Find companies:
Orchard Supply Hardware
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
153 reviews

Orchard Supply Hardware Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work for while going to school
Sales Clerk Garden/Nursery/Pickup Station (Former Employee), Manteca, CAJune 24, 2013
Pros: hour lunches and decent hours.
Cons: low pay for hard labor work
A typical day would be stocking floor with product, assisting customers with service and loading customers with product. I learned alot of things about lawn care as well as flowers and much more that had to do with Garden and Nursery. Management was ok for the most part as they usually never took any ideas or suggestions on how to get things done. Co-workers – more... were great if they knew what they were doing. The hardest part of the job was loading heavy items such as gazebos and brick in the hot weather for long hour days. The most enjoyable part was working in the garden dept. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast and friendly workplace
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Stockton, CAMay 27, 2013
the most enjoyable part of the job is to see returning customers, and customers leaving with a smile
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for the most part.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Clayton, CAMay 23, 2013
Pros: free meals for doing above expectations, learning environment and for the most part good customers
Cons: lack of affordable benefits. not following through with increases and promotions.
I have worked for the company off and on for 8 years. Worked in multiple stores and departments. Have lead departments and was key Carrier at two stores.

Management on store level can be great at times and horrible at others. Currently have an Assistant Manager that was hired off the street with a supposed construction background, he wouldn't know – more... which end of a hammer to use. He has no personality which equates to poor management skills. The other managers are great. Orchard needs to implement a policy to promote from within, it will give them better quality managers and better moral showing you can move up.

Pay and hours could be better. If they brought more full time staffers on there would be more stability on the floor. Also a more regular schedule format would help. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not that good
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Chico, CAMay 19, 2013
The management here makes it as if they do not want you to succeed. I was having issues with the management locking the doors up front and walking to the back and there was none up front. You would have to call them at there office to have them walk all the way up front sometimes they wouldn't even answer the phone. So you would have to call more then – more... once. When they had to wait up front to open the door for the stock team, but they would not perform this duty. Making me clock in late on multiple occasions. It was definitely not enjoyable they played favorites treated unfairly. The hardest part of the job was working there. The people working there did not make it better. It was just a horrible experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable, but not a career.
Departments Manager (Current Employee), Berkeley, CAMay 13, 2013
The work, overall, is fun and challenging but there is little room for advancement or growth. It is retail so a large part of the job is monotonous but the people are nice, customers and associates, so that makes it entertaining. The most enjoyable part of the job is helping people solve there problems and seeing them leave happy, with a solution.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job I had
Receiving Manager (Former Employee), Livermore, CAMay 6, 2013
Cons: no raises, no promotions, highly varying hours
Every employee is hired as a cashier, and then paid as a cashier no matter what they do in the store. Two year pay-freeze while I worked there, so no chance of a raise.

Not enough staffing within the store increases stress. Often only had two people to work 36 aisles that covered 11 departments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Lead Cashier (Former Employee), Fresno CaMay 6, 2013
assisted customer on hardware questions
learned about tools, screws, garage accessories and garden
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the feeling just walking in the door everybody is so friendly.
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Clayton, CAApril 15, 2013
Pros: flexible scheduling.
Usually during my shift I'm always busy, I learn new ways to do things everyday. My managers are awesome and are always going above and beyond. My co-workers are easy to work with and make work fun, which is great, it makes the time go by faster. The hardest part of the job are customer complaints, but once I understand the situation, put myself in – more... their shoes, they tend to ease up a lot. Most times upset customers just need someone to understand their situation and find a solution. The best part of my job is making people happy, my customers especially, my mangers, and also my co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Calm, quiet environment allowing plenty of time to focus on detailed tasks
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Fresno, CAApril 3, 2013
Pros: perfect amount of time for lunch, management trust in employee
Cons: some tasks required a lot of time which delayed the completion of other tasks ie. loading of lumber
Each associate maintains a number of departments during a shift assisting any customers with questions and/or recommendations. Staff and customers very friendly and co workers are always willing to help if particular questions can't be answered. The most enjoyable part of the job was being given creative freedom to complete a task ie. display set up/prep.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun times
Customer Service Rep & Cashier (Former Employee), Thousand Oaks, CAMarch 30, 2013
Pros: hour lunches (unpaid) and two 10 minute breaks (paid) as well as friendly and busy atmosphere
Cons: unless you are full-time you get no benefits.
A typical day working here meant moving fast and getting things done. There was always a customer in need and always something important to take care of. I learned the most I have ever learned working here and everyday was a day to learn. Whether it was about the business, operations, products, or how to grow your garden pest free it was the best job – more... I have ever experienced. The management team was willing to teach you, work with you, and make sure you know the in's and out's of your job and understand others. They were flexible and worked around schedules. As long as there was a reasonable amount of warning ahead of time they could switch shifts, find someone else to take it, or make sure that day was off. The hardest part of the job was being able to do 5 things at once and still be efficient. As a customer service rep behind the counter I had to be back-up cashier, be on call for all cashier problems, manage money all over the front end, manage breaks and lunches, complete customer orders, and operate returns and exchanges according to store policy. The most enjoyable part were the people. The co-workers were friendly and always had something new to teach. They had professional humor applied at the workplace and the customers most of the time were just as talkative and friendly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT COMPANY TO WORK WITH
CASHIER (Former Employee), Pasadena, CAMarch 27, 2013
Pros: discounts
Cons: not enough hours
OVERALL, CUSTOMER SERVICE IS EXCELLANT. CUSTOMER LOVE IT WHEN YOU REMEMBER THEIR NAME.

