at the college that I was attending
Student Assistant (Former Employee) –  Costa Mesa, CASeptember 20, 2016
I loved working at the college that I was attending.

I worked as a Student Assistant. I worked around my school schedule. There was a lot of variety in my job. My supervisor was extremely nice.
Pros
I worked around my school schedule
Cons
After I graduated the job ended
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mediocre at best
Administrative Secretary (Former Employee) –  Irvine, CASeptember 13, 2016
My experience at OCC was unfortunately not a great one. It is a medium-sized community college with no sports to anchor it. Departments didn't work together to achieve goals.
Pros
Campus isn't overly large
Cons
Difficult to determine who does what
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interact campus that provides an array activities.
Part-time Instructor (Current Employee) –  Costa Mesa, CAAugust 16, 2016
it's an inclusive campus, I particularly enjoy working with the staff and I like to interact with students and being a part of their
maturation. It is a great place to get involve with the community.
Pros
Educational environment
Cons
not enough time to help students.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love my job
Recycling Center Cashier (Former Employee) –  Costa Mesa, CAJune 29, 2016
Working as a cashier at OCC is my first job and I'm grateful to get that position. I had to balance the draw everyday but it was not a hard task. My boss and his assistant are the best. I would not ask for a better experience.
Pros
nice people
Cons
noises
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Orange Coast College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 46 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
4.0
Culture
4.4

Orange Coast College Reviews by Location