Find companies:
Orchard Supply Hardware
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
120 reviews

Orchard Supply Hardware Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun work place
Office Lead / Key Carrier (Former Employee), Yuba City, CAApril 2, 2014
Pros: good place to work
Cons: compensation and benefits not good
Open and close as needed. Worked as cashier as needed. Managed staff of approximately 40+ associates. Worked in all departments of the hardware store. Wrote schedules, assisted with the hiring process as well as performance reviews. Worked freight when needed. Assisted customers with purchases. Ordered product for both the store and for the office supplies – more... to run the store. Assisted with human resources, such as benefits and all employee needs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I miss working at OSh where I knew so many great people, employees and customers.
Clerk/ Dept. Manager (Former Employee), CALIF. (differant locations)March 27, 2014
Pros: there is a 401k plan, my dept lead had confidance in me and thanked me often.
Cons: i had hit the maximum pay rate quite a few years ago, there is no pension plan for the regular employees.
I loved working at OSH. I stayed there for over 35 years. The people that I worked with are awesome caring people. I am still in contact with some of them and I really miss my customers. I stepped down from the Dept manager position and went part time when my husband retired, so we could travel and have more time together.

The hardest part of my job – more... was when I was a dept. lead and would have to talk to someone for not doing their job well. Most of the employees tried their best and it was seldom that I had to do that.

I loved being a part time paint clerk. I especially loved it when a customer would bring in samples of carpet or fabric and asked help with paint colors for their walls. It was great when they would come back and tell me how wonderful the room looked, and when they would come back for more advice from me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, slow-paced, fun
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Bakersfield, CAMarch 25, 2014
Pros: boss notices great work ethic
This company truly cares for the customers. I really loved this because I love working with people and helping them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), West Los Angeles, CAMarch 17, 2014
This is a job that I don't recommend making a career. This is however a good job for a college student because they work around your school schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a eduactional type of job
Cashier/ CSR/ Sign Maker (Current Employee), Torrance, CAMarch 13, 2014
Pros: everyone gets along, friendly environment
I enjoy working here. it is a fast paced job and I get to help customers when they are purchasing their items. I like the working environment and my co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Expect to be paid nothing for a hard back breaking job
Pick Up/Stocking/Receiving Associate (Former Employee), Modesto, CA.February 19, 2014
Pros: you get a minuscule amount of money bi weekly to pay bills with
Cons: not enough money to enjoy life with, long hours, extremely back breaking work, you're unappreciated by management.
If you work in the back of the store in pick up or receiving. Expect to hurt your back many times, hurt other body parts many times, and go home sore every time. Don't expect to be compensated well for it either. The managers will only push you harder and tell you that you need to work harder...

The management is very unprofessional, extremely unintelligent, – more... might I add very pushy.

If you get a fork lift certification don't expect a raise like any other warehouse would give you. Expect to have an even larger work load added to your belt.

I'm not an angry ex employee talking down on the company because I lost my job or something, I did indeed hate working there, but I like many people knew I needed to do my job until I found a better opportunity in the world in which I did thankfully.

Like I said, they don't pay people enough to work in those positions, most warehouses would pay about $11 - $15 an hour. OSH only pays a whopping $8.00 an hour.