STAFF IS GREAT AND VERY HELPFUL.

MANAGEMENT IS GOOD ALSO.

HARDEST PART OF JOB WAS NOT BEING ABLE TO DO MORE THAN WHAT WAS EXPECTED.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OSH
Cashier (Former Employee), redding caMarch 25, 2013
Pros: nice work hours
Cons: management
OSH was a nice work enviornment, up beat and you have a lot of cutomers to interact with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place
Cashier (Current Employee), Milpitas,CAMarch 24, 2013
Pros: free lunch when store comps
Orchard is a place where any employees can have fun while working
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostile Work Environment
ILS (Former Employee), Tracy-CAMarch 21, 2013
Pros: nice radio ads!
Cons: hwe! move on!
Run for the hills. This company is a horrible place to work. Employees call it OSHwitz. The Logistics department is overseen by a self absorbed, narcisstic, bullying, condescending, disrespectful & arrogant Director that possesses some of the worst management traits possible. Stay away. Nobody survives and why they cannot keep employees in the department. – more... The entire traffic team is looking to leav. OSH does nothing about it. Anywhere but OSH! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
thoughtless
Sales and Service (Former Employee), Thousand Oaks, CAMarch 19, 2013
once you've worked this type of retail work you will never be the same.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor workplace environment
Cashier (Former Employee), Fresno CaMarch 15, 2013
Cons: wierd hours, low pay, mistreatment, poor benefits, outrageous expectations
The management was very poor and the supervisors nitpick at the most simplist things. You NEVER get a pay raise, not even a 'good job'. Mistreatment common. You can lose your job trying to keep up with selling the 'loyalty program' to customers. Overall, don't bother!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work there..please
cashier (Former Employee), fountain valley californiaMarch 12, 2013
Pros: nothing at all
Cons: please dont waist your time.the worst place to walk into
The management is terrible.they treat employees terrible. Watch out.no raises..no matter what you do for them it is never enough...you dont get hours..they have their favorites..The manager Is such a terrible man..Dont work there please.Employees have just walked out on them..the best employees get hurt the worst..when your review comes around thats – more... due.they dont have time to give it to you..no raises so dont plan on that.The manager Of the store is the worst man you could ever work for..He talks to other employees behind your back..he like takes a knife and cuts you up until you leave.Then he cuts your hours to 4 hours a week. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work little pay not enough credit retail retail retail
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Fresno, CAMarch 9, 2013
Typical retail job. Worked there too long, went through a lot of managers many were really great and had a good time working there was all ruined with one manager who was not very fond of me. Should have quit earlier. Made a lot of bonds and ties with the coworkers I did have a great family there all shut down by one "top person" sad to say. Realized – more... the hard way you are always expendable in retail. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent college job.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Granada Hills, CAMarch 7, 2013
Pros: hour long lunch (when i was there; this may have changed), nice customers
Cons: employees are not valued, bad managers can really affect your job, easy to be overworked due to minimal scheduling
As a sales associate, you just help people in your department and it's pretty easy if you know your product. However, there was barely any training so to learn the product you will rely on the older, more experienced co-workers. Most customers are nice as well. And usually the job is not too repetitive.
So far so good, but the problem is mainly in the – more... management. How much you enjoy working a shift is greatly impacted by how good or bad the manager on duty is. Some are great to work with and help you and there's others who are not and incompetent who will overwork you.
As a whole, when I was there, they tried to get by with the least amount of people to save on hours. So you may be covering two or more different departments which can be really stressful. And around 2009 they laid off a bunch of their older workforce. Which is especially bad, since they're really the only source of "training" for new employees.
Overall, a decent job if you don't mind putting up with some incompetent managers. And I will say that they are good about working around college classes. However, I ended up quitting cause I got tired of the way I was treated and I know several co-workers who did the same. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Livermore, CAMarch 6, 2013
Pros: not a high stress job
Cons: not enough pay icreases for hourly employees
Easy place to work. Learned to be self starter. Learned to help people find parts for projects they needed.

About Orchard Supply Hardware

Orchard Supply Hardware supplies California's do-it-yourselfers.┬áIt operates more than 85 home centers in the Golden State, from – Read more