Find companies:
Orchard Supply Hardware
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
153 reviews

Orchard Supply Hardware Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Place that is based around giving Great Customer Service
Store Manager (Former Employee), Gilroy, CANovember 14, 2014
I learned that working at Orchard Supply Hardware was a family oriented company. They pride themselves as being the place to shop for your Home Repairs, Paint, Nursery needs. I loved working with my associates. Training them in areas where they would feel more at home with helping the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive store
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Former Employee), Mountain View, CANovember 6, 2014
Pros: lots of support from coworkers
Cons: variable hours
Fun workplace,good coworkers
Excellent training
Have to stay busy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Someplace to work if you really need a job.
Receiving/pick-up associate,sales floor associate. (Current Employee), Modesto, CANovember 5, 2014
Pros: good people, lost of stuff to learn.
Cons: horrible hours, almost no advancement opportunities, no more than 25 hours total hours for part-time, lack of job security.
A typical day at work would be running around taking care of customers. Learned how to work in hardware, nursery, recieving/ and pick-up, with some cashiering. Management is there to do what they do. The co-workers are absolutely awesome in every way.The hardest part of the job is not going anywhere with the job. Getting to help people is the best part – more... in my experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
an ok place
Pick up Associate (Former Employee), San Jose, CAOctober 22, 2014
this is your basic work environment. management is whatever, they sometimes care about their employees. seems like there is a lot of favoritism here
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Plentiful work, Lack of pay
Part-Time Associate (Current Employee), Napa, CAOctober 17, 2014
Pros: lots of work, workday goes by fast. flexible work schedules to your needs.
Cons: poor management, stingy on hours, minimum wage, little to no benefits, zero recognition to good work. (three customers have complimented my work to managers, i have yet to hear anything from the managers themselves).
Days at work go by fast, lots of work to do, and keeps you productive. I've learned customer service, and learned how to stay productive when the work environment slows down.
Management is not professional at all. We use radios, the managers will argue over the radio with employees. Obviously a conversation that should take place behind closed doors. – more... I have heard a social security number said over the radio from new employee to manager! They do not give recognition to hard work. It is a minimum wage job (and I am not asking for a pat on the back for every little thing that is done on my part), but with all of the tasks given to each individuals role, you have to work much harder, covering other employees work if needed, or vise versa.
Hardest part is keeping track of all of your tasks. Though not that difficult, more tasks are added to your workload before you can accomplish them. Now, that's not to say it is due to laziness, or poor management of time, simply due to some goals that you are given cannot be accomplished in one work day given with your other daily tasks. (As expected you are to accomplish the task in one day in some cases)
Enjoyable part however is that there has not been a slow day there.Which is something I have come to appreciate from working other jobs where the day dragged on regardless of how hard you worked, – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at with the right management.
Receiving Manager/ Key Carrier (Former Employee), Salinas CAOctober 9, 2014
Its a very good place to work at with great co-workers and alot of team work. Once the management team is worked out then it can be an even better work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Super place
Pickup Attendant (Former Employee), San Jose, CAOctober 6, 2014
Lots of lifting and moving of pallets with the fork lift. Learned a lot about lifting techniques that I didn't know about before this position. Management was very prompt and courteous. Co-workers where down to earth and very easy going. Hardest part was the lifting of thousands of bricks into a small truck or van. Most enjoyable part would have to – more... be helping out the customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job sucks
CSR (Former Employee), torrance, caOctober 4, 2014
Pros: had a job
Cons: no stability, doesn't promote, not enough hours
orchard was a good place to work with the co workers I have, but as far as the company the expect to much for what they pay for and hours that arent given.... What ever u do don't be a cashier or CSR horrible position and too much pressure to be fake have to smile and say a script they want u to say! Get reviewed every month, horrible pay and the worst – more... hours ever! If u get an interview run! U will not get enough hours, management sucks they don't know what there doing. They are clueless to everything. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great overall environment
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), wet covinaSeptember 29, 2014
never had any hassle with any employees and always met company standards and policies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worse job ever
CSR (Former Employee), Sacramento, CASeptember 27, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Just do not work here. It'll be a waste of time. The hours are horrible here. The pay they give you isn't enough and the associates who work for them, are a bunch of idiots. Not trying to be so negative because at least I had a job, but it was that bad!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Poor Place to Work
Sales, and Receiving Lead (Current Employee), Watsonville, CASeptember 21, 2014
Pros: you have a job