The only reason they have ads up for pick up associates and receiving associates is because they actually cannot keep employees back there for more than a few months. People realize how awful it is and end up quitting. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun atmosphere
Security Cashier (Former Employee), Long Beach, CAFebruary 18, 2014
Great employees and great customers as well. Being that it is retail, your hours change but they were very flexible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Lead, Office/Service - Key Carrier (Current Employee), Pasadena, CAFebruary 11, 2014
Fast pace retail, learned so much from past and present managers. Really like my co-workers. Enjoy working as a key carrier (manager on duty). Liked meeting people. I enjoy going to work, talking to the associates and customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good co-workers
Customer Service Desk/Cashier/Lead/Key Carrier (Former Employee), El Cerrito, CAFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: good co-workers, free lunch
Cons: healthcare, rude customers
typical day at work just helping customers and making sure everything is in order. Management will help with whatever was needed and co-workers will help each other.
The hardest part of my job i feel was at the beginning when i have to be in charge of the whole store but as i did it more often i got the chance to get the hang of it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place.
CONSULTANT/DEPARTMENT MANAGER, SALES (Former Employee), Rancho Cucamonga, CAFebruary 10, 2014
The Rancho store had terrible management, but fellow associates were the best!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management and lack of training oppurtunities
Sales representative/sales rep (Former Employee), Vacaville, CaFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: consistent income
Cons: high stress enviroment and little motication
Cashier and sales rep.
Little incentives to advance in company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OSH was a company that encouraged new ideas.
District Operations Merchandise Manager (Former Employee), San Jose, CAJanuary 6, 2014
Pros: it was fast paced and had excellent associates.
Cons: it was sold to a group that didn't understand the culture.
I quickly advanced at Orchard. They appreciated eye for detail and were willing to try new ideas. The people are great. They have a family mentality and everyone had good focus on the customer. Management was quick to recognize talent and move that person along. The hardest part of the job we keeping up with the quick growth of the company. When the – more... company sold it was difficult to relate to the new upper management that was gutting the departments. The most enjoyable part of the job was training store managers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Job
Customer Service/Cashier (Former Employee), Vacaville, CAJanuary 6, 2014
Pros: first job
Cons: different managers came frequently
Learned how to work the cash registers, quickly advancing to head cashier, and customer service. First job, and was able to advance quickly
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work at and chill
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee), Van Nuys, CADecember 27, 2013
Its a chill place to work at and fun to work with coworkers. Im a cashier. Ive been wotking here for 8 years
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work! Great People!
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Sacramento, CADecember 15, 2013
The people of orchard and the work environment are great, very friendly, goal oriented, driven, genuine people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sad place to work for
sales floor associate (Current Employee), Sacramento, CADecember 11, 2013
Pros: free lunches few times a year, bingo for money
Cons: horrible raises if any, no hours for you but everyone else
Typical day, customers put you down cause they think their better then you, the store boss tells you, your not doing a good job no matter how hard you try.

What I learned...... how to cut glass, mix paint, drive a forklift, dont trust people

Managment, they'll never think your worth a raise no matter how many years you work there or how many years – more... youv've been without a raise, and they will tell you they're going to promote you but then promote someone elese to that position instead and then tell you why you didnt get it with a smile on their face

Co-workers, the nicest people you'll ever meet, hug friendly people, not affraid to speak their mind and its usually what you're think about work too.

Hardest part of the job next to actually showing up is putting away the heavy stock, building displays and setting them up every night, and dealing with rude customers.

most enjoyable, working with my co-workers, going to product seminars and winning items. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly place to work
department lead (Former Employee), Redwood City, CADecember 6, 2013
Pros: easy environment
Cons: pay
management is below average, work day is fairly easy and enjoyable. Work load isn't hard and co-workers are eager to help each other. Typical day is come in stock what you can early, help customer and keep your area clean.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great customers
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Fremont, CANovember 18, 2013
Pros: hour lunches
Cons: low pay
My typical of work would be running the front end registers and what i learned from the job is how to supervise a group of people. Management was not good in my eyes. I believe they did not respect me as an adult. My co workers were great people and made the job easier. The hardest part of the job was dealing with the stress of the job and management – more... on my back. The most enjoyable part was the great customers and the friendships i have made till this day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the people, just not enough hours.
Cashier (Former Employee), Chico, CANovember 9, 2013
Pros: loved my co-workers
Cons: low pay, no room for advancement.
The work enviornment was great, I loved the people I worked for and with. I had about a 40 minute drive to and from work everyday, and it just wasn't paying out for the 4 hour shifts I was getting about twice a week. There also isn't much room for advancement, which was a downfall...but I enjoyed working there so I didn't let it affect my working there. – more... If I would've gotten more hours, I'd still be there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company started to go gown hill
Department Manager (Former Employee), San Jose, CANovember 7, 2013
Pros: n/a
Cons: delays in breaks often never taken, health benefits never updated
Co-workers often didn't call or show up for work, conflicting hours half the other staff in other departments didn't show up. Poor Management of the main Store manager.

1 2 3 4 5

About Orchard Supply Hardware

Orchard Supply Hardware supplies California's do-it-yourselfers.┬áIt operates more than 85 home centers in the Golden State, from – Read more