Find companies:
Orange County Transportation Authority
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
11 reviews

Orange County Transportation Authority Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and rewarding career.
COACH OPERATOR (Current Employee), Garden Grove, CaApril 19, 2014
Pros: opportunity.
Cons: strike
One of my best jobs I landed in my 32 years of age. This job has given me the true meaning of a career. Thanks to this job, I'm able to live a better life. OCTA has opportunity to advance in the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job duties.
Coach Operator (Former Employee), Santa Ana, CAJanuary 17, 2014
Pros: meeting people, driving, and great benefit.
Cons: none.
This company was great. My duties were to inspect the coach, bus, prior to taking it out. My schedule changes quarterly so I meet different people. I do not have the opportunity to speak with any co-worker, however, the branch dispatchers were nice and understanding. There was no hardship while working at OCTA. I enjoyed working there, meeting people – more... and driving. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun driver the bus for the company.
Coach/Bus Operator, Orange County CA (Former Employee), Orange County CaDecember 2, 2013
I love driving the the bus for Orange County, had great customer service, management was great and fun working with my co-worker.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
County Position
Operations Administrator (Supervisor) (Former Employee), Orange, CANovember 27, 2013
Pros: benefit
Cons: power-based leadership practices and linear command structure
OCTA is a great starting point for those wishing to understand the transportation industry. Unfortunately, layoffs and wage freezes are not uncommon in a governmental organization. After 8 years. Promotion opportunities within my field were extremely rare; however, I was able to take my law enforcement background and assist with developing and implementation – more... of procedural practices to assist in operational efficiency. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Transportation specialists
Community Outreach Specialist (Current Employee), Orange, CAAugust 14, 2013
Pros: flex fridays
Cons: slow to promote and keep valuable employees
Typical day at work includes responding to residents/businesses, conducting Stakeholder Working Group meetings, presenting at local community groups/HOA/chambers/city council meetings.

At the communications/external affairs level, many of do the same amount of work at the same level of service, but are not compensated the same. I manage four freeway – more... project, but get paid less than an ‘officer’ that performs the same job skills/service, but gets paid more than $20K than myself. Job functions are the same across the board, but pay scale/titles are not. Government is slow to promote within.

Love building relationships within the community, flexibility of the job (flex Friday), and co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most Enjoyable Part of the Job
Administrative Specialist - Records Management (Current Employee), Orange, CAMarch 8, 2013
Pros: flex time
The most enjoyable part of my job is that my current department works as a team. If one area is short-handed everyone jumps in to help out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for people who are goal oriented.
Office Specialist Assistant Extra Help (Former Employee), 550 S. Main Street Orange County California.August 29, 2012
Pros: flexible with my school schedule.
Usually my day to day routine was a little different since I worked under the supervision of three different managers, but it usually consisted in meeting day to day goals that involved checking updates in bus systems. As far as people and coworkers are defined they were very nice and kind, it was a great part time job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace and very pleasant co-workers
Office Specialist, Senior (Former Employee), Orange, CAAugust 2, 2012
Pros: flexible lunches and break times.
Very comfortable work environment. Good location, excellent benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A different kind of position.
Coach Operator (Former Employee), Orange, CAMay 2, 2012
This was my launch position into 'adulthood' after my military duty, so to speak. I enjoyed this position because any day wasn't typical. As you will read my reviews for my other jobs I held, all my positions aren't filled with typical days. This is especially true with this position. I never started at the same time everyday. Nor did I ever get off – more... at the same time everyday. I also never saw the same people everyday. There was nothing really too hard about this job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with cable tv.
Intern (Former Employee), Garden GroveDecember 29, 2011
Pros: great snack machines
Cons: short breaks
The company as an employer was excellent. Stable and wonderful culture, room for growth.