Cons: you're settling for bottom of the barrel
There is next to no accountability, employees have little or no motivation, management is not fair between employees and favors others, the work culture is very negative towards each other, drab, bossy, and generally not a place for professionals or anyone who wants to make the most of their time and energy. Hispanics run the store with intimidation, – more... low quality of service, and no appreciation for any other race. Experiences vary between stores. Stay away from the Watsonville store especially. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Orchard Supply
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Santa Clara, CASeptember 9, 2014
I typically worked night shifts because I was going to school in the morning. Night shifts weren't too busy. As a cashier, we would do transactions with either cash, checks, credit or debit cards. Management had also set sale goals for us to reach. Our job was to make sure each customer had found what they needed. We also would make sure our isle was – more... clean, organized and stocked with candy etc. I truly enjoyed that when a customer needed an item, I was able to call an employee on the floor because each one of them had their own phones with them. This was very helpful because it made it fast and easy for the customer to get what they needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it.
Cashier (Current Employee), Milpitas, CASeptember 2, 2014
i loved working the back because i got to what we sell and help customers with what their looking for. Very interesting place to learn and work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employment at orchard supply hardware
plumbing/electrical associate (Former Employee), Fremont, CAAugust 29, 2014
Pros: friendly, caring employees creating a nice working atmosphere!
Cons: since osh was working through financial difficulties, many problems remained to be solved!
Since I worked at numerous different OSH stores I found 90% of employees excellent to work with and who really cared for their daily OSH duties.Also, a large portion of Management were pleasant to work with although some certainly needed to brush up on their management knowledge! I especially enjoyed helping customers solve their many home problems.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard working
Cashier (Current Employee), Turlock, CAJuly 31, 2014
Pros: discount on merchandise, long lunches
Cons: short hours, no benefits
typically my day at work consists of clocking in heading to the registers. My primary job is to help customers with ringing up their merchandise. When I am not helping customers I clean all the registers including; dusting, wiping them down with wash rags, sweeping, and retrieving all of the sensors that come from clothing and other merchandise. After – more... that I usually front in face the merchandise by the registers, retrieve carts form the parking lot, make a list of all the items we need up at the register ( like bags, sodas for the soda machines, and boxes for plants). I get a 15 minute break during a 4 hour day, if I work a * hour day I receive 2 breaks and a 1 hour lunch. The hardest part of the job is sometimes having upset customers, and the lack of hours makes it hard to make ends meet, but the thing I love the most are my co workers they make going into work enjoyable.
This job has taught me to work hard, value customers and other peoples ideas. My co workers are for the most part a genuine group of good people who are easy to get along with. They are willing to help out when they can. My managers for the most part are good people, they treat their employees as people not just worker bees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OSH has lost its spirit at the Corporate Office
E-Commerce Specialist, Merchant Admin.Assistant (Former Employee), San Jose, CAJuly 24, 2014
Pros: nice store discount
Cons: no mercy
What was once a good company to work for has turned into strictly business oriented one.
Management wants fresh blood at any cost.
God help those that are still there trying to keep their job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Graphics Coordinator - Store Planning / Marketing (Former Employee), San Jose, CAJuly 22, 2014
I enjoyed working with many wonderful people throughout the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Fun work enviornment
Cashier (Former Employee), Fountain Valley, CAJuly 14, 2014
Pros: free snacks
Cons: the work hours
A typical day at work included me standing at the cash register helping customers. stocking shelves, helping customers in electrical, and counting money.
I learned the different types of electrical equipment, I learned a lot about the different power tools, all different types of hardware.
The management here was not that great, hense the store shutting – more... down.
My coworkers were great. I am still friends with a lot of them that worked there.
Hardest part of the job was dealing with customers and keeping my cool under disgruntaled customers.
The most enjoyable part of the job was getting to know my coworkers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and nice place to work
Accounts Payable Specialist (Former Employee), san jose, caJuly 8, 2014
Pros: quarterly lunches, sample sales, auctions..etc
Cons: pay wasn't what i would like, and not much room for advancement
open mail
separate invoices
code invoice and send out for approval if no PO
process invoices in timely manner for payment runs twice a week

coworkers were great, every one pitched in when needed...
I enjoy AP so to me there is no hard parts, and I always enjoy it when everything runs smoothly....
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DTA
Fork lift operator (Former Employee), Torrance, CAJuly 3, 2014
It was only a part time job for extra money...however management didn't know anything about ice maint.

1 2 3 4 5

About Orchard Supply Hardware

Orchard Supply Hardware supplies California's do-it-yourselfers.┬áIt operates more than 85 home centers in the Golden State, from – Read more