Orbital ATK Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Machine operator and preventative maintenance (Former Employee) –  Clearfield, UTDecember 12, 2017
A typical day of work would start off with daily stretches which gave the opportunity to greet your fellow coworkers and set the tone for the day, this I thought was a great way to start the day. Everyday had Goals to achieve and reaching those goals was both one the hardest part of the job but also the most enjoyable when met.
Pros
One week 3 days off the next is 4 days
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Senior Buyer
Senior Buyer (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXDecember 11, 2017
Weak process control
Staff and program managers were qualified, fair and reasonable
There was an overdependance or Excel for MRP and quality assurance
Lack of MRP software and formal processing
The work was harried and stressful
Pros
Knowledge acquisition, creative problem solutions
Cons
no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Electrical Engineering Consultant (Former Employee) –  Chandler, AZDecember 6, 2017
Nice environment and people to work with. Fair pay and benefits. 9/80 schedule with flexible hour. Free water, coffee, and chocolate daily. Clean and nice building to work with a caferia in the building.
Pros
Great place to work
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fairly repetitive
Associate production operator (Current Employee) –  Clearfield, UTNovember 27, 2017
The work after awhile becomes very repetitive with not much of a chance at climbing the ladder. Most opportunities are lateral movements to different areas.
They do pay well and it can be a challenging and exciting experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work and a lot nof hours
Lead CNC Programmer / Lead Man (Former Employee) –  Clearfield, UTNovember 27, 2017
a very fast paced work environment with a lot of stress. Long hours and a lot of work. I would go back but I would not work so much. They are very fast paced and NO mistakes allowed.
Pros
good work mates
Cons
hard work and fast paced
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Messy and unorganized
Intern (Former Employee) –  Chandler, AZNovember 21, 2017
Not much of an internship program. Senior and upper management all seem miserable. Learned a lot about what I want and do not want in a career. Company keeps going though merges.
Pros
Hands on experience
Cons
horrible work culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Process Engineer and Facilities Engineer (Former Employee) –  Lewiston, IDNovember 19, 2017
The company structure was great at that time and they were moving in leaps and bounds. The pace was super fast ans we were pushed hard. The pay was low and the hours were long.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be challenging work, but advancement is limited
SME Chief Engineer (Current Employee) –  Elkton, MDNovember 18, 2017
Engineering work can be exciting and rewarding, however the hours can be very long with little additional compensation. Advancement is also limited to non-existent. Overall the work environment is friendly and most engineers (junior to senior) are involved with problem solving.
Pros
technically challenging. Lots to learn.
Cons
low compensation, limited to no advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Sr. Principle IT Analyst (Former Employee) –  Chandler, AZNovember 17, 2017
Would have stayed if there was another manager that was more qualified running the department. Culture was counter productive and was causing issues with other members of the team.
Pros
hours
Cons
lack of advancement, culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical aerospace company, established
Scheduler/Planner (Former Employee) –  Clearfield, UTNovember 15, 2017
established aerospace company, rules in place which makes your job easier. just follow the rules. has working conditions and benefits typical of large company. good company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is work
Propulsion Engineer Intern (Current Employee) –  Chandler, AZNovember 14, 2017
Great place to work, management will/want to know you, work is either super slow or very hectic. Would recommend to colleague and other who would want to work here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best company ive ever worked for
Thermal protection systems / bonding technician (Former Employee) –  Chandler, AZNovember 13, 2017
this company treats their employees well and they look out for everyone if an opportunity for me to work there again popped up i would jump on it as fast as i could
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Test Technician (Former Employee) –  Northridge, CANovember 7, 2017
Unqualified management , job security is very low and pressure is high, not friendly atmosphere, mostly pretending they are doing their Jobs.
I do not recommend this company for serious people searching
Job security and advancement in their future.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
worker (Current Employee) –  Mesa, AZNovember 4, 2017
Great work environment. Great pay and benefits. Small company feel with all the big company support. Value employees and always striving to improve.
Pros
9-80 work schedule
Cons
local leaders should be more honest and open
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do Due Diligence
Accountant (Former Employee) –  Minnetonka, MNNovember 3, 2017
Company is being bought by larger defense company. Take into consideration whether your job will survive post-purchase. Your will learn a lot, but the culture and environment will suck the life out of you. It is the least fun work environment I've every been in. 9/80 schedule is nice for some; for me it was tiring.
Pros
Good salary, lots to learn
Cons
Poor management, managers are stuck in their ways
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting work, good people
Consulting Engineer/Contractor (Former Employee) –  Gilbert, AZNovember 3, 2017
I was working there as a contractor, so got no benefits. As such, my experience is not typical of what regular employees would have. I liked the work (satellites are pretty neat) and people and thought I was paid fairly.
Pros
Phoenix in the winter
Cons
Phoenix in the summer
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small medical billing business
Results-oriented leader (Current Employee) –  Columbia, SCOctober 29, 2017
The hardest part of working for ATK is the sales aspect. Getting out there to meet medical practices that are in need of a professional billing service.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my job immensly
Senior Environmental Health & Safety Engineer (Former Employee) –  Vandenberg AFB, CAOctober 26, 2017
Fast paced in a high tech environment. Experience gained in aerospace was bar-none, and the people were great. I would have not left my position, but our was relocated due to spouses job.
Pros
Great pay, people and environment
Cons
Did not have any!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
too much of a sweat shop environment
Senior Electrical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Dulles, VAOctober 24, 2017
The Culture there is kinda like a sweat shop, they are really too schedule driven in many ways and people fear for losing their job.

There wasn't even proper seating or a quiet enviroment to perform work.

If you have the time find something else.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
senior engr/fso
Senior Engineer/FSO (Former Employee) –  Palm Beach Gardens, FLOctober 22, 2017
I was treated very good while I was at ATK. I regret leaving the company. The people were great. The management group was very good. I enjoyed working there and regret the choice I made to leave. I would go back in a heart beat if I could.
Pros
Treated as equal among workers.
Cons
Very far away from family.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Orbital ATK. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 311 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.0
Culture
3.